Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   need help installing my HELLA 500 lights. so i have everything almost hooked up, but (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/need-help-installing-my-hella-500-lights-so-i-have-everything-almost-hooked-up-but-4362.html)

jjock 12-08-2006 07:42 PM

need help installing my HELLA 500 lights. so i have everything almost hooked up, but
 
need help installing my HELLA 500 lights. so i have everything almost hooked up, but i cant figure out how to tap into my headlights and highbeams?

p.s. what is this piece for? http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b1...2-08-06004.jpg

jjock 12-08-2006 07:57 PM

Also Where The Heck Is The Parking Lamp Wire I Am Supposta Tap To?

amerijeep 12-08-2006 10:16 PM

Yikes. You don't know what that is for? It's for tieing a wire into another one. It goes on the hot wire you want to tap into and the other side is for the wire you want power to.

Hard to explain, but if you look at the connector closely, you can get what I am saying.

I don't think I can explain to you how to do all this and I work on electronics (of sorts) for a living. You might need to get some local help.

jjock 12-09-2006 12:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amerijeep (Post 36466)
Yikes. You don't know what that is for? It's for tieing a wire into another one. It goes on the hot wire you want to tap into and the other side is for the wire you want power to.

Hard to explain, but if you look at the connector closely, you can get what I am saying.

I don't think I can explain to you how to do all this and I work on electronics (of sorts) for a living. You might need to get some local help.

ya i figured out what its for. but where the hell is my parking light wire that i am supposta tap into. also where can i get through the firewall to install my trigger switch?

amerijeep 12-09-2006 12:57 AM

Just drill a hole through the firewall, but be careful and make sure you know what it on the other side where you are drilling.

I don't know where your wires are. I'm not familiar with the TJ. Maybe one of those TJ owners might possibly know something about it.

Jerry Bransford 12-11-2006 10:08 PM

Don't drill through the firewall itself, TJs have a black rubber plug in the firewall above the driver's side footwell. You can drill that and run wiring through it.

So far as figuring out where to get the high beam trigger voltage... there are three wires going to each headlight. One is black and the ground wire. One of the others is the low beam, the other is the high beam wire. A sharp pointed test light like is sold in an auto parts store will allow you to poke through the wire's insulation to see which wire is the high beam wire.

jjock 12-12-2006 12:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford (Post 36506)
Don't drill through the firewall itself, TJs have a black rubber plug in the firewall above the driver's side footwell. You can drill that and run wiring through it.

So far as figuring out where to get the high beam trigger voltage... there are three wires going to each headlight. One is black and the ground wire. One of the others is the low beam, the other is the high beam wire. A sharp pointed test light like is sold in an auto parts store will allow you to poke through the wire's insulation to see which wire is the high beam wire.

i dont want to tap the highbeam. i want to tap into the parking lights.

jjock 12-12-2006 12:38 AM

i tried using the info on this site http://www.shmoo.com/~gdead/Site/Fog%20Lights.html but it didnt really help. i still dont know which wire to tap and how to find my way through the firewall and to the back of the rocker switchs..

Jerry Bransford 12-12-2006 01:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjock (Post 36595)
i dont want to tap the highbeam. i want to tap into the parking lights.

Then use the above procedure but use the test light to find the right parking light wire instead. You know, the wiring coming out of the parking light. :)

whitebuffalo 12-12-2006 08:47 AM

why are you tapping into the parking lights? do you want the Hellas to come on every time your parking lights are on? your're gonna have a lot of pissed off oncoming traffic if you do....

Jerry Bransford 12-12-2006 11:15 AM

The parking light circuit won't turn the lights on, he's substituting that for using the high-beam as a control lead. Which just means they won't turn on unless the high beams (parking lights in this case) are also on. I don't know why he wants to use the parking lights instead but once in a while, it's just easier to answer questions as asked. :)

Personally, I recommend using the high-beam lead as a 'sense' lead, which is how mine is wired. I.E. the sense lead powers the relay's solenoid coil. That way, if I have my high beams and driving lights on, all I have to do is flick the high beam lever and they both go off. I used to have to fumble to turn my driving lights off when encountering oncoming traffic but rewiring it to use the high beam as a sense lead fixed that. :)

whitebuffalo 12-12-2006 12:14 PM

i see.....

i had hella 500s on my old truck but wired them seperate from the driving lights. flipping the switch was a hassle at times, but i wanted them independent

Tiburon 12-12-2006 12:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by whitebuffalo (Post 36636)
why are you tapping into the parking lights? do you want the Hellas to come on every time your parking lights are on? your're gonna have a lot of pissed off oncoming traffic if you do....

if you use the parks as a hot lead for the fogs and then have a switch for them as well you could potentially have them shut off when you shut off the headlights.

There are a couple of ways to do this, the easiest way would be to just ground the lights run a FUSED wire from the battery to a switch on the inside then from the switch to the fog light. That would mean the lights are available to be on all the time.

Second you could run a relay system that would be able to switch on and off using a relay. It would have a Hot lead in, and a switched lead out and the on/off switch. Auto parts stores sell kits with the relay, switch, and all the wires you would need to make this work. It also comes with instructions that would make it a matter of finding power leads.

I wouldn't recomend tapping into the headlights to power up the fogs, those wires already carry a pretty big load and you'd double the amount of power that wire is already running. As for the parking lights I wouldn't use that to power up the fogs either, the only thing I'd use that for is to engage the relay that would do the job of supplying the power to the fogs.

As for the firewall, there are plenty of places to punch through, pick any rubber grommet along the firewall and poke a hole thru. DO NOT use a drill you run a risk of the drill tip catching on the wire bundle and if you nick them and they short out all kinds of funky things could happen. The best way is to use a wire coat hanger and tape the wire you want to run thru to one end poke it in the grommet and pull out. Low tech but highly effective.

Now for that wire tapper you have, personally I am not a fan of those at all, they don't provide a very good contact for higher loads that you'll be using for the fog lights, plus its really easy to strip off too much of the wire and have exposed ends and they look sloppy to me. Solder and Tape will give you the best connection but that is a pain esspecially if you don't solder very much. An in between method is to strip back some of the wire then seperate the strands half on one side and half on the other in to akind of () shape then stick the wire you want to connect to it thru the () and wrap it around several times very tightly, then use a high quality electrical tape I recomend 3M super 33+. This will give you a decent connection and even if the wire gets tugged on a bit it will still hold. Don't be afraid to tape up that wire, 2 or 3 layers deep and about half an inch past each side of the connection.

Oh and the parking light wire for a 97 TJ is Black with a Yellow stripe, you can find it at the headlight switch.

Hope this helps you

jjock 12-12-2006 02:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by whitebuffalo (Post 36636)
why are you tapping into the parking lights? do you want the Hellas to come on every time your parking lights are on? your're gonna have a lot of pissed off oncoming traffic if you do....

thats why there is a rocker switch i can use to turn them on or off whenever i want. duh... that was i can use them offroad when i have either my high or lows on.

jjock 12-12-2006 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tiburon (Post 36690)
if you use the parks as a hot lead for the fogs and then have a switch for them as well you could potentially have them shut off when you shut off the headlights.

There are a couple of ways to do this, the easiest way would be to just ground the lights run a FUSED wire from the battery to a switch on the inside then from the switch to the fog light. That would mean the lights are available to be on all the time.

Second you could run a relay system that would be able to switch on and off using a relay. It would have a Hot lead in, and a switched lead out and the on/off switch. Auto parts stores sell kits with the relay, switch, and all the wires you would need to make this work. It also comes with instructions that would make it a matter of finding power leads.

I wouldn't recomend tapping into the headlights to power up the fogs, those wires already carry a pretty big load and you'd double the amount of power that wire is already running. As for the parking lights I wouldn't use that to power up the fogs either, the only thing I'd use that for is to engage the relay that would do the job of supplying the power to the fogs.

As for the firewall, there are plenty of places to punch through, pick any rubber grommet along the firewall and poke a hole thru. DO NOT use a drill you run a risk of the drill tip catching on the wire bundle and if you nick them and they short out all kinds of funky things could happen. The best way is to use a wire coat hanger and tape the wire you want to run thru to one end poke it in the grommet and pull out. Low tech but highly effective.

Now for that wire tapper you have, personally I am not a fan of those at all, they don't provide a very good contact for higher loads that you'll be using for the fog lights, plus its really easy to strip off too much of the wire and have exposed ends and they look sloppy to me. Solder and Tape will give you the best connection but that is a pain esspecially if you don't solder very much. An in between method is to strip back some of the wire then seperate the strands half on one side and half on the other in to akind of () shape then stick the wire you want to connect to it thru the () and wrap it around several times very tightly, then use a high quality electrical tape I recomend 3M super 33+. This will give you a decent connection and even if the wire gets tugged on a bit it will still hold. Don't be afraid to tape up that wire, 2 or 3 layers deep and about half an inch past each side of the connection.

Oh and the parking light wire for a 97 TJ is Black with a Yellow stripe, you can find it at the headlight switch.

Hope this helps you

hey, thanks for the great respone! IM DONE I JUST GOT EVERYTHING INSTALLED now i just need to adjust the beam height and directions..

i guess the only thing i really couldnt figure out on my own was the parking light wire color code. the black with the yellow strip. how did you know that?????

Tiburon 12-12-2006 05:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjock (Post 36748)
hey, thanks for the great respone! IM DONE I JUST GOT EVERYTHING INSTALLED now i just need to adjust the beam height and directions..

i guess the only thing i really couldnt figure out on my own was the parking light wire color code. the black with the yellow strip. how did you know that?????

I could tell you but then I'd have to kill you. j/k

I used to install for Circuit City and I still have the access codes to get into the sites I needed to do alarms and remote starts. comes in handy in a pinch or when I need to make an extra buck on the side doin something like that.

TC_X 12-12-2006 05:19 PM

Not to hijack the thread but since we are on the subject. I just installed my Hellas a couple days ago. The only thing I different (per instructions) was tap into the cigar lighter instead of the high or low beams. I figured much closer to where the switch is located and it uses a 20 amp fuse for the lighter (which I don't use).

Tiburon 12-12-2006 05:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TC_X (Post 36766)
Not to hijack the thread but since we are on the subject. I just installed my Hellas a couple days ago. The only thing I different (per instructions) was tap into the cigar lighter instead of the high or low beams. I figured much closer to where the switch is located and it uses a 20 amp fuse for the lighter (which I don't use).

please dont tell me that u are running your lights from the cigarette lighter.... if you are that time when you are driving around for an hour or so with them on and you smell something burning... yeah don't say I didn't warn u.

TC_X 12-12-2006 05:42 PM

I haven't smelled anything yet, the longest I have had them on at one time is been 20 min or so. I figured since I don't use it and it has it own 20 amp fuse, what would be the issue? The guage of wire were the same.

Tiburon 12-12-2006 05:52 PM

its not the guage of the wire that matters but the lenght of the run. I'm just saying its not the safest of connections. all the luck to ya I wouldn't run my rig on that.

TC_X 12-12-2006 06:16 PM

Hmm, got me thinking now. The wire from my switch to where it's tapped into the wire of the lighter is about 5 inches long. I figured if I tapped into the lights as suggested by Hella's instructions, I figured that would be more of an issue.

Tiburon 12-12-2006 06:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TC_X (Post 36782)
Hmm, got me thinking now. The wire from my switch to where it's tapped into the wire of the lighter is about 5 inches long. I figured if I tapped into the lights as suggested by Hella's instructions, I figured that would be more of an issue.

5 inches isn't the issue, where does that wire run from the other side of the switch? does it go from the lighter wire, to the switch then from the switch to the lights? caues that is waaaaaay to long of a run to put that much current thru that wire. the thin wire becomes a choke point and will heat up vs. a thicker wire that will allow more power to the lights. Or do you mean that you used the supplied relay and hooked the wire that was supposed to go to your parking lights to the cigarette lighter wire instead? If that is the case you're fine, it becomes a switch and only supplies enough power to flip the relay. and thats a pretty good trick if you want to be lazy and don't mind the lights not turning off with the headlight switch.

TC_X 12-12-2006 06:34 PM

Yeah, I used the relay. Battery to relay, relay to lights, relay to switch, relay grounded. Switch grounded, switch to relay, switch to lighter wire.

Tiburon 12-12-2006 06:48 PM

in that case you're fine. I was thinking the worst and you hacked the lights in directly to the cigar lighter. Sorry for doubting your wiring job, I've seen some crazy crap in my day and I have to admit I was assuming you had no idea. I was wrong and offer my apologies.

TC_X 12-12-2006 06:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tiburon (Post 36794)
in that case you're fine. I was thinking the worst and you hacked the lights in directly to the cigar lighter. Sorry for doubting your wiring job, I've seen some crazy crap in my day and I have to admit I was assuming you had no idea. I was wrong and offer my apologies.


I think if I would have done it that way (without the relay) that would have made for an interesting situation. All is good :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.