Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/)
-   -   Gonna tackle a lift install?!! (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/gonna-tackle-a-lift-install-72241.html)

steves92 12-15-2010 01:53 AM

Gonna tackle a lift install?!!

Just wondering HOW difficult this could possibly be? I have read all the forums about lift kits and was wondering if somebody with mechanical ability can install a lift kit-I've been around tools and am a mechanical assember/pipefitter by trade....anything I should really worry about? Not really into paying sombody to do this.:wavey:

bobjenkins 12-15-2010 01:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by steves92
Just wondering HOW difficult this could possibly be? I have read all the forums about lift kits and was wondering if somebody with mechanical ability can install a lift kit-I've been around tools and am a mechanical assember/pipefitter by trade....anything I should really worry about? Not really into paying sombody to do this.:wavey:

Depends on the kit but I don't think the smaller less involved kits would be too hard too install

steves92 12-15-2010 02:12 AM

Thats what I wanted to hear...thanks for the reinforcement...probably the Rough Country budget lift-4"

bobjenkins 12-15-2010 02:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by steves92
Thats what I wanted to hear...thanks for the reinforcement...probably the Rough Country budget lift-4"

hardest part is probably compressing the springs, and you just need the right tools

Lawngnome 12-15-2010 02:29 AM

I'm going to be in the same position this spring so I'm also curious. I have heard mixed reviews about RC. Personally I'm torn between Zone and Skyjacker economy both 4".

MikeMTJ 12-15-2010 02:59 AM

I guess I'll give you my experience with the 4" RC lift.