Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   General Jeep Discussion (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/)
-   -   Why Do Jeeps Get Bad Gas Mileage (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/why-do-jeeps-get-bad-gas-mileage-32948.html)

PHIXIOUS 07-07-2009 01:20 AM

Why Do Jeeps Get Bad Gas Mileage

Why is that Jeeps get bad gas mileage. Even With the newer JKs its still not that great. Is it because of the weight of them or just bad engine design...I mean I know quite a few of people swap motors into their jeeps. Would adding simple bolt ons help with the gaining mpg?

Sorry but I am new to the Jeep side.

tiny terror 07-07-2009 01:31 AM

What engine exactly are they swapping in to get good gas mileage?

PHIXIOUS 07-07-2009 01:36 AM

Im not saying that the swaps they are doing are giving them good gas mileage I just know people are swapping motors insted of sticking with the stock motor.

My friends grampa has a TJ Rubicon that he is planning on swapping in a V8, dont know what V8 that he said would give him a little more mpg over with a little more power. IDK

tiny terror 07-07-2009 01:45 AM

Most V8's will suck more gas than the stock V6 in the JK. My I6 gets comparable gas mileage to other vehicles in it's class, so no jeeps don't get bad gas mileage due to poor design. If you want better gas mileage, you can gear it, but you won't climb anything which is what the jeep is designed to do.

PHIXIOUS 07-07-2009 01:53 AM

Oh ok. What about the basic bolt ons? Will that help with gas mileage or will it be the same, (normal daily driving) ? Just wondering cause we just bought a 2006 TJ/LJ Rubicon Unlimited to take to the trail as well as one of our daily drivers.

Its not really that big of a deal to get crazy good gas mileage out of the jeep but it would be a plus if there is a way to obtain somewhat better than stock.

tiny terror 07-07-2009 01:56 AM