Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Cigarette Lighter Plug (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/cigarette-lighter-plug-27945.html)

BLACKTOOTHGRIN 03-17-2009 11:50 AM

Cigarette Lighter Plug
 
I'm in need of a working Cigarette Lighter plug. (The Female end that gets pluged into)
Does anyone have one they are willing to part with, or know where I can get one for a reasonable price?

I want to re-route the wiring harness more toward my glove box and use the part to plug in a Dual USB charger for a couple devices. Yes, I know I could just plug it into my existing one, but the idea is so the devices can charge in the glove box, and be hidden. I would use the one I have, but I don't want there to be a hole left in my dash. :)

Dare2BSquare 03-17-2009 12:00 PM

Those should be fairly available and cheap at your local parts store.

BLACKTOOTHGRIN 03-17-2009 12:03 PM

Hmm....

I thought that it would've been more of a dealer type part because the wiring harness has to fit into the back of it. NO??

Dare2BSquare 03-17-2009 12:23 PM

If you are keeping your other outlet, you are going to have to run wires to a new power source anyway.

BLACKTOOTHGRIN 03-17-2009 06:43 PM

I'll be keeping it only for "show".
The original wiring harness will be plugged into the new one closer to my glove box.
(If I can find the part)

birdhunter 03-17-2009 07:30 PM

Just skip the harness
Mount by fuse box the new lighter
will have in-line fuse run the line
to a hot fuse or auxiliary fuse
if you only want it to work with key on

Gilez 03-18-2009 10:47 PM

You can get these at Radio Shack.

BLACKTOOTHGRIN 03-19-2009 03:40 AM

ME NO SPEEEKY TO GOOD WIT PLAY'N IN DA ELECTRICAL. :D
I'm sure it's not difficult to do, but I don't know what to cut and splice, etc.
Anyone mind giving me a step by step tutorial? :redface:

BLACKTOOTHGRIN 03-19-2009 06:04 AM

I found these two parts.
I think both might work, but I'm not sure.

The first one is from Radio Shack, and has an in-line fuse as someone mentioned above. The reason I don't really like this one is because of the square mounting housing. This is going to be going behind the dash and tied up with zip ties. That square might get in the way a bit. I'm not to sure if it can be remove without breaking.

The second one is from a hardware store. I found 2 different pics from 2 different websites. One is called Victor, and the other is called Bell, but they look like the same part to me. This one states that it can be used with or without the mounting bracket, so that's a plus. BUT, this one doesn't come with any kind of fuse.

My question is:

Do I need to have one with an in-line fuse, or will everything be okay without one?

And how do I wire this thing into the fuse box? (like what was suggested to me above)
(and remeber....ME NO SPEEEKY GOOD ELECTRICAL...LOL) :D

http://i234.photobucket.com/albums/e...BULLSHIT/a.jpg

http://i234.photobucket.com/albums/e...BULLSHIT/b.jpg

http://i234.photobucket.com/albums/e...BULLSHIT/c.gif

BLACKTOOTHGRIN 03-19-2009 01:25 PM

Anyone......Anyone?
Bueller...:)

birdhunter 03-19-2009 04:12 PM

I have done this on motorcycles and
older cars.
I dont know if I would put one behind dash
if fuse blows you would have to pull dash just to
change fuse and they do

The in line fuse is for keeping you from blowing the fuse
you are putting it on

Find your fuse box should be labeled,pick a fuse
that always has power but not the headlights
or something that if it blows you are ok
like interior light
if it a 10 amp u could up it to 15
that would decrease chance of blowing fuse

Some of those pictured should have directions
I also believe the other one has fuse inside the case
but I could be wrong

black is ground to bare metal red to fuse/
strip red pull fuse put wire on fuse wrap or just so it stays when you push fuse
back in
but again most will have instructions
I also would try it before installing it anywhere

hope this helps

BLACKTOOTHGRIN 03-19-2009 07:47 PM

As far as behind the dash, I just meant behind the glove box. That's where the fuse box is anyway, so that should be no problem. The TJ glove box comes out in under 2 seconds flat, so no biggie there.

I guess I should try my luck with the Radio Shack one being that it has a fuse. I don't want to have to worry about popping fuses all the time.

For wiring:
Your saying just to strip and wrap the wire around 1 side of any hot fuse and put it back into the slot? Then ground the black on any bare metal? So I suppose I can use an existing ground then, right?

Wow, I didn't think it would be THAT easy. :)
Sure makes me feel like a drooling fool. :redface:

Hey, what do you think about this?
I could wire this to the fuse box, and then have 6 direct connects ready for other things if I need them. It sounds good, but do you think that it would blow fuses like there's no tomorrow?

Auctiva Image Hosting

Auctiva Image Hosting

birdhunter 03-19-2009 09:30 PM

Yes you got it
I dont know about that splitter sounds good but
I think its for those lights kids run under their cars not much power draw
I have only gone up 5 amps to be safe
ie if it a 10 go to 15 15 to 20

But those Instructions on the back of package
are complete but I cant read the caution sec

BLACKTOOTHGRIN 03-19-2009 11:21 PM

I think I'm going to go with the Radio Shack version that has the in-line fuse.
But if I ever use one that doesn't, it is safe to swap the fuse with one that is +5, and I won't have to worry about it frying any circuits or anything?
Thanks for your help BirdHunter.

As for the caustion section:
It says do not plug in any single accessory that is greater than 3amps.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.