Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f202/)
-   -   TPMS issue moving from tire to tire (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f202/tpms-issue-moving-from-tire-to-tire-671841.html)

MnJK 04-28-2014 09:12 PM

TPMS issue moving from tire to tire
 
Read through a number of TPMS threads but haven't come across this issue.

2014 Jeep JK, 6,700 miles, 33" Duratrac's, stock TPMS

About 3-4 weeks ago, rotated the tires (rotated in the spare). About 2 days later, the driver/front TPMS stopped reading for a day, then came back on-line but read 10 lbs low (double checked pressure in all tires).

Three days later, it started reading correctly and immediately the passenger/front TPMS did the same thing. Sometimes it would not read any pressure, then it would read 10 lbs low, then would go out again, then read normally. Gave it some time to see if it would self-correct but never did. Checked on-line and via dealer to see if there was some type of re-set switch (there is not) but did find some who recommended disconnecting the battery for about 10 min (tried, didn't help).

Brought it to the dealer today, they confirmed the issue and replaced the passenger/front sensor. About 15 minutes after leaving, the problem now moved to the passenger/rear tire. Since the issue is going from wheel to wheel, I'm thinking the issue is not with the tire sensor but with the computer that is receiving the sensor signals.

Again, haven't found anything posted on this particular variant of TPMS issues so am looking to see if anyone has had this problem and, if so, if it was a central issue or if it is just a bad batch of tire sensors.

Thanks!

freedomrider 04-28-2014 10:01 PM

I have been having this same issue over the course of the last year and it just continues to bounce around from wheel to wheel

itscakes 04-29-2014 06:15 AM

Each tpms is registered to a certain tire. When you rotate your tires you have to reprogram the tpms to that axel. I would hope the dealership properly registered each tpms accordingly and not just the one they replaced.

DWDK 04-29-2014 06:25 AM

Itscakes is correct, but having worked at a GM dealership I can contest that many techs do not reset the TPMS, purely out of laziness. So that most likely is your guys problems.

WaltA 04-29-2014 06:29 AM

From my experience, the TPMS will self-adjust (self-register, self-learn) to the change in location of the sensors on its own. I think officially it can take up to 10 miles of driving, but for me, it took only about 3 or 4 miles.

If you're looking at the tire pressure readings on the EVIC, it will continue to display the "old" readings, and then suddenly, they will swap around to the correct, new, readings.

dwtgolden 04-29-2014 06:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by itscakes (Post 10237993)
Each tpms is registered to a certain tire. When you rotate your tires you have to reprogram the tpms to that axel. I would hope the dealership properly registered each tpms accordingly and not just the one they replaced.

Negative. Unlike other TPMS systems that do require the computer to "learn" the location of each sensor through you letting air out of each tire and the re-inflating or some other procedure, the Jeep's system is self learning. When you rotate the tires, the computer recognizes which tires are in which locations all on its own.

MnJK 04-29-2014 06:53 PM

I researched whether or not the TPMS needed to be reset and found the same as a couple folks above that the system is self-learning. Drove about 20 miles and no resolution on rear passenger that acted up after the front passenger was fixed. Will give it some time and see what happens. Not in a big hurry to go back. I suspect it is something central rather than the sensors themselves since the problem is moving from tire to tire.

RoadiJeff 04-29-2014 10:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by itscakes (Post 10237993)
Each tpms is registered to a certain tire. When you rotate your tires you have to reprogram the tpms to that axel.

Not according to the owner's manual. Just drive up to 20 minutes for the computer to learn the new location.

Ruski 04-29-2014 11:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WaltA (Post 10238145)
From my experience, the TPMS will self-adjust (self-register, self-learn) to the change in location of the sensors on its own. I think officially it can take up to 10 miles of driving, but for me, it took only about 3 or 4 miles. If you're looking at the tire pressure readings on the EVIC, it will continue to display the "old" readings, and then suddenly, they will swap around to the correct, new, readings.

Yeap. That is what mine did.

itscakes 04-30-2014 06:16 AM

My bad for the false info guys. Me I'll have to read up on that. Glad you got it fixed

nwbronco 04-30-2014 08:53 AM

Could be bad sensors. Not that often though.

DWDK 05-01-2014 03:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by itscakes (Post 10263634)
My bad for the false info guys. Me I'll have to read up on that. Glad you got it fixed

Lol I had your back :p. I have never worked with Chrysler TPMS just GM and they need to be reset manually, so had assumed the same here.

itscakes 05-02-2014 09:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DWDK (Post 10304450)
Lol I had your back :p. I have never worked with Chrysler TPMS just GM and they need to be reset manually, so had assumed the same here.

Yea same here work for Nissan even tho Nissan will re learn auto you still have to register the sensor to the computer. Learn something everyday

Themyth 05-04-2014 12:09 PM

I put 35s on my 2014 had the same issue at first but has seem to subsided

MnJK 05-04-2014 09:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Themyth (Post 10369577)
I put 35s on my 2014 had the same issue at first but has seem to subsided

Hoping that will happen. How long did it take yours to settle down?

Themyth 05-05-2014 07:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MnJK (Post 10381666)
Hoping that will happen. How long did it take yours to settle down?

Put them on last Monday, I put enough air in them for the light to go away. It would come and go for about a week but is gone now. And air sensors did adjust to where they are I did notice. I have a 2014..

MnJK 05-06-2014 11:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Themyth (Post 10387490)
Put them on last Monday, I put enough air in them for the light to go away. It would come and go for about a week but is gone now. And air sensors did adjust to where they are I did notice. I have a 2014..

Sounds like you had better luck! I held out about 3 weeks the first time around without the sensor working consistently. Has been a week now with the next one that went out and still not working.

Themyth 05-07-2014 06:28 AM

Ya, this sounds like a hit or miss situation

Revyjku08 05-07-2014 09:27 AM

get a Programmer...deactivate or set tire pressure below 25 PSI and eliminate the stupid (_!_) light!

Ruski 05-20-2014 10:24 PM

Just did a five tire rotation and my passenger side front censor wasnt working, drove for about 50 plus miles still not working. I have 33 inch tires and running an AEV Procal to calibrate for proper tire size and lower TPMS threshold. I reprogrammed the jeep back to stock settings and after about 2 miles the censor reset itself and works fine. So I put the Procal calibration and the threshold back on and after about 5 miles my driver side rear censor goes out lol. Programmed it back, will see what happens tomorrow. Hopefully by the next rotation cycle all of the censors will settle down so I could go through this crap again lol. Probably just gonna disable the TPMS cause it's kinda annoying.

RoadiJeff 05-22-2014 10:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ruski (Post 10772786)
I reprogrammed the jeep back to stock settings and after about 2 miles the censor reset itself and works fine.

Censor??? Was your Jeep cursing or something? :rofl:

Sorry, it's past my bedtime.

Ruski 05-22-2014 10:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RoadiJeff (Post 10823530)
Censor??? Was your Jeep cursing or something? :rofl: Sorry, it's past my bedtime.

lol No, but the driver was


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.