Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   sway bar problem (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/sway-bar-problem-32074.html)

cret0013 06-15-2009 10:04 AM

sway bar problem
 
Okay I was doing some mudding and offroading this weekend and when I got back to my place I noticed my sway bar hanging down near my bumper. It looks like the sway bar popped out of the sway bar links. Nothing seems broken, so Iím wondering what do I need to do to fix it... do I simply try and ram them back into the little rubber on top of the sway bar links, or do I have a much bigger problem on my hands. Just so I donít come off as a complete newb, Iím assuming that simply putting the sway bar back onto the sway bar links wonít work but I figured Iíll ask someone who actually knows. And if I canít just put it back in place what do I need to do to fix it? Oh BTW its a 97tj 2.5l with 33 bfga/t
Thanks

KBR97 06-15-2009 10:46 AM

get yourself some new links. There probably fairly cheap and now you'll have 2 new ones. Instead of worrying about it breaking again.

heres a few options

Search Results - Quadratec

cret0013 06-15-2009 10:48 AM

It's my front sway bar... and if i buy new swar bar links will the balls on the end of my sway bar just fit right into the new sway bar links? and in the mean time can I drive my jeep?

SurfNaked2010 06-15-2009 10:51 AM

this happened to me to like 2 weeks ago. if your running the stock swaybar links and the ball joints popped out of the link than u need new sway bar links. Im assuming you have a 4" lift if ur runnin 33's and u broke ur stock links. its not that big of a deal right now but just be careful driving on the road with no links no sharp turns. save up some money and invest in these.

JKS Manufacturing 2001 - JKS Manufacturing Quicker Disconnects™ for 84-06 Jeep® Cherokee XJ, Comanche MJ, Grand Cherokee ZJ, Wrangler TJ & Unlimited with 2.5-6" Lift - Quadratec

KBR97 06-15-2009 10:57 AM

sorry, I have no idea why but i could have sworn I read rear sway bar....anyway heres some for the front. All you have to do to change the links is unbolt them from the actual sway bar...then unbolt them from the axle. Might need a fork to pry them out a little. Mine came right off, couple wacks with a hammer.

Search Results - Quadratec

cret0013 06-15-2009 11:02 AM

ya about that lift lol... no I only have a 1inch body lift, and yes my tires rub when I try and turn sharp... And ya I plan on getting a lift very soon just need to save up the cash.. and befor you ask why I'm running big tires with no lift, it's because I needed new tires and I got these for good deal (300$ with 90% tread). Anyways back to the topic, Ya they were my stock links. Thanks alot for the helps guys. I'll probably just get another set of stock ones for now and replace them with better ones when I get a lift.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.