Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   TJ Fog Light Switch (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/tj-fog-light-switch-48887.html)

sach4u1 04-15-2010 12:16 PM

TJ Fog Light Switch
 
Hi All,

I am trying to install fog lights on the stock bumper of my tj. Let me know if someone has a Fog Light Switch. I called dealership and they said $84.
What other parts do I need than listed below:
1. Fog Lights
2. Fog Light Switch
3. Fog Light Wiring
4. Relay
?? Anything else.

Also I couldn't find a write-up on DIY for Fog Lights. Thanks in Advace and have a good one.

Jp90Talon 04-15-2010 12:47 PM

I wouldnt waste your $ on ordering the switch that will just fail in a few years. All you reall need is generic toggle switch from any auto parts store, soldering iron, shrink wrap, spool of wire, wire cutters, wire stripper, and relay.

I know someone posted a little diagram on here but I just cant find it. It is a real simple install though.

life iz good 04-15-2010 12:54 PM

I bought one from the local auto parts store for $5-$10 and it works perfectly fine. I agree, definitely don't waste your money on the factory switch. If you want one that matches the others you should look at Quadratec! Good Luck!

Six Gun Matt 04-15-2010 01:15 PM

You could always order a rocker switch from OTRATTW, here is the info I have collected:

OTRATTW
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/rock...hes-16344.html
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/rock...how-14349.html

sach4u1 04-15-2010 01:46 PM

Thanks guys.

Six Gun Matt,

The switch looks great. One question though - Does it fits in space already provided for switches or I will need to drill hole in the dash? Thanks

Six Gun Matt 04-15-2010 04:26 PM

I don't personally have these yet, but I will when I install my lights. Some of their switches have a note that says that particular model shouldn't be installed on the OEM switch panel, but I am assuming that all of the switches that don't have that note should be good to go. I have seen a couple of people's rigs with these installed in the OEM switch panel, just make sure you order the right ones.

OTRATTW is on this forum from time to time, and they seem pretty approachable. I am sure you could email them or call them with your specific application.

rbraden1970 04-15-2010 05:23 PM

I got one from Rock auto that fits in the factory spot and lights up.

RockAuto Parts Catalog

rbraden1970 04-15-2010 05:27 PM

The problem with the factory one is that if you are going to wire up aftermarket lights the factory switch doesn't stay in the on position the way it is designed. I had to open it up and work on it a little so that it stay in the on position otherwise it pops back off.

03 RUBI 04-15-2010 05:54 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Here's the pic I think Jp was referring to.

97'wrangler 04-15-2010 06:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sach4u1 (Post 599268)
Thanks guys.

Six Gun Matt,

The switch looks great. One question though - Does it fits in space already provided for switches or I will need to drill hole in the dash? Thanks


I have that same question. I have 3 spaces that are filled with temporary blocks that don't do anything. I don't no how to take them out, or what they are used for.
Are those the spots wear your supposed to mount switches too?
Thanks in advance.

Bobthegod 04-15-2010 06:52 PM

Heck do you even want a switch? Why not just use the relay and cut into the headlights so when they go on the fogs go on also. Who cares if they're on all the time? They're just fogs....no? This is wayyyy cheaper if saving money is the object. Myself I prefer the switch....but you may not. Good luck, I'm sure it'll be fine either way.

otrattw 04-15-2010 07:08 PM

In the 1997 to 2002 TJ's the switches fit into the OEM bezel with little or no filing on the bezel itself. Here is a couple of photos of an old setup I had in my Jeep:

http://www.otrattw.com/csf.jpg

http://www.otrattw.com/css1.jpg

In the 2003 to 2006 TJ's installing the switches requires a lot more work to install. I don't have any photos of the switches installed on a 2003 TJ but I know there are several out there on the various forums.

Regarding that warning. It is only on switches that have the upper light in the switch independently wired and could possibly be attached to the dash light circuit on a TJ. There is enough of a gap between the rocker and the switch body that could expose your eyes to the bare incandescent light at night. Been there, done that. Trust me, they are bright.

97'wrangler 04-15-2010 10:02 PM

What type of Rocker switches are those? They look really nice!

Can any type of Rocker switch fit?

otrattw 04-16-2010 01:13 AM

Those are Carling Tech Contura II rocker switches. Blue Seas and Cole Hersee also market the same rocker switches.

There are a lot of switches available that will work.

sach4u1 04-16-2010 11:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 03 RUBI (Post 599410)
Here's the pic I think Jp was referring to.

This is the one I was looking for. Thank You.

sach4u1 04-16-2010 11:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by otrattw (Post 599834)
Those are Carling Tech Contura II rocker switches. Blue Seas and Cole Hersee also market the same rocker switches.

There are a lot of switches available that will work.

Thank You So Much for the pictures. They look gr8. I am ordering them right now.:punk:

sach4u1 04-16-2010 12:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by otrattw (Post 599485)

Regarding that warning. It is only on switches that have the upper light in the switch independently wired and could possibly be attached to the dash light circuit on a TJ. There is enough of a gap between the rocker and the switch body that could expose your eyes to the bare incandescent light at night. Been there, done that. Trust me, they are bright.

One more question. Are you talking about the LED at the top that can be independently wired or even the bottom light is bright?

Thanks

otrattw 04-16-2010 01:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sach4u1 (Post 600108)
One more question. Are you talking about the LED at the top that can be independently wired or even the bottom light is bright?

Thanks


The lights in these switches are bright but I was referring to the upper light. On the switches that have the lower light independent there isn't a problem. (any switch that has the beginning product code V1D1J66B)

adkjoe 04-16-2010 04:31 PM

so you don't have any switches that fit a 2006 easily then?

otrattw 04-16-2010 10:21 PM

Easily, no. They will require work if you plan to install them into the OEM slots. On the flat area to the right two switches will fit, btw.

bato 04-17-2010 08:16 AM

What kind of work are we talking? Some filing or what?

Zeep 04-17-2010 08:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by otrattw (Post 599485)
In the 1997 to 2002 TJ's the switches fit into the OEM bezel with little or no filing on the bezel itself. Here is a couple of photos of an old setup I had in my Jeep:

http://www.otrattw.com/csf.jpg

http://www.otrattw.com/css1.jpg

In the 2003 to 2006 TJ's installing the switches requires a lot more work to install. I don't have any photos of the switches installed on a 2003 TJ but I know there are several out there on the various forums.

Regarding that warning. It is only on switches that have the upper light in the switch independently wired and could possibly be attached to the dash light circuit on a TJ. There is enough of a gap between the rocker and the switch body that could expose your eyes to the bare incandescent light at night. Been there, done that. Trust me, they are bright.



What do you use the one with the music note for? :confused:

otrattw 04-17-2010 01:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bato (Post 600570)
What kind of work are we talking? Some filing or what?

Filing and some people have cut/trimmed the tabs on the back of the bezel to get the switches to fit closer or tighter against the bezel. I've seen a few write-ups on other forums.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zeep (Post 600576)
What do you use the one with the music note for? :confused:

I had it connected to the amp. It was removed when I changed my setup a while back.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.