Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   What's needed to install a hard top? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/whats-needed-to-install-a-hard-top-47515.html)

cherokee kid 03-26-2010 07:07 PM

What's needed to install a hard top?
 
I'm looking at a hard top for my "06, there's one out there that doesn't have the oem bolts etc. Is it necessary to purchase the oem stuff? If not what should I use that would work just as well? What exactly would I need to do the job?
Any other suggestions as to what I should check out prior to dealing for the top?

distortedtj 03-26-2010 07:12 PM

To install....

Remove the softop for your jeep.

set hardtop on ...
clamp the two front clamps to the windshield.
bolt the top down.
enjoy your hard top.

As for the bolts to hold it on. NO you don't need the OEM ones. You can use what ever you want.

As for the defrost/rear wiper/windshield fluid squirter......you can buy and install the harness from jeep.

adawg38 03-26-2010 07:37 PM

I like the OEM bolts from the dealer they are like $10 a piece but use a torq for better security. You can get the wire harness from Quadratec.com for $150 but make sure the top is I believe 02 and up or you will have to replace the adapter on the hardtop to mate correctly. If you buy the top used look at all the seals and try to check the top for warpage.

Atthehop 03-26-2010 07:40 PM

Hard top, what for???

bcbaker4399 03-26-2010 08:00 PM

Adding a Hardtop
 
For Highway driving, I just added a hardtop to my 06. I purchased the OEM Screws and Rectangular nuts (very expensive, but nice). My 06 was shipped with a SoftTop, so no wiring was present for Defroster and Windshield Wiper. I purchased a wiring kit from JeepsAreUs, Jeeps Are Us: Jeep Wrangler Hard top wiring Also Unlimited 2003 to 2006 for $160. I have not received it yet, but it is supposed to carry the switches and wiring to connect to the Wire Harness. These are the online version of the Mopar instructions that ship with the OEM kit : HARDTOP WIRING KIT JEEP WRANGLER TJ , and I found this forum hit for help in tearing apart the Bezel to work on the switches : TJ bezel removal and switch install *Pics* - JeepForum.com

This exercise will consume probably a good upcoming Saturday, but the weather is slowly getting better.

Brian

birdhunter 03-26-2010 08:19 PM

you could get the wrenchless ones
twist on/off
I use some weather stripping
in between

billyb 03-26-2010 10:03 PM

I bought the Mopar weather stripping to replace mine. The left side cost twice as much as the right side, they are exactly the same except for being mirror images?:confused: Considered the clamps they sell at Qtech or 4wd, but I was only missing 2 bolts and one of the rectangle nuts, so stayed with them. The hard top is much quieter. I just switched back for our first warm sunny day and it really is louder. And I miss my rear wiper with all the rain we've had.

cherokee kid 03-28-2010 12:36 PM

Thanks-appreciate the input.

AfterMath 05-05-2010 07:44 AM

Question. I'm currently replacing my softtop with a hardtop on my 98 Sahara. I bought the wiring harness for the wiper and defroster from Howbills, and I also was given the switch board.

I believe I'm missing the wire that goes from the plugs on the harness to the plugs in the switch board?

Also, what does the power supply (if any) look like on the harness? I need to figure out how to plug it in, where to plug it in.

Glenn54 05-05-2010 08:59 AM

Note: When you purchase that hard top, make sure the back glass or liftgate has a seal at the bottom. I just bought a hard top and didn't know to look for that. I have to buy a new one for $116.00.

AfterMath 05-05-2010 09:17 AM

All the seals are attached. I'm just worried about the wiring.

SurfKaster 05-05-2010 09:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Glenn54 (Post 616745)
Note: When you purchase that hard top, make sure the back glass or liftgate has a seal at the bottom. I just bought a hard top and didn't know to look for that. I have to buy a new one for $116.00.

Make sure the bolts that attach the liftgate to the glass are included too. My jeep didn't come with them & I thought they'd be cheap enough to replace, so you can image how floored I was to find out they're $70 a piece:eek: I was SOL trying to find some online. Got some duct tape inside the glass for now. I've fabricate something later.

CMEvans79 05-05-2010 09:40 AM

Power supply should be on the drivers side rear corner, probably tucked under there some where... thats where mine is ... Also, if it hasnt been said, buy some quick disconnects for the hard top, it makes it much easier to put on and off and not worrying about losing any bolts or backs. - http://www.quadratec.com/products/13122_00.htm
http://www.quadratec.com/Assets/Images/1517/1517-md.jpg

AfterMath 05-05-2010 09:44 AM

Sorry for the confusion.

I know where the power supply is on the hard top...I have the harness that goes from the hardtop towards the dash.

I just assumed that the harness should plug in somewhere under the steering wheel to draw power in order for the wiper and defroster to function?

Edit* My jeep came stock with a soft top, so I had to buy the wiring harness seperately.

CMEvans79 05-05-2010 09:52 AM

ahh gotcha ... Yeah, I dont know that part, mine came with both tops when I got it. Good luck!

AfterMath 05-05-2010 11:41 AM

Bump.

Kilroy 05-06-2010 07:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gminton (Post 616800)
Sorry for the confusion.

I know where the power supply is on the hard top...I have the harness that goes from the hardtop towards the dash.

I just assumed that the harness should plug in somewhere under the steering wheel to draw power in order for the wiper and defroster to function?

Edit* My jeep came stock with a soft top, so I had to buy the wiring harness seperately.

My 06 "X" did not have front end hardtop wiring built in. So a front to back harness from a Jeep with a factory installed hardtop would not work. As you found, no plug in somewhere under the steering wheel.

The factory kit includes an under dash harness overlay that solves this problem.

Also, the factory kit needs better instructions on where to position the overlay. The overlay has a dangling fuse that I positioned on the far left just under the dash so the fuse could be accessed. That seemed to leave the rest of the overlay in a good position.

AfterMath 05-07-2010 09:19 AM

I took it to a dealer, they said the plugs for the switches will be taped up inside (I hope).

My wiring harness I got from a stock Jeep should work, I've comfirmed the locations of every piece that goes in, and I found the plugs.

If the plugs for the defroster and rear wiper aren't taped inside, I plan on buying the plugs from Howbills and clipping them off. I will then run wires over and splice into the harness.

It doesn't have to be pretty, just has to work...haha.

Kilroy 05-07-2010 10:35 AM

I hope your plugs are taped up inside the harness!

AfterMath 05-07-2010 10:45 AM

Me too... :(


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.