Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   cb mounting locations?? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/cb-mounting-locations-42337.html)

skummdogg 01-05-2010 08:02 PM

cb mounting locations??
 
just bought a 2010 rubi, trying to figure out where i will mount my radio...
i dont want it next to my leg on the console, which is where ive seen others put it... any ideas will be super helpful, thx

yj-genral 01-05-2010 08:28 PM

tuffy makes a console that has a slot for a CB, you can buy or build an overhead console that goes down the middle for one or just put it on the passenger side of the console so its not in YOUR leg :D

USAntigoon 01-05-2010 08:28 PM

First of all welcome to this forum and congratulations with your new Rubi...:wavey:
How about this...They (CB and 2 meter HAM radio) are overhead and out of my way.. Just love it..

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3651/...581c294f63.jpg

This is a good thread as well

JIMBOX 01-05-2010 09:01 PM

:eek: Outa my way also

No Bumpin, no thumpin, easy reach, easy read, easy adjust-can't beatit

:rofl::rofl: JIMBO

AdventureMyk 01-05-2010 09:09 PM

JimB, what are all those toggles to? Winches and lockers or? Like the high mounted CB's but where I park mine for work it'd be gone in 10 minutes.

Have you considered the type where there is a small base unit that sits under the seat and all the CB controls are in the handset? That way its' out of the way and hidden when you aren't using it.

JIMBOX 01-05-2010 09:19 PM

:eek: The switchboard, using relays is for Forward driving lights (2 sets), rear lights, OBA, supplemental horn and CB

I can't offer any opinions on the handheld, like Cobra 75, to me it's just to small and limited

Personnaly, I would NEVER mount any CB/bases under one of the seats--too "outta the way" to subject to water damage, to heat restrictive

You'll get lots of ideas and you will have to worry about THEFT !!

GOOD LUCK

:banghead::rofl: JIMBO

yj-genral 01-06-2010 06:21 AM

if theft is a concern tuffy makes the console that locks up when not in use but they are expensive...

Hilldweller 01-06-2010 07:11 AM

I have the little remote Cobra; the box is under the glovebox brace and the mic is on a Cooltech LLC versamount.
CB and weather; works fine and it's no big deal to install or tune.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...n/100_0257.jpg

AdventureMyk 01-06-2010 07:58 AM

I was just thinking of all that extra space under/behind the glove box and here Hilldweller comes along and uses that spot with the very radio I was thinking of! <grin>

Hilldweller 01-06-2010 08:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AdventureMyk (Post 517813)
I was just thinking of all that extra space under/behind the glove box and here Hilldweller comes along and uses that spot with the very radio I was thinking of! <grin>

It really looks stock.

If you go to the Cooltech website, there are complete kits. The antenna mount through the license plate bracket is just as clean.

I recommend a Wilson Silverload Flex antenna though; it can bend 180 degrees without breaking.

WranglerX2009 01-06-2010 02:14 PM

My wife, Father, daughter, and Son have all ridden in the passenger seat with no issues here. When I leave the Jeep, I cover it with a black tooke (or sockcap depending where you are from) and it pretty much disappears from view.

http://www.wranglerforum.com/attachm...1&d=1261716048

AdventureMyk 01-06-2010 06:30 PM

Loved all the gadgets on CoolTech but they are all for the JK. Any good sites with great package deals for a TJ like the ones they have for the JK?

RSC17 01-06-2010 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AdventureMyk (Post 518242)
Loved all the gadgets on CoolTech but they are all for the JK. Any good sites with great package deals for a TJ like the ones they have for the JK?

or even for a YJ? :rolleyes:

skummdogg 01-06-2010 09:40 PM

thx
 
i appreciate all the imput from everyone, very helpful... im not a huge fan of putting it overhead, i already have a cobra 25 thats what im gonna use.. i was thinking about velcroing it to the dash right above the stereo, velcro so i can take it off and hide it. has anyone done anything like that? what u guys think about it?:D

DeepSea 01-09-2010 06:08 PM

I did some reserch for going over the stereo like with what you were talking about. I couldn't find any JK with it but found a few older jeeps that had custom mounts you could look at in the cb/stereo section of this forum. I have a cobra 29 which is pretty decent size so I went with the mount from ArizonaRockyroad.com Either way good luck

skummdogg 01-09-2010 06:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DeepSea (Post 520301)
I did some reserch for going over the stereo like with what you were talking about. I couldn't find any JK with it but found a few older jeeps that had custom mounts you could look at in the cb/stereo section of this forum. I have a cobra 29 which is pretty decent size so I went with the mount from ArizonaRockyroad.com Either way good luck

i appreciate it, the 29 isnt too much bigger than the 25... do u have any pics of ur mounted? thx

DeepSea 01-10-2010 02:39 PM

I probably should post some pics for everyone to see, but it also might be faster if you give me your email. Then the next time I'm in my jeep, I'll take a pic of it on my phone and email it to you.

Donyuma 02-03-2010 10:47 PM

USAntigoon on your cb mounting did you have to put anything on the back side of the mounting area or did you use self tapping screws, is there much vibration

jk'n 02-04-2010 01:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Donyuma (Post 538144)
USAntigoon on your cb mounting did you have to put anything on the back side of the mounting area or did you use self tapping screws, is there much vibration

I have the same mount as Antigoon and I have no problems with vibration. I had to drill holes in my roll bar because I use the mounting bar with my hard top on and the hard top uses the holes already there to position the panels in front. I drilled and tapped the holes for the same screws as the freedom top hold-downs (metric). I put a nylon washer between the radio mounting bar and the roll bar to eliminate the possibility of vibration noises. My CB is screwed to the mounting bar and my ham radio remote head is scotch 3M dual lock system tape (similar to Velcro but more secure) to the radio mounting bar. Soon I will have a speaker mounted up there too for the ham radio.

USAntigoon 02-04-2010 04:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Donyuma (Post 538144)
USAntigoon on your cb mounting did you have to put anything on the back side of the mounting area or did you use self tapping screws, is there much vibration

I used some self tapping screws to mount the "C" bracket to the underside of the ARR mount bar. NO vibrations.. Be sure you stuff some extra rags or filler in the mount bar, otherwise the power supply cables might start rattling..
My ARR bar ties into the door surround mount. I have a soft top..
Hope I answered your question..;)

Donyuma 02-06-2010 10:30 PM

Thanks to both of you for the help

g-man 02-08-2010 03:00 PM

radio mount
 
I have a PC78, about the size of a cobra 29. I was having the same questions until my 13yr old helped me. my 04 wrangler is right hand drive with no room for my cb, so I took an oak 2x12, drilled holes in the ends and tied it to the top of the rollbars and put the hard top back on. cb mounted overhead and out of the way.:cool:

g-man 02-08-2010 03:27 PM

cb picture
 
1 Attachment(s)
here is a picture of mine

JIMBOX 02-08-2010 04:02 PM

:zap: Do ya have any trouble with squirrels ???


Quote:

Originally Posted by g-man (Post 541311)
here is a picture of mine

:rofl::rofl: JIMBO

naterg 02-08-2010 05:42 PM

I removed my air bag selector switch, modified the console some, and stuck it in there, I really like it, but I need to finish it up to cover the rest of the opening. I am thinking a switch plate some time. The mic is mounted using an existing screw in the dash and a regular mic clip.

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_l3Do4aDHYwo/S3...0/IMG_2616.JPG

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_l3Do4aDHYwo/S3...0/IMG_2619.JPG

naterg 02-08-2010 06:39 PM

Of course, I have a TJ and this is the JK forum... So I guess my post is irrelevant... New Post button and quickly glancing at the thread owns me!

inzgary 02-08-2010 07:00 PM

They do have mounting kits on Quadratec: one for the radio mount and one to mount the antenna to the tire carrier. I don't want to do any drilling so I will look into these when I get going on setting mine up.

http://www.quadratec.com/Assets/Imag.../101837-lg.jpg

http://www.quadratec.com/Assets/Imag...6/85926-lg.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.