Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/)
-   -   4" lift, will I regret it? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/4-lift-will-i-regret-it-27056.html)

china-clipper 02-23-2009 10:46 PM

4" lift, will I regret it?

OK, I just picked up a '90 Wrangler with a straight six manual shift. Had it on my buddy's lift this weekend and found the rear shock mounts (upper) were rusted away. While is sat on the lift and we drank some beer I decided maybe a lift kit would be not so bad to do. Here's the deal, I live in Connecticut and hit the beaches alot. I'd like the lift for ground clearance and won't be doing any mudding or rock crawling. If I go with a 4" lift with the x-fer case lowering kit will I need to modify my driveshafts? Will it have vibration on the street? I'd really like the look of having 33's and the 4" lift. I'd like it to be streetable; would I be better off with a 2.5" kit? I'm a newbie here and could use some advice. Thanks in advance.

jdhallissey 02-23-2009 10:59 PM

so go 3.5 and a 1"bl. The 3.5 will give you more lie 4 to 4.5in of lift. Then the 1" bl will get you to easily running 33's with out messing with the drive line.

stumpbuster 02-24-2009 11:07 AM

4" lift all day, stay away from body lift. more work/headache.

you wont need to drop yer xfer case, you wont regret 4" lift, you WILL regret 2.5" lift.

NO DS MODIFICATIONS!

scrambler1 02-24-2009 08:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdhallissey (Post 329898)
so go 3.5 and a 1"bl. The 3.5 will give you more lie 4 to 4.5in of lift. Then the 1" bl will get you to easily running 33's with out messing with the drive line.

I agree In the long run the 4" iss nicer but you will need a SYE/driveshaft. and probably either a MML or a TCLK.

stumpbuster 02-25-2009 09:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrambler1 (Post 330296)