Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   A Few Questions (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/a-few-questions-518.html)

SolLess 10-02-2005 04:57 PM

A Few Questions

Ok, since I'm still new to this whole Jeep thing (Just got out of my rice rockets), I have a few probably easy questions.

First. I have a 2000 Sahara with the 4.0L and 5 speed. I need to get the shifter stalk off to put a bend into it (it's hitting the center counsel). I have the counsel off, and the dust boot off. I see the little rubber cover over four torx head screws/bolts, but didn't want to take them off, as I wanted to check first. If this can be done from above, it would be ideal, as I have no need to drop the trans, nor any of the work related to it. So any help would be greatly appreciated, and pictures of what I need to take off would be even better.

Second, I bought the Jeep with a 4" skyjacker single flex suspension kit on it. I want to get rid of the single flex lower and upper control arms, as I will be driving on the street more than off road, so I don't want all the extra movement going on down there. I called skyjacker, and they gave me part numbers for the front/rear lower control arms, and said that I can use stock uppers. This didn't seem right to me, but I honestly don't know. SO I need to know if I can use stock upper control arms front and rear with a 4" lift. If so, where is a good place to get a set of stock upper control arms. If not, do you guys have any reccomendations of what brand of upper and lower control arms that I should get to change this over?

Thanks for all the help that anyone can supply. The sooner the help the better, as I would like to get the parts on order as soon as possible.

Thanks

Eric
2000 Sahara

4Jeepn 10-03-2005 08:27 AM