Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Builders Corner (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/)
-   -   Need some ideas from you fabricators (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/need-some-ideas-from-you-fabricators-29065.html)

KellyK 04-12-2009 11:26 AM

Need some ideas from you fabricators
 
So i fabbed up a front cage set up for my jeep. Everything fit nice under the hard top and worked out just fine. THEN... i put the soft top on after the weather started getting better.... the C clamp on the door surrounds doesnt line up with the cage bar. Th bar is about a 1/2" higher then the surround on the back side C clamp and about 3/4" higher on the front clamp.

Rather then take the cage out and have to cut,grind and re weld and have it look like a frankin cage i was thinking about cutting the top part of the clamps off and making an L bracket to bolt to the surround to lift the top mount to clear the cage bar.

The only two options i see are to lower the cage... PIA
OR raise the clamps for the surrounds.

I will take some pics today as soon as the weather lets up enough to pull back the top.

jpdocdave 04-12-2009 11:29 AM

http://www.imoc.co.uk/forums/images/...on_ttiwwop.gif

Coyote_94YJ 04-12-2009 11:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpdocdave (Post 353782)

x2 http://www.imoc.co.uk/forums/images/...on_ttiwwop.gif

KellyK 04-13-2009 07:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KellyK (Post 353780)
I will take some pics today as soon as the weather lets up enough to pull back the top.

I'm in washington... = RAIN.... cant really take the soft top off with a downpour.

jdhallissey 04-13-2009 05:44 PM

^ yes you can it is a free bath lol

Joshpfeffer 04-16-2009 01:39 AM

Haha. You'll catch a break one of these days and get some help. My only question is: If you're using the soft top in the rain right now, what's your issue? At first glance it seems like you can't use your soft top with this cage design. But you're apparently using it and staying dry now? Just looking for clarification.

KellyK 04-16-2009 07:53 AM

Well after much head banging and rain i figured it all out. Instead of modding the cage and having to cut and grind and re weld everything. I modded the door surrounds. Had to cut the top of the C clamp off and bolt a piece of plumbers tape to the surround and wrap it around the cage.

The top fit.... the surrounds didnt so i had a big ol gap.. no more...lol

Coyote_94YJ 04-16-2009 11:07 AM

Good ol plumbers tape. Great isn't it. It's right up there with duct tape.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.