Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   Best way to hook up MP3 player??? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/best-way-to-hook-up-mp3-player-3002.html)

04RUBICON 09-14-2006 06:17 PM

Best way to hook up MP3 player???
 
What is the best way you have found to use your MP3 player in your Jeep without replacing the stock CD player? I have a creative Nomad.

Thanks in advance
MIKE

mrbigjeep 09-14-2006 07:09 PM

quadratec or 4wd makes an mp3 audio jack that is only $80 and you just plug your mp3 up to it and it will play the mp3's

jeeperman 09-14-2006 07:35 PM

I use a little FM transmitter, it broadcasts on an FM frequency, and you just tune your stock radio to whatever frequency it is set too... No wiring, and you can use it on any radio!

04RUBICON 09-14-2006 08:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeeperman
I use a little FM transmitter, it broadcasts on an FM frequency, and you just tune your stock radio to whatever frequency it is set too... No wiring, and you can use it on any radio!

Is it clear or do you hear alot of static? Where did you pick it up at? What brand is it?

Thanks

jeeperman 09-15-2006 06:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 04RUBICON
Is it clear or do you hear alot of static? Where did you pick it up at? What brand is it?

Thanks

If you tune to a dead station, you don't get any static. I have had other people listen to it at lunch stops. They just pull up close and tune in. You can buy then at any of the big box stores (Best Buy, etc.) for about $20-30. They do get staticy when the batteries start to die, but they have car adapters included with some.

SurfnSnow 09-15-2006 11:06 PM

There's a adapter that will plug into your stock jeep stereo if you have an ipod that's $50. I've had the fm transmitter and it's ok but if you can get a direct plug (it'll plug into an auxillary input) into your stereo then it'll sound tons better. Or better yet, get the sony stereo (in the newest quadratec catalog) that has a midi plug so you can use ANY mp3 player

Skitzic 09-18-2006 09:45 PM

I've used FM trans. in the past and have always disliked them. I've had a few different brands, some cheap, some not so cheap, and I've gotten static on them all. Personally, I'd put in the extra cash to get the plug.

mrbigjeep 09-18-2006 09:49 PM

yup its just a plug like an mp3 input and you just plug it up and play...not to expensive either

Triple88a 11-21-2006 09:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjeep
yup its just a plug like an mp3 input and you just plug it up and play...not to expensive either

But this will require replacement of stock radio right?

I just got an fm transmitter from ebay and its just a waste of money and time

mrbigjeep 11-21-2006 09:44 PM

here is a link to it. it says you can use the existing radio

http://www.quadratec.com/products/96080_94.htm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.