Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Lights off with doors off (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/lights-off-with-doors-off-385.html)

jeepthis 08-26-2005 03:33 PM

Lights off with doors off
 
What's a simple way to get the lights to stay off with the doors off without pulling the fuse? I've seen a few little gadgets sold on ebay but what can be used to keep them off?

4Jeepn 08-26-2005 03:59 PM

Pull the fuse and don't worry about it.. you can still turn them on and off with the light switch... or they do sell some little clip thing that will work too either from 4wd.com or quadratec.com

khenderson 08-26-2005 04:00 PM

if you always want them off, you can pull the little switch out and disonnect it. that's what i did. if you just want a temporary off, you can buy an inline switch to do the same, but when you want the lights on, you can flip the switch.

rondmc 10-11-2005 08:04 AM

i like the idea about the inline switch - that would be easiest to use...

i actually took a different approach, involving a 1/16" drill bit and a cotter pin. each switch in the door jamb is just a cylinder with a little plastic piston inside. depress each switch, then drill a 1/16" hole all the way thru the cylinder and piston. locate the hole at EXACTLY the midpoint of the cylinder part of the switch and it will go thru the piston in a great place while also clearing the rubber o-ring seal on the piston.

so now when i take the doors off, i push in the switch with my finger and insert a small cotter pin into the hole. presto...

that probably sounds more complicated than it was... hard to describe without pics! i'll see if i can't post a picture in a minute.

:)

jeeperman 10-11-2005 09:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rondmc
i like the idea about the inline switch - that would be easiest to use...

i actually took a different approach, involving a 1/16" drill bit and a cotter pin. each switch in the door jamb is just a cylinder with a little plastic piston inside. depress each switch, then drill a 1/16" hole all the way thru the cylinder and piston. locate the hole at EXACTLY the midpoint of the cylinder part of the switch and it will go thru the piston in a great place while also clearing the rubber o-ring seal on the piston.

so now when i take the doors off, i push in the switch with my finger and insert a small cotter pin into the hole. presto...

that probably sounds more complicated than it was... hard to describe without pics! i'll see if i can't post a picture in a minute.

:)

Sounds like a great fix if you have your doors on and off a lot in the summer (or winter for some of you). Thanks for sharing! :cool:

drummerwookie 10-12-2005 05:42 PM

i know if i take out that fuse, my auto dimming mirror with compass/outside temp, wont work either...and, for some reason, when i do that, my lockers on my rubi wont engage either, so i really cant pull that fuse and leave it pulled

4Jeepn 10-12-2005 06:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by drummerwookie
i know if i take out that fuse, my auto dimming mirror with compass/outside temp, wont work either...and, for some reason, when i do that, my lockers on my rubi wont engage either, so i really cant pull that fuse and leave it pulled

Hm, not sure about the compass.. but i was with a ruby this weekend no doors, and no lights on inside, lockers worked fine. That was on an unlimited if that might make a difference.

drummerwookie 10-12-2005 07:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4Jeepn
Hm, not sure about the compass.. but i was with a ruby this weekend no doors, and no lights on inside, lockers worked fine. That was on an unlimited if that might make a difference.

it shouldnt...but i dont know...i just know is that they always work, but that one time when i had my doors off and that fuse pulled, i would hit the switch and nothing happened :confused: ...but they worked fine after i put the fuse back in

rondmc 10-26-2005 01:50 PM

2 Attachment(s)
ok, finally some pics! sorry it took so long and sorry the pics are fuzzy... cheap digital cam... here's some pictures of the door switches after having been drilled and a cotter pin inserted. (assuming i can figure out how to insert images...)

keep it rubber side down...

:cool:

[IMG]pin[/IMG]
[IMG]no pin[/IMG]

jeepengr 10-28-2005 06:46 PM

but make sure you turn off your lights too, i noticed a few days after I yanked my fuse that i no longer get a beep to remind me and one of these days might run my battery dead so far ive caught it and got them off in time

Sean

RubiRed 02-13-2006 05:46 PM

I know for 2005 the Rubicon's at least have a specific fuse that the manual says to pull, and all it does is de-activate the door switches...but yes, you have to remember to turn the lights off, it doesn't beep anymore then, either LOL

TJGreg 02-13-2006 09:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RubiRed
I know for 2005 the Rubicon's at least have a specific fuse that the manual says to pull, and all it does is de-activate the door switches...but yes, you have to remember to turn the lights off, it doesn't beep anymore then, either LOL

fuse 4

85fiero 02-14-2006 06:48 AM

I made myself an inline switch for about $3. I just bought an inline fuse holder, pulled fuse #4, stuck two wires in each side of the fuse slot, put the inline fuse holder inline with one of the two wires, and then connected both wires to the switch. Here's a pic of where I put the switch.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...J/DSCF0006.jpg

SouthTJ 02-14-2006 01:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by drummerwookie
i know if i take out that fuse, my auto dimming mirror with compass/outside temp, wont work either...and, for some reason, when i do that, my lockers on my rubi wont engage either, so i really cant pull that fuse and leave it pulled


Wrong fuse, at least if you're pulling the one under the hood. There is a fuse behind the glove box you can pull or you can add a switch.

This is what I use.
http://www.quadratec.com/photos/p37358.JPG
http://www.quadratec.com/cgi-bin/sgi...06021414194712

or you can make your own.

TJGreg 02-14-2006 02:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SouthTJ
Wrong fuse, at least if you're pulling the one under the hood. There is a fuse behind the glove box you can pull or you can add a switch.

This is what I use.
http://www.quadratec.com/photos/p37358.JPG
http://www.quadratec.com/cgi-bin/sgi...06021414194712

or you can make your own.

I have the same product. Q-tec is right down the street form my house, and they have that switch made by chadds ford electronics which is about 15 min away. They only charged me $10.

mswilder 02-14-2006 05:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rondmc
i like the idea about the inline switch - that would be easiest to use...

i actually took a different approach, involving a 1/16" drill bit and a cotter pin. each switch in the door jamb is just a cylinder with a little plastic piston inside. depress each switch, then drill a 1/16" hole all the way thru the cylinder and piston. locate the hole at EXACTLY the midpoint of the cylinder part of the switch and it will go thru the piston in a great place while also clearing the rubber o-ring seal on the piston.

so now when i take the doors off, i push in the switch with my finger and insert a small cotter pin into the hole. presto...

that probably sounds more complicated than it was... hard to describe without pics! i'll see if i can't post a picture in a minute.

:)

I like this idea it is CHEAP alternitive, i did it except i didnt have any cotter pins, but i took a really small nail and cut off the end and the switch hold it just fine.
Nice idea


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.