Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Distributor cap on 2006 Rubicon? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/distributor-cap-on-2006-rubicon-55366.html)

Beasticon 07-14-2010 08:40 PM

Distributor cap on 2006 Rubicon?

:confused:

I had some squeaking noises in the engine and took my Rubicon to the dealership. Guy at first tells me that it's alternator. He orders the part, I bring my Rubicon in (yes, I'm not good at mechanics I can't do it myself) and then they tell me that they were initially wrong - it wasn't the alternator, it's the distributor cap and the belt. They replaced the belt.

I asked him: "Am I okay driving around like this?" He replies: "Oh, no problem, we'll order the part"

Long story short - my Rubicon wouldn't start today. I called the dealership and the guy tells me that there's a shortage of the part, that there's 200 on backorder, and that I'll have to wait. Meanwhile, I had previously asked them to get an aftermarket manufacturer part but of course they never did.

Earlier today I called AutoZone. They told me that there's no distributor cap, that it's just a bunch of wires.... WTF?

Gimme some help guys!

InfernoGirl 07-14-2010 08:42 PM

I think you need to find a new mechanic. I could be wrong, but I don't think there is a distributor cap on a TJ.... At least not the newer ones.. Someone will confirm or deny this soon, I'm sure. Sorry I'm not positive..

AzTJ 07-14-2010 08:42 PM

2001+ Wrangler TJ's have coil-pack rails and not distributors. It's an all electric ignition. The dealership was jacking you around if they said you have a distributor.

AzTJ 07-14-2010 08:45 PM

Were you able to get your Jeep started? Would it start with a jump? It may just be a dead battery as I just replaced mine a couple of weeks ago. They tend to just fizzle out every 4-5 years here in Arizona.

DevilDogDoc 07-14-2010 08:48 PM