Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f202/)
-   -   switched ignition source (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f202/switched-ignition-source-50115.html)

vics07 05-03-2010 08:54 AM

switched ignition source
 
Does anyone know the best place to find a switched ignition lead to tap into on an 07?

Hilldweller 05-03-2010 09:45 AM

Where? What are you doing?
I used the switched power outlet in the cabin for one and a parking light for another.

vics07 05-03-2010 10:41 AM

Im going to upgrade my sound system with an amp and some speakers so im just looking for a switched source for the amp. A buddy of mine said that the 12v outlet on the left should be a switched source and I just wanted to make sure before I started the project.

J.B. 05-03-2010 11:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vics07 (Post 615008)
Im going to upgrade my sound system with an amp and some speakers so im just looking for a switched source for the amp. A buddy of mine said that the 12v outlet on the left should be a switched source and I just wanted to make sure before I started the project.

It is on mine. The right one is continuous.

Hilldweller 05-03-2010 11:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vics07 (Post 615008)
Im going to upgrade my sound system with an amp and some speakers so im just looking for a switched source for the amp. A buddy of mine said that the 12v outlet on the left should be a switched source and I just wanted to make sure before I started the project.

It is.
Mount an auxiliary fuse panel under your glove box and use the left outlet to trip a relay for it; then pull your main power from the battery.

Nice fuse panel
40 amp relay

TDCoffee 05-04-2010 11:48 AM

I actually found a switched line inside the cover on top of the stereo (center) stack. I think the lead that is there is for Nav? Anyway, my amp needed powere plus a switched lead, and I used one of the wire I found there with no problems. I've had the set up for a year and it works great.

woodsballnc 05-04-2010 12:06 PM

You could always tie into the radio lead thats what I've always done.

eg6hatch 05-05-2010 02:04 AM

actually you cant on a 07 and up jeep. Chrysler stopped using a actual voltage wire to turn the radio on and use a data signal...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.