Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

Colo-TJ Build Thread

5K views 42 replies 8 participants last post by  Colo-TJ 
#1 ·
Well I have been working on my Rig for a couple of years now and have finaly decided to do a build thread on its progress.
Bear with me as I compile all the info and put this thing together.
I was fortunate enough to have traded my 02 Ford Ranger Edge for this 01 TJ. when I got it it already had a 3.5 Taraflex lift and 33" AT's other than that it was pretty stock.

So I figured that one of the first rhings I wanted to do was trade out that shiny grill guard and get some bumpers.......
researched for a while and settled on a local guy branded "Fessybuilt". nice solid construction and seemed to be what I wanted at the time

See less See more
#2 ·
Then I had to name her.......I did a little research and went back to my roots and found a Celtic word that means Narrow Mountain Pass.....Great fit since that is where she will be most of the time......Bealach it is.......had a freind make up some vinyl decals for the hood with a Celtic knot font.......

#3 ·
I decided that the steps had to go after beating them up on a trail or 2. I once again went to a local guy in Falcon Colorado. Brand Name " Off Road Armor". Vey stout and had plenty of protection for the rockers......plus they were in my price range. JD took real good care to make me happy as a customer and I have nothing but good things to say about his service and his product.

#4 ·
so then I ran a few trails and learned that even the best laaid plans also need to be modified and that the trail will dictate what the next mod will be.......
I decided that I needed some more meat on the ground. I had a bud that was working here from Texas that was getting new rubber and he had some decent 35x1250x15 that he would let me have....woohoo.

#5 ·
started doing some more research and learned that I best start thinking about and axle upgrade. as well as SYE. so those moved to the top of the list.