Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/)
-   -   YJ transmission leak. (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/yj-transmission-leak-58608.html)

Meatwad 08-18-2010 12:29 PM

YJ transmission leak.

Like the title says, my yj has a transmission leak. It's an ax5 trans, fluid seems to be dark brown, very thick and smells nothing like motor oil. Gear oil..... It's leaking everywhere. It's on the skid, trans and bellhousing. I have no clue where it's coming from. My initial thought was input shaft seal on the trans was bad. Still questionable. I put a quart and a half in it 2 weeks ago. It seems to be leaking regardless if I'm parked on an incline, decline or level surface. Can someone please tell me where to start looking. BTW I live in a apartment, so me just taking the thing completely apart is out of the question. That and I'm fairly new to the jeep scene and don't know any wheelers around here.

tracker975 08-19-2010 10:03 AM

I have the same problem...but an autocrap...wife can't drive a stick....so far i have drained all the fluids....took the shafts out...my book is crap..it tells me to remove the trans and T/C as a unit..there are 6 bolts that go from the trans to the case that have to come off..My next step is securing the T/C on some stands...removing the skidplate/mounts and the linkages and whatever connectors.....That should expose the trannie output shaft...don't know if it is the same or not for yours...my wrenchin' skills are just above a chimps so hopefully someone with the real knowlegde can help you better...I hope this helps you some...it is a messy job lol..the landlord my not appreciate the color change of his driveway..my wife sure didn't..ooopppssss......

Meatwad 08-19-2010 10:50 AM