Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   General Jeep Discussion (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/)
-   -   Wrangler a good family choice? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/wrangler-a-good-family-choice-70837.html)

Derrin33 12-02-2010 12:47 AM

Wrangler a good family choice?

I'm going to have about $16,000 to spend. My wife is having our first child in March. The Jeep would be my daily driver and would rarely have the car seat in it. I work as a Corrections Officer and travel around 90 miles round trip daily. My only "musts" are less than 50,000 miles and must have a hard top. I can't afford one later on, a softop is much more managable. Manual or auto, I don't care...Manual prefered. Is a Wrangler going to meet these needs? I'm not going to be boonin, I do hunt and OK has seen alot of snow the last 3 years. Anyone have a carseat in their Wrangler? Is $16,000 going to be enough? Thanks guys. This site really is one of the better forums I've ever seen.

friedfish 12-02-2010 03:57 AM

I spent just over $16,000 on my 05 LJ. (Wrangler unlimited) its got a hard top and a automatic. It only has 57,xxx miles when I bought it.

I could see haveing a car seat in it would be a PITA. Being the unlimited its streched 15 inches over a standard wrangler. Lots of room for doing things. My TJ friends are pissed at all the room I have. When your child gets older and into a booster seat there gonna enjoy climbing around dads truck and rideing around. I say go for it. I would try to find a unlimited for the room and ride comfort with the longer wheelbase.

Bruck 12-02-2010 04:01 AM

I have 2 booster seats in the Jeep and the kids absolutely love it. Back when my first son was born and he was in the reverse seat I had a 99 TJ and I remember that being a bit of a pain. I actually sold it and bought a Pathfinder. Couldn't take not having a Jeep and came back to it a few years later though! How old are your kids?

InfernoGirl 12-02-2010 07:47 AM