Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   SuperChips FlashPAQ for 3.6 engine now available (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/superchips-flashpaq-for-3-6-engine-now-available-410418.html)

Labrat0116 11-27-2013 10:47 AM

SuperChips FlashPAQ for 3.6 engine now available
 
NOT the FlashCAL, but the FlashPAQ (people often confuse the two) is now out for the 3.6.

Has anyone with a 3.6 used this yet ?

https://www.superchips.com/Store/tab...q/Default.aspx

formula96 11-28-2013 11:15 AM

I would also like to know.

dklassen 11-28-2013 02:14 PM

Yes. Worked fine for me. Reset my tire size and in the process of trying different tunes. The initial update process took a while but it went smooth.

Mike_4462 11-28-2013 03:08 PM

I just got mine last week from Northridge for $268 and I am currently running the 87 tune and it gives me a little extra pep to keep me from downshifting out of 6th on longer uphill grades where I live. For me its perfect for daily driving. I haven't finished this tank of gas yet to see what kind of mileage it gets. So far the computer is telling me I am getting 19.1 mpg. I kept the pedal response stock on mine as the Superchips pedal response was a little too touchy for my tastes. Especially when lightly hitting the throttle after coasting in 6th. The automatic guys may like it but I didn't care for it on the manual. I am going to call Superchips next week to ask about the TPMS setting as I don't think its working when I set it to a lower psi, my warning light went off at 33psi yesterday and I had it set to 28psi on the flashpaq. The off-road TPMS and all other functions work great though. I love now being able to set accessory timer to 10 minutes instead of the stock 45 seconds. I also turned on my fogs as daytime running lights. The update did take a while, the Superchips program only runs on Windows, and using the program is clunky. Aside from those negatives, I am glad I got it.

Labrat0116 11-28-2013 10:10 PM

Here's the Dyno sheet showing the power improvements!

http://images53.fotki.com/v1504/phot...page001-vi.jpg

Labrat0116 11-28-2013 10:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike_4462 (Post 6446610)
I am going to call Superchips next week to ask about .

SuperChips has a Messageboard where you can ask questions and get help.

The Official Superchips Forum • Index page

Labrat0116 11-28-2013 10:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dklassen (Post 6446090)
Yes. Worked fine for me. Reset my tire size and in the process of trying different tunes.

Noticed any difference in power and/or throttle response ?

Keep us posted !

Labrat0116 11-28-2013 10:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike_4462 (Post 6446610)
I just got mine last week from Northridge for $268 and I am currently running the 87 tune and it gives me a little extra pep

Have you tried any of the other power levels yet ?

Olsen185 11-28-2013 11:23 PM

Subscribed

cheap4tw 11-28-2013 11:23 PM

I am still holding out for the traildash for the 2012+ JK's.

Mike_4462 11-28-2013 11:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Labrat0116 (Post 6452010)
SuperChips has a Messageboard where you can ask questions and get help.

The Official Superchips Forum • Index page

I have tried to join that forum a couple of times now and never got an email confirmation for each attempt. It's not a spam issue and I am not the only one having this issue. When I googled Superchips and read other auto forums, I found out that was a common complaint with their forum. There also isn't an email address on their forum webpage to contact and help you resolve that issue.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Labrat0116 (Post 6452074)
Have you tried any of the other power levels yet ?

I am trying each tune a tank of fuel at a time to get a good barometer of its capabilities. I want to try each tune this way so I know which one I need to use that suits the off-road terrain I will be in. I have only tried the 87 tune so far, but I have a feeling it will fit my daily driver needs perfectly until the next round of mods.

Labrat0116 11-29-2013 01:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike_4462 (Post 6453186)
I have tried to join that forum a couple of times now and never got an email confirmation for each attempt. It's not a spam issue and I am not the only one having this issue.

When I googled Superchips and read other auto forums, I found out that was a common complaint with their forum. There also isn't an email address on their forum webpage to contact and help you resolve that issue.

Yea, I know. :rolleyes: I too have had a couple issues with their forums.

Here's the Admin's Email. His name is Ron. rrapp@superchips.com

Their website is a real cluster**** as well. Not well organized and very difficult to find the information one needs. Their Webmaster needs fired IMHO.

formula96 11-29-2013 07:57 AM

Any other mods on the one that dynoed?

massaqsure 11-29-2013 08:01 AM

There also isn't an email address on their forum webpage to contact and help you resolve that issue.http://to.ly/pUrL

dklassen 11-29-2013 08:08 AM

Only tired the 87 tune so far. Didn't notice any real difference in power or milage.

gth522 11-29-2013 10:01 AM

Does anyone know if gains will be increased with cat-back or CAI? Also are there or will there be specific options for these and other bolt ons?

JK-linux 11-29-2013 12:06 PM

2013 JKU 5-spd AT running the 91 Octane canned tune for over month now. No other mods; standard size OEM BFG MT tires and rims. Very happy. Yes, their forum sucks and yes, getting the Flashpaq updated and a tune installed initially is a bitch - don't know what I can add there. However, the effort (for me) was worth it. Throttle response and shifting up and down are very much improved and the results are worth the $268 and 3-5 hours of beating your head against a computer updating the thing. I'd don't care too much about gas mileage so I never checked. Towing is great, even with the "performance-mided" 91 octane tune. I didn't mess with TMPS or any of the other stuff. A Diablo Trinity would probably deliver half again as much performance, but for $500+ I could care less. My Jeep feels faster and safer now, which is good enough for a brick on wheels.

JK-linux 11-29-2013 12:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gth522 (Post 6457146)
Does anyone know if gains will be increased with cat-back or CAI? Also are there or will there be specific options for these and other bolt ons?

Run the 93 octane for best results. Beyond that, get a Diablo Trinity and a real CMR tune. Even then the $500+ still probably is not worth it - these aren't 5 and 6 liter Hemis. The juice isn't worth the squeeze on a 3.6 or 3.8 liter Jeep motor. Maybe if someone starts grinding cams and porting heads for these - which I don't see happening...

Mike_4462 11-29-2013 03:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dklassen (Post 6455490)
Only tired the 87 tune so far. Didn't notice any real difference in power or milage.

I really didn't notice much on that tune until I started driving up long uphill grades. Locations where I always downshifted the 6 speed manual, it doesn't need to at that spot now. It then became very noticeable to me in 6th gear under those conditions.

Mike_4462 11-29-2013 03:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Labrat0116 (Post 6453746)
Yea, I know. :rolleyes: I too have had a couple issues with their forums.

Here's the Admin's Email. His name is Ron. rrapp@superchips.com

Their website is a real cluster**** as well. Not well organized and very difficult to find the information one needs. Their Webmaster needs fired IMHO.

Cool, thanks. I will send him an email so I can join that forum and ask some questions.

Labrat0116 11-29-2013 09:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by formula96 (Post 6455346)
Any other mods on the one that dynoed?

I presume not since the graph came from SuperChips.

Labrat0116 11-29-2013 09:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by massaqsure (Post 6455418)
There also isn't an email address on their forum webpage to contact and help you resolve that issue.http://to.ly/pUrL

I posted it above.

Here's the Admin's Email. His name is Ron. rrapp@superchips.com

Labrat0116 11-29-2013 09:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gth522 (Post 6457146)
Does anyone know if gains will be increased with cat-back or CAI? Also are there or will there be specific options for these and other bolt ons?

Yes and Yes.

Read this--> Flashpaq Performance Tuner

Labrat0116 11-29-2013 10:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JK-linux (Post 6459042)
2013 JKU 5-spd AT

getting the Flashpaq updated and a tune installed initially is a bitch - don't know what I can add there.

However, the effort (for me) was worth it. Throttle response and shifting up and down are very much improved and the results are worth the $268 and 3-5 hours of beating your head against a computer updating the thing.

My Jeep feels faster and safer now, which is good enough for a brick on wheels.

You had to be one of the very first 3.6 Wranglers to have this mod/program installed!

I also have a 3870 FlashPAQ but have yet to install it on my JK. A bit paranoid of being one of the first. Sounds like those that have done so are doing ok with it.

I was a VERY length Update off SuperChips website to my 3850. I'm guessing 40-50 minutes or so. I just walked away and let it do it's thing.

Does the program have adjustments for the throttle response (Tip-In) and the shifting firmness ?

Labrat0116 11-29-2013 10:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JK-linux (Post 6459082)
Run the 93 octane for best results. Beyond that, get a Diablo Trinity and a real CMR tune.

Even then the $500+ still probably is not worth it - these aren't 5 and 6 liter Hemis. The juice isn't worth the squeeze on a 3.6 or 3.8 liter Jeep motor. Maybe if someone starts grinding cams and porting heads for these - which I don't see happening...

You're looking at these programmers for drag racers only that ONLY got WOT all the time.

Programmers help in other power ranges as well. Look at the Dynosheet above.

Improved low-mid range TORQUE greatly improves the everyday driveability and throttle response!

Olsen185 11-29-2013 10:37 PM

Any idea if the dealer can detect that the tuner is or was installed?

Labrat0116 11-30-2013 12:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Olsen185 (Post 6469586)
Any idea if the dealer can detect that the tuner is or was installed?

Yes they can and NO it will NOT void your Warranty.

relyt 11-30-2013 02:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike_4462 (Post 6446610)
I just got mine last week from Northridge for $268 and I am currently running the 87 tune and it gives me a little extra pep to keep me from downshifting out of 6th on longer uphill grades where I live. For me its perfect for daily driving. I haven't finished this tank of gas yet to see what kind of mileage it gets. So far the computer is telling me I am getting 19.1 mpg. I kept the pedal response stock on mine as the Superchips pedal response was a little too touchy for my tastes. Especially when lightly hitting the throttle after coasting in 6th. The automatic guys may like it but I didn't care for it on the manual. I am going to call Superchips next week to ask about the TPMS setting as I don't think its working when I set it to a lower psi, my warning light went off at 33psi yesterday and I had it set to 28psi on the flashpaq. The off-road TPMS and all other functions work great though. I love now being able to set accessory timer to 10 minutes instead of the stock 45 seconds. I also turned on my fogs as daytime running lights. The update did take a while, the Superchips program only runs on Windows, and using the program is clunky. Aside from those negatives, I am glad I got it.

How did you set your throttle response back to factory default? That is the only complaint I have since loading the 93 octane tune onto mine. I think you're right and it would be ok with an automatic but with the 6 speed the tip in is a little too harsh to drive smoothly at low speeds in parking lots or even through town. If I could get my factory throttle back but keep the performance tune loaded I would be 100% satisfied with my purchase.

Mike_4462 11-30-2013 02:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by relyt (Post 6471442)
How did you set your throttle response back to factory default? That is the only complaint I have since loading the 93 octane tune onto mine. I think you're right and it would be ok with an automatic but with the 6 speed the tip in is a little too harsh to drive smoothly at low speeds in parking lots or even through town. If I could get my factory throttle back but keep the performance tune loaded I would be 100% satisfied with my purchase.

When loading the tunes, instead of doing the quick tune, go into the advanced tuning. There are 3 settings for the throttle response. Stock, Medium, and SUPERCHIPS. I had originally used SUPERCHIPS but the tip in was too harsh to use smoothly when accelerating after coasting downhill etc.

In the advanced setting you can also adjust the temperature at which the radiator fan kicks on at low, med, and high fan speeds. You can also adjust the speed limiter. Like you I don't have an automatic so I don't know if they have any settings for that.

Booty 11-30-2013 06:08 PM

I just bought this tuner. I haven't installed it yet. I thought it already had a tune installed on it when they send it?? Do I have to load a tube from the computer first?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.