Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   General Jeep Discussion (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/)
-   -   '49 Jeep Willy's Truck Axles??? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/49-jeep-willys-truck-axles-34194.html)

atomicjoe23 08-03-2009 01:50 AM

'49 Jeep Willy's Truck Axles???

3 Attachment(s)
My GF and I just got a '49 Jeep Willy's Truck and of course we're gonna upgrade the tires to WAY bigger, but I don't want to break the axles right off the bat. . .

. . .can anyone tell me what axles these are?

Here's the rear. . .I haven't seen one like this before. I'm guessing it's the original rear and I haven't had any luck finding out what they came with (I'm new to these old trucks!).

And if you know what axle this is do you know how big of a tire I can run without worrying about breaking anything? This thing isn't gonna see any hard off-road use. . .it's mostly gonna be a show truck (but not the shiny kind. . .we're doing it up WWII style). . .

. . .the GF wants 37's on it and build it up like the big Dodge Power Wagon on Gearz. . .I want to be sure that we don't break anything right off the bat.

Thanks

atomicjoe23 08-03-2009 01:58 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Here's the front axle. . .this one I'm pretty sure I can ID myself, I just haven't had the time and I haven't spent a lot of time scavengine axles in the past. . .

. . .I'm an off-road convert from the muscle car side of things so it's pretty much been Ford 9" or a GM 10 or 12 bolt and that's it in the past.

This looks pretty similar to our Dana 30 in the front of our YJ, but I haven't verified that yet. This is why I'm worried about big tires on it. . .I know the D30 can only handle up to about 33's without having to worry about breakage.

skeeter 08-03-2009 02:38 AM

Rear axle is a Timken
Front axle should be a Spicer 25
I would not recommend anything big on either axle.