Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/)
-   -   Snapped Ring and Pinion Fair Cost?? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/snapped-ring-and-pinion-fair-cost-72348.html)

kilz42 12-16-2010 08:23 AM

Snapped Ring and Pinion Fair Cost??

Hey guys and gals,

Whats a fair price for a mechanic to change the front ring and pinion? He will have to install a new master bearing kit in addition to the ring and pinion. I would do it myself...but I'm not experienced enough and from what I understand it can be a very tricky business. :9lame: I also needed my axle ujoints and my drive shaft ujoints replaced. I bought the parts and he said he could do the labor for $220 with me helping him. Does that sound pretty fair?

Thanks in advance :)

Mr. Sinister 12-16-2010 08:32 AM

sounds a little steep to me if you're getting your hands dirty. i had my entire rear end rebuilt from the bottom up in my 55 for $250 (not including parts). the guy that did it is a friend though.
i've had gear installs done on other vehicles for $100. ujoints are fairly easy to replace.

bOATSUN 12-16-2010 09:52 AM

Cost is what you can aford. Use this as a learning lesson so you can help another Jeeper in the future

Ibuildembig 12-16-2010 09:55 AM

I pro shop will get between 200-300 depending. A front axle is alot more in depth than a rearend.

kilz42 12-16-2010 12:11 PM