Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   WF Site Help & Support (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f2/)
-   -   Login does not work with new comp???? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f2/login-does-not-work-with-new-comp-29668.html)

KBR97 04-25-2009 10:05 PM

Login does not work with new comp????
 
this is starting to really become more than its worth... trying to login to this website. I went through this trouble a few times back and was instructed that cookies and cache and temp file and all that stuff need to be cleared up. Ok great works good, and have been logging in fine lately.

Now I go out and buy myself a brand new laptop. I've been sitting here trying to login with my new computer for almost 5 days now, with not ONE succesful login. :confused: (im currently on the old PC)

Can anyone give me a solution or maybe some insight on what may fix this. This problem is starting to make me venture to other sites for the simple fact that i cant get logged in. I really like WF and dont wanna have to replace it with a different site that i wont be satisfied with.

tiny terror 04-25-2009 10:14 PM

Ok, what program are you using to surf the web and what kind of new computer. I have no idea what info the tech guy will need, so post up everything you think might be pertinent and we'll get this sorted out.

KBR97 04-25-2009 10:26 PM

im using Internet Explorer, same program i always use on the other pc's,
and its a new toshiba laptop...(satellite m305-s4910)
idk if this will help but i saw it on the box....802.11a/g/n wireless.

ccain 04-25-2009 10:43 PM

I would check your wireless networks internet settings. It could be that the security is set wonky and is restricting the site.

blackegg 04-26-2009 12:01 AM

Are you using a wireless access point or are you plugged into a RJ-45 (Data wall jack or router) Who is your Internet Service Provider? Have you tried using Firefox?
Keep posting....we'll get it working!

4point 04-26-2009 09:39 AM

I know this is kind basic, but my Toshiba has a switch on the front left edge of the computer to turn the wireless on/off. Its just to the left of the memory card dock. Is it on?

KBR97 04-26-2009 10:16 AM

Both my computers...the old one and new laptop are running wireless. The old one works everytime. Internet provider is Optimum Online, And I have not tried firefox.
The thing that confuses me is that the settings, and provider and wireless, and internet program is all the same as the old computer, and one works and one doesnt....weird.

4point I know the switch your saying...its on.

skeeter 04-26-2009 11:22 AM

Can you get to the site?
Assuming yes, can you enter info in the login fields?
Assuming yes, what exactly happens after you submit your login?

KBR97 04-26-2009 12:05 PM

I get on the site...i enter login info..it says thank you for logging in...and then when the page refreshes, Im not logged in...even thought the list of members may say i am logged in. The username and password fields are blank. And also still shows the wlecome message that says if this is your first visit, blah blah...

I had this problem for a short while with the old computer but was instructed that the cookies and temp files and all that need to be cleared up, so I do that regulary now and havent had a problem with the old comp.
Now its just the new one. Hasnt logged in succesfully yet.

skeeter 04-26-2009 12:18 PM

Are you checking the little check box that says "remember me" or "always log me in" or somesuch?

What's your privacy set at? tools>internet options>privacy

blackegg 04-26-2009 12:38 PM

You should go into the internet explorer-tools-internet options-security. There you will find the setting to allow certain sites and save cookies and "third party cookies.
Please give me a call if needed: 970-319-3307

KBR97 04-26-2009 07:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blackegg (Post 361596)
You should go into the internet explorer-tools-internet options-security. There you will find the setting to allow certain sites and save cookies and "third party cookies.
Please give me a call if needed: 970-319-3307

i tried that ...i allowed this specific site to enable cookies and still no luck.

Also another thing. This new laptop's internet connection is running extremely slow 90% of the time. And its not this specific computer, I know because I returned another laptop for this one that had the same problems the other day, thinking it had a hardware malfunction. The computer works great, internet...SUX! A few different people in the store told me that the computers being sold today are kind of bare bones as far as software. Not like they used to be loaded with different things. I even had to make my own Recovery discs, according to them no computers come with them anymore. Thats why at places like best buy you have the option to pay geek squad $150 to "optimize " your PC for you.

There are 2 or 3 computers upstairs, and another desktop in my apartment. All of them work great, all on the same network. No interuptions, and full strength connections. As for this new laptop...it has full connection but constantly drops it...then tries to identify the connection. And then I noticed if it drops the connection..I have to physically go and request it to connect.

Last time I bought a laptop I turned it on, it connected itself, and was lightning fast from day 1...no issues.

Janet H 04-28-2009 05:52 PM

Hmm..Have you gotten this resolved?
As suggested earlier, this sounds like a cookie handling issue.

What virus protection are you running?
What Operating system? IE, Vista, etc?

If you are having trouble logging in and need more tech support, click the contact us link at the bottom of the page - this allows you to bypass login and e-mail the help desk directly.

In the meantime, I strongly recommend you download Firefox - it's free and a great browser - you will never go back to IE.

Jp90Talon 04-28-2009 07:00 PM

I havent read through all the responses but had an issue of may own logging onto this forum from my new computer. After typing out my username and password and submitting it says thank you for loging in and is "redirecting" but brings me back to the home page with the login on the side. After repeating the process a few times with the same result I clicked the Wrangler Forum banner at the top left of the page and it finally brought me to the forum page and I was logged in.

Not sure if that is the issue you are having but hope it helps. Just try logging in then clicking the banner and see if it brings you to the forum page.

KBR97 04-28-2009 07:37 PM

I havent resolved it yet... but i will try more when I get the router issue solved. According to geek sqaud thats what is causing my slow internet connection on the laptop. After I get that solved Ill be using the new laptop. For now I have to stick with the desktop.

BTW Im running Vista, with a virus program called spysweeper, by webroot.

Jp90Talon 04-28-2009 07:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KBR97 (Post 363196)
I havent resolved it yet... but i will try more when I get the router issue solved. According to geek sqaud thats what is causing my slow internet connection on the laptop. After I get that solved Ill be using the new laptop. For now I have to stick with the desktop.

BTW Im running Vista, with a virus program called spysweeper, by webroot.

After logging in try clicking the Wrangler Forum banner on the top left of the screen. I have to do it everytime I visit the site now even though I am already logged in to get to the actual forum.

Janet H 04-28-2009 11:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KBR97 (Post 363196)
I havent resolved it yet... but i will try more when I get the router issue solved. According to geek sqaud thats what is causing my slow internet connection on the laptop. After I get that solved Ill be using the new laptop. For now I have to stick with the desktop.

BTW Im running Vista, with a virus program called spysweeper, by webroot.


Both vista and your virus protection have schemes to delete cookies. You may want to specifically enable cookie exchange with WF in both your virus program and vista's security settings. If either of these is deleting cookies, too often, that would explain why you are getting logged out at page changes. We use a cookie to keep you logged in at page changes - when it's deleted you are logged out at the next page.

I can't help you with the slow downs - but vista is a resource hog and you may want to look into how much memory you need Alternatively it's possible that you virus protection is causing slow downs.

JeepersdoitDeeper 04-28-2009 11:33 PM

I have been having the same problem for quite some time. On both my laptop, and my home computer. Nothing changed about my systems when the issues started. I have been through the whole cookie thing. I log in, click remember me, and after it thanks me for logging in, it says I'm not logged in. Each time I come to WF, I have to hit the TODAYS POSTS link. Hitting that link loggs me in and keeps me that way until I leave the sight, in which I'm immediately logged out and have to repeat the entire process.

I'm fine with IE. I don't see the issue everyone has, and don't have the desire to toggle back n forth to FF just to visit one site.

KBR97 04-29-2009 05:17 AM

I brought the laptop to 2 different locations. My fathers house and best buy. Internet worked lightning fast. No interuptions at all. So Im pretty sure the slowdown problem has to do with the network here.
But as for the cookies, I'll have to go in and mess with the settings when I get some free time. See what its all about.

blackegg 04-30-2009 12:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KBR97 (Post 363196)
I havent resolved it yet... but i will try more when I get the router issue solved. According to geek sqaud thats what is causing my slow internet connection on the laptop. After I get that solved Ill be using the new laptop. For now I have to stick with the desktop.

BTW Im running Vista, with a virus program called spysweeper, by webroot.

Spysweeper isn't a virus scaner. It scans for malware and adware/adbots, it will not pick up worms, trojans or the like. If you want a good free actual virus scaner you can go with AVG free edition. It's not bad for free! Download at Majorgeeks.com. Spywareblaster is not a full virus scanner. We just stopped using it at our office.
Do try a download of Firefox...They're right, you wont want to go back to M$ IE! Fifefox is all I use, for that matter you could go Linux all the way, but that's a whole new ball of wax! The offer still stands if you need assistance. I do this stuff all day long. Try Firefox...god luck KB man :confused:

KBR97 04-30-2009 05:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blackegg (Post 363931)
Spysweeper isn't a virus scaner. It scans for malware and adware/adbots, it will not pick up worms, trojans or the like. If you want a good free actual virus scaner you can go with AVG free edition. It's not bad for free! Download at Majorgeeks.com. Spywareblaster is not a full virus scanner. We just stopped using it at our office.
Do try a download of Firefox...They're right, you wont want to go back to M$ IE! Fifefox is all I use, for that matter you could go Linux all the way, but that's a whole new ball of wax! The offer still stands if you need assistance. I do this stuff all day long. Try Firefox...god luck KB man :confused:

its webroot spysweeper w/antivirus. It was reccomended by the geeksquad guy as a good user friendly program.

KBR97 04-30-2009 06:52 PM

first time successfully logging in. I installed firefox. Then I logged in, it didn't work, so I clicked on the wrangler forum logo at top of page and there it was...I was logged in.:punk::punk::punk:

Jp90Talon 04-30-2009 08:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KBR97 (Post 364397)
first time successfully logging in. I installed firefox. Then I logged in, it didn't work, so I clicked on the wrangler forum logo at top of page and there it was...I was logged in.:punk::punk::punk:



Who gave you that idea ;)


JK....good to hear it worked!

KBR97 04-30-2009 08:14 PM

me so happy!!!

Jp90Talon 04-30-2009 08:26 PM

Aww... someone got a happy ending!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.