Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   2007 and Newer: Speedometer Calibration Information (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/2007-and-newer-speedometer-calibration-information-69982.html)

JackdUp 11-24-2010 08:14 AM

2007 and Newer: Speedometer Calibration Information
 
Took the 2007 in to where I purchased the Jeep and set up an appointment to view the tire sizes currently programmed in vs what I actually have on the vehicle. As many of us know, if you change out stock size wheels and tires and replace with larger wheels and/or oversized tires, the ECU/CPU must be reprogrammed to show the correct wheel/tire sizes, or your speedometer and true mph and mileage will be off.

After speaking with the lead service manager who set up my appointment, he said its easy, depending on the year and then asked what year it was. I responded with 2007. He then followed with "It all depends on the sizes...."

He went on to explain that their abilities to input/change the data for 2007 and newer was severely limited and they may not be able to input the exact sizes because of that new limitation. He said there may be 5 or less options to choose from, but he couldnt tell until he got the Jeep and plugged it in.

Has anyone else heard of this? Is it a new safety or performance limitation imposed to prevent/discourage oversized tires beyond what is deemed appropriate to the tolerances of driveline/suspension components of the Jeeps 2007 and newer?

He said he may get it closer, but for exact ratios, I would need a programmer.

Can anyone chime in on this whether it is fact or not and why their abilities to adjust freely may have been limited?

daggo66 11-24-2010 08:23 AM

It's been said that they can't/won't program higher than a 33" tire. Why not just buy a programmer and do it yourself?

aelwero 11-24-2010 08:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by daggo66 (Post 891893)
It's been said that they can't/won't program higher than a 33" tire. Why not just buy a programmer and do it yourself?


ROFL... better question- how is it that I have access to a more capable programmer than a MOPAR shop... seems kinda silly on their part...

JackdUp 11-24-2010 08:30 AM

Daggo, they will reprogram for the oversized tires since I bought it like that at their shop. If they can't, then yes..... I will most likely invest into a programmer.

JackdUp 11-24-2010 08:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aelwero (Post 891900)
ROFL... better question- how is it that I have access to a more capable programmer than a MOPAR shop... seems kinda silly on their part...

Imagine that, huh? The inability to have full control over reprogramming the CPU/ECU with a piece of equipment specifically designed for and by Chrysler/Jeep.

JIMBOX 11-24-2010 09:41 AM

;) Heh Heh, thats because they have to reprogram the JK CPU, inaccordance with CHRYSLER EDICT-and I think the majority of dealers will stop at the biggest tire the JK comes with (32") !!


Quote:

Originally Posted by JackdUp (Post 891910)
Imagine that, huh? The inability to have full control over reprogramming the CPU/ECU with a piece of equipment specifically designed for and by Chrysler/Jeep.

You as the owner, can program the Indy 500 lap time mod, if you want, cause it's yours-

Then your warranty is BYEBYE

Just get the AEV Procal Module, it'll fix A LOT !

:rofl::rofl: JIMBO


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.