Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Fender light upgrades? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/fender-light-upgrades-54962.html)

JeepTech 07-10-2010 10:25 AM

Fender light upgrades?

Hi I am a newbie to this site but not to Jeeps. I just purchased a 98 TJ Sport and I am looking to install JK or CJ front turn signals in my TJ grille. I am trying to find a light housing to replace my factory fender mounted turn signal housings. Does anyone here know of a direct install driving or fog lamp that could be used? Or any pics of modified stock fenders to eliminate the opening for the factory housing? Any suggestions are appreciated I have to believe that somebody has done this upgrade before with factory fenders, all I can find is tube or flattie fenders. Thanks in advance.

Jerry Bransford 07-10-2010 11:16 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I used a JK turn signal enclosure obtained from www.rockauto.com/ for mine. It has the CJ look which I wanted but even better, it accepts the stock TJ bulb enclosure without modification. A 3 1/8" hole saw and you're done. I did this mod while I was installing the MCE flattie fenders so I won't be any help so far as modifying the OE fenders go.

If you want to do this mod, let me know and I'll give you the inside scoop on how to lock them onto the grill without any additional hardware, silicone, etc. which allows their easy removal for bulb replacement.

JeepTech 07-10-2010 04:07 PM

Thanks for the input,I had already read your write up on the flattie fender, looks great. I just contacted Warrior products to see if they can make me stone guards for the front of the fenders without the cutouts for the lights. Ive spent too much time searching online and on the phone trying to locate someone that makes these. I already went ahead and ordered a pair of JK lights. The more I look at the grille on my TJ the more I cant wait to install these.