Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Spod (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/spod-558817.html)

CanadianJeepGuy 02-25-2014 07:48 PM

Spod
 
Hey everyone...I was looking at starting to add accessories to my 2011 wrangler sport. (Windshield lights ect)..during research of wiring i have read a ton of positive reviews on Spod..should I buy the accessory first...or spend the money on an Spod have that installed and then buy accessories or forget about spod all together...just fishing for some ideas and thoughts on it

mountainneer 02-25-2014 11:44 PM

sPod is definitely worth the cost. One of the best mods. Makes connecting all your accessories super easy.

Knuckles65 02-26-2014 08:28 AM

Not to mention, it's a completely stand alone system so there's no way any of your aftermarket electronics can interfere with the "wonderful" CANbus system.

I did my sPod first and as mentioned, it makes adding electronic accessories so much easier.

Smokinjoe 02-26-2014 09:41 AM

Get SPOD first !! Whee you save time and $$ is quick and ez install of accessories .

calvarycoffee 02-26-2014 12:08 PM

1 Attachment(s)
agreed. sPOD is worth the $. Easy DIY install. Do that first.

Attachment 810513

I still have to hook up my rock lights; and an air compressor is a future mod. But, I see the switches everyday and get excited to get those done in the spring.

I currently have 50 lightbar and reverse spots hooked in.

Nuke83 02-26-2014 12:26 PM

You need to make the decision of whether you're going to get an sPod or not. If so, budget to get it before or with your first accessory. If not, press on.

If you get your accessories, install and wire them, then decide to circle back and add the sPod, you've effectively killed half the reason for having one. In the meantime, you've spent time and money adding toggle switches, wiring relays and fuses throughout your Jeep. If you come back after the fact and add an sPod, you're doubling your effort as you'll now need to reroute your wiring from each accessory to the sPod.

Also, you can just as effectively isolate all your accessories from the CANbus without the sPod. Simply direct wire your relays to your battery. This is what the sPod does, so it doesn't offer any significant, unique benefit there. It does it in a much cleaner method and also ensures that your wiring is done correctly with inline fuses and relays, but even with modest wiring knowledge you can essentially replicate the same result wiring your own.

It's a great accessory and serves its purpose well. For me, it's about $100-$150 more than I'm willing to pay. If I could get it at $300, I'd be pleased. I don't think it's overpriced when you factor in the cost of switches, relays, wiring, fuses, switch pod, and associated hardware. To wire in 5 of those on your own, you're looking at $35-40 per accessory if you go with quality products, so from a sheer cost perspective, factoring in their margin, etc., I don't think they're wildly overpriced. I just struggle with that kind of outlay before I've purchased the first accessory that it would push which is likely half or so the cost of the sPod. You're paying for convenience, the guarantee of safe and correct wiring and pre-wiring your switches. Personally, I've already installed the Rugged Ridge pillar switch pod, pre-wired all my switches, so all I need to do is add a relay and inline fuse when I install an accessory.

WACCC 02-26-2014 02:50 PM

+1. I love the SPOD concept, but, the cost is a little too high for me.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Nuke83 (Post 8590369)
You need to make the decision of whether you're going to get an sPod or not. If so, budget to get it before or with your first accessory. If not, press on.

If you get your accessories, install and wire them, then decide to circle back and add the sPod, you've effectively killed half the reason for having one. In the meantime, you've spent time and money adding toggle switches, wiring relays and fuses throughout your Jeep. If you come back after the fact and add an sPod, you're doubling your effort as you'll now need to reroute your wiring from each accessory to the sPod.

Also, you can just as effectively isolate all your accessories from the CANbus without the sPod. Simply direct wire your relays to your battery. This is what the sPod does, so it doesn't offer any significant, unique benefit there. It does it in a much cleaner method and also ensures that your wiring is done correctly with inline fuses and relays, but even with modest wiring knowledge you can essentially replicate the same result wiring your own.

It's a great accessory and serves its purpose well. For me, it's about $100-$150 more than I'm willing to pay. If I could get it at $300, I'd be pleased. I don't think it's overpriced when you factor in the cost of switches, relays, wiring, fuses, switch pod, and associated hardware. To wire in 5 of those on your own, you're looking at $35-40 per accessory if you go with quality products, so from a sheer cost perspective, factoring in their margin, etc., I don't think they're wildly overpriced. I just struggle with that kind of outlay before I've purchased the first accessory that it would push which is likely half or so the cost of the sPod. You're paying for convenience, the guarantee of safe and correct wiring and pre-wiring your switches. Personally, I've already installed the Rugged Ridge pillar switch pod, pre-wired all my switches, so all I need to do is add a relay and inline fuse when I install an accessory.


CanadianJeepGuy 02-26-2014 05:29 PM

Thanks for the help guys. ..im gonna get one first...it is a little expensive but aww well you only live once..and it sounds alot easier and cleaner looking.Has anyone installed wired hth with flat panel switches ....that looks pretty cool

DNasty777 02-26-2014 05:35 PM

I really like the idea of the spod but I'm not a fan of an overhead switch panel when there is already one on the bottom of the dash with a ton of blanks from the factory. If they were to release a spod with an option of a direct fit switch panel where the stock one is I'd buy it tomorrow, even if it was double the price.

Ricks Rubicon 02-26-2014 08:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by calvarycoffee (Post 8589969)
agreed. sPOD is worth the $. Easy DIY install. Do that first.

Attachment 810513

I still have to hook up my rock lights; and an air compressor is a future mod. But, I see the switches everyday and get excited to get those done in the spring.

I currently have 50 lightbar and reverse spots hooked in.

What gauge is that you have there?

AndrewsJeep 02-26-2014 09:11 PM

WACCC
Factor in the cost of the shop fees when a noobie cuts into a hot circuit and wires those accessories only to fry a circuit?
The S-Pod should come stock on the newer JK due the advantage it offers! Not to mention how well it performs and quality of its components...PS We spent 35-45 grand for these rigs, whats another $400 to do the job right from the start?! My .2c

adamjgb 02-26-2014 10:18 PM

I agree with Andrew's comment. I spent so much for my Jeep. What's another $450 for an Spod to ensure my electrical system is protected?

JKJeepit 02-26-2014 11:45 PM

I've been looking at the sPOD also... but so far haven't bought it..
I have added three items to my Jeep..
a Bully Dog tuner
and two sets of off road lights.. PIAA and some D2's

there is no reason you have to spice into circuits to add these items..
used an add a fuse circuit from the auto store...
this also gives you the option of adding into a circuit that requires the key to be ON. saving the battery in case you leave lights on.
also the lights, most lights, come with the relay and everything you need to wire it... you will probably need to extend wires into the cab, but that isn't an issue...
I temporarily have installed the switches that came with the lights..

I am leaning on something with the A-pillar area...

trailless 02-27-2014 12:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DNasty777 (Post 8598569)
I really like the idea of the spod but I'm not a fan of an overhead switch panel when there is already one on the bottom of the dash with a ton of blanks from the factory. If they were to release a spod with an option of a direct fit switch panel where the stock one is I'd buy it tomorrow, even if it was double the price.

I only have one blank in my Jeep.

DNasty777 02-27-2014 03:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trailless (Post 8611921)
I only have one blank in my Jeep.

I have quite a few, only buttons are TC and four ways.

DaK 02-27-2014 07:46 AM

Yeah, wish I bought my sPod first. Now I gotta pull the winch to re-route some wires to our bumper lights.

calvarycoffee 02-27-2014 12:21 PM

My gauge is Aeroforce Interceptor. Shows live data (and other goodies) via OBDII port.

JeepHerz 02-27-2014 12:52 PM

If you plan to add even a couple of accessories to the Jeep get an SPOD- its great. That said- upgrade your switches if you're using it for lights. Why? Because the standard switches light up only when they're "on". Try finding your off-road light switch (1 of 6) in the dark. I have 3 lights on the right bank (bumper lights, D2s, LEDs in my bed)- finding which one I want in the dark is a PITA.
I find it ridiculous that SPOD doesn't offer better options for the switches at $400+. Forking over more money for dual-lit Contura switches irks me. However the functionality makes it all well worth the money.

Argent 02-27-2014 01:18 PM

They offer it with dual lit switches - for $500


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.