Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Stock fog lights (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/stock-fog-lights-7117.html)

dwdrums801 04-06-2007 12:05 AM

Stock fog lights
 
Ok so I have bein looking at fog lights for awhile and couldent afford to get any so my uncle suprised me with the mopar stock ones. I got them all mounted and ran the wires but Im stuck on one part, I have everything on up untill the part where it sais I have to splice the 3 wires coming from the switch into the other wires to make it either go on with the high beams or the reg. lights ....so my question is ....is there any other way to run these wires so that I can switch them on when ever I want no matter what other lights are on?

thanks, Billy

Rawkon 04-06-2007 12:30 AM

Yes, dont splice and run them on a stand alone switch.

easy as that.

gonna need a fuse power source, good grounds, Relay, and a switch.

dwdrums801 04-06-2007 12:35 AM

Theres no way to use the stock switch?

I like how it matches the other switches

Rawkon 04-06-2007 12:41 AM

im sure you can, a switch is a switch

erickpl 04-06-2007 07:34 AM

dwdrum, look at my writeup on installing your own wiring. I actually did that to power some stock fogs as well and did not want to be hampered by the high beam restriction.

I used a Carling switch (like what ARB uses), but the same writeup would work for the stock switch, you just need to know which wires and posts do what for the stock switch.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...al/fogdiag.jpg

dwdrums801 04-06-2007 12:34 PM

Ok I have 3 wires comming from the switch

a red one that sais it "feeds current to the micro relay to open the fog lamp relay with the high beams on" "this wire will be at battery voltage with high beams on"

a black one that sais "provides the fog lamp switch the current to activate the fog lamp underhood relay with the park lamps and low beams on." "this wire will be at battery voltage when the park lamps or head lamps are on"

and an orange wire that "is the illumintion feed to the fog lamp switch. and will have current with the park and headlamps on. it will also dim and brighten with the dash lamps"


is there any way to splice these wires so that I can trick the switch into thinking the park/low beams are on?

erickpl 04-06-2007 01:02 PM

I'd just run new wiring and not worry about splices. Splices = weak points.

Mine didn't have a harness with it (97 SE), so I didn't have to even think about it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.