Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/)
-   -   Will I make it cross country...and back? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/will-i-make-it-cross-country-and-back-52056.html)

shoch87 06-01-2010 07:06 PM

Will I make it cross country...and back?

I am new to this whole Jeep thing. I bought a 95 YJ this winter after realizing my Camaro wouldn't make it through the New England winter. The Jeep runs great with a whopping 173,000 miles on it.

My question is whether the experts out there (you guys and gals reading this) think my YJ will make it from Connecticut (where I am living now) to California (where my brother is getting married) and back.

I am a teacher which means I get the summers off. I thought it may be fun to take the jeep on a 6,000 mile journey this summer. Let me know if you think it is a good idea, bad idea, crazy idea, stupid idea or the best idea ever (which is what I am thinking right about now).

The problems so far have been:

1. Weld broke on rear trac bar? (whatever holds the axel to the frame keeping it from swaying)

2. Throttle position sensor went bad

3. Wobbles slightly from 62 - 67 but gets better by 70mph

1 and 2 have been repaired.

Let me know what you think.

drivebytruckerz 06-01-2010 07:25 PM

Give yourself a little extra time in case something goes wrong, and add towing and rental car to your car insurance juuuuust in case. Don't want to miss a wedding... But to answer your question.. man if I had an excuse to do that drive I'd do it in a heartbeat. Top down all the way.. Do it dude.. and take a lot of pictures for us.

Barrie 06-01-2010 07:28 PM

I would get #3 fixed no matter the cost. I would also get the cooling system checked over and also the fuel system.

drivebytruckerz 06-01-2010 07:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Barrie in Maine (Post 641155)