Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/)
-   -   getting wheel spacers (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/getting-wheel-spacers-58514.html)

YJjeep 08-17-2010 06:13 PM

getting wheel spacers

What all needs to be done to the wheels lug nuts & etc. Once you put the wheel spacers on.
Thanks for any help.

Cons_Table 08-17-2010 06:14 PM

I dont know how set on spacers you are, but you may look into a full set of steelies. It seems that most of the time wheel spacers will cost you as much as a new set of steelies with less backspacing. Just a thought.

YJjeep 08-17-2010 06:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cons_Table
I dont know how set on spacers you are, but you may look into a full set of steelies. It seems that most of the time wheel spacers will cost you as much as a new set of steelies with less backspacing. Just a thought.

Okay, im new at modifying vehicles, what is that & whats the difference between the two?

sallysue 08-17-2010 06:21 PM

same here

Cons_Table 08-17-2010 06:25 PM

Wheel spacers go behind your wheels to make them stick out farther. If you buy wheels with less backspacing they will stick out farther without the need for the spacers. What are you wanting spacers for? Larger tires?

Jeepersbatman 08-17-2010 06:29 PM

I have 1 1/4 spacers on my tj, due to ordering wheels before my lift, they work fine. However if you can afford to get a new set of rims with less backspacing. That will give you more clearance from your wheel rubbing on the inside. Also if your going to lift it do that before ordering wheels!!! If you just barely rub you may be able to adjust the stop bolts that are located on the front of your spindles behind the trac bar. Only for minor adjustment, and will slightly cut down on your tight turns. Hope this helps a little

sallysue 08-17-2010 06:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeepersbatman (Post 728899)