Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/)
-   -   KC Light Window Mounts (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/kc-light-window-mounts-46162.html)

thechink09 03-09-2010 11:23 AM

KC Light Window Mounts
 
does anyone know a store that would sell these?

i really dont feel like waiting for them to be shipped to me

Bracket, Light Mounting Black Pair*KCH-7321 by the Jeep Specialists | Morris 4x4 Center

jeeps&comics 03-09-2010 11:50 AM

never seen them in a store... ordered mine from q-tech, and they came in pretty fast..

scott howard 03-09-2010 03:08 PM

I made mine and if you know how to weld or have a machine / welding shop close by then you can too.

rusty-shackleford 03-09-2010 07:38 PM

1 Attachment(s)
got mine from Summit racing. that looks like a good price if shipping don't kill you. i've ordered lots of stuff from Quadratec, but their shipping rates suck. they always have what i want(haven't had a back-order yet). it would be nice if they could get a flat rate like some of the other vendors!!!

huber15 03-09-2010 10:25 PM

how did you run the wires into the jeep

Blazin420 03-09-2010 10:33 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I got the warrior mirror and light bracket by warrior.. I bought it from JC Whitney and it shipped within a week.

thechink09 03-09-2010 11:06 PM

i went a head and just ordered them from jeep4x4center

whats the best way to run the wire from the lights into your yj?

Ryark 03-10-2010 02:14 AM

the guy who had my jeep before me drilled a hole in the windows frame.. i wanna find them and punch them in the neck..

lilkev538 03-10-2010 10:59 AM

I ran the wires for my offroad lights behind the windshield hinges and then drilled a small hole inside the door frame about an inch from where my 1/2 door met the body.. After I wrapped the wires in electrical tape they were barely noticeable when you didn't know to look for them.

lilkev538 03-10-2010 11:52 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Here is what mine looks like.

Blazin420 03-10-2010 12:33 PM

I drilled a hole next to the bracket all and then fed the wires threw.

jeeps&comics 03-10-2010 01:39 PM

haha don't mean to thread jack, but Rusty B. Shackleford is my gamer name on steam... haha nice, koth ftw.

thechink09 03-10-2010 02:13 PM

so pretty much i have to drill a hole some where to get them in? that kind of sucks. i would prefer not to have to drill.

also the lights came with a wire harness and on the diagram it show it going to the battery. do i have to drill a hole in my firewall? or is there somewhere i can feed the wires through to get to the battery?

lilkev538 03-10-2010 02:17 PM

I ran all my own wiring...the wiring harness was no fun. I had to drill a small hole in the firewall to run the wiring to the battery. Just make sure you seal it with some silicon and you will be fine.

thechink09 03-10-2010 02:20 PM

i have to drill 3 holes in my baby :( poor thing is going to feel abused haha

lilkev538 03-10-2010 02:23 PM

Yeah...I said the same thing. Just keep the holes small and seal them well. The end result with mine was well worth the 3 tiny holes...I can light up the night quite well.

Just give your baby a good mud bath afterward to reward her for taking the pain so well.

crtaylor 03-10-2010 09:33 PM

WOW ,mine are on wrong :eek: PO put them on I just mounted lights.when it warms up ill run the wires betweenthe tub and Wframe.no holes :Dthe way there wired now is getto:zap:

thechink09 03-10-2010 09:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by crtaylor (Post 568109)
WOW ,mine are on wrong :eek: PO put them on I just mounted lights.when it warms up ill run the wires betweenthe tub and Wframe.no holes :Dthe way there wired now is getto:zap:

ha nice.

once i get my brackets in, ill just spend a saturday looking around my jeep, im sure i can find a way to wire it up with out drilling. or with out drilling too much.

duaneduanet 03-13-2010 07:10 PM

I ran my friends like lilkev538 did but instead of drilling we loosened the dash on the ends and feed the wires there. No drilling!!

waterman95 03-14-2010 01:47 PM

I dropped the window down and ran the wires between the window frame and tub through the cowl rubber,,, drilled 1 hole in fire wall for power feed

thechink09 03-14-2010 11:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by waterman95 (Post 571314)
I dropped the window down and ran the wires between the window frame and tub through the cowl rubber,,, drilled 1 hole in fire wall for power feed

i was thinking about running like that but im a little worried that i might mess up the seal.

thechink09 03-19-2010 01:14 PM

i got my lights put on the other day so i figured i would share with you guys how i did it.

i ended up not having to drill anything. i ran the wires for the lights between the door and the body and then under the plate for the front speakers.

and then for the wires going to the battery and the relay i ran them through the boot on the firewall.

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i2...k/DSC01093.jpg
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i2...k/DSC01094.jpg
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i2...k/DSC01095.jpg
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i2...k/DSC01097.jpg
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i2...k/DSC01098.jpg
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i2...k/DSC01099.jpg

ive got some wire loom that im gonna put on the wires under hood i just havent gotten to it yet


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.