Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/)
-   -   New Guy - lift questions (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/new-guy-lift-questions-730.html)

racer-xerols 12-05-2005 10:42 AM

New Guy - lift questions
 
Hi all, just got a 92 YJ, 4.0 / 5speed (AX15?), runs great with no rust, but bone stock. I want to put a small lift on it for some bigger tires and want to stay under the "replace the driveshaft/pitman arm/transfer drop" limit. For now, anyway (wallet still tickles a bit from buying the thing on impulse!). I'm thinking about a 2" shackle lift for now - I'm sure I'll go springs/shocks and all the other stuff later, but right now it needs tires and I'd hate to put stockers on it. I figure one set of tires from now I'll have the money and inclination to make it even taller (to "do it right", as it were...).

Anyway, with the 2" shackle kit, will I have any vibration or U-joint problems? Should I drop the transfer case to be safe? Brake lines OK? Pitman? I'm hoping to just install the shackles, align the front end and go get some decent 31-33" tires, depending on clearances.

Any info for the newbie is appreciated, thanks!!
joe
Frederick MD
...waiting for the snow to start this afternoon!! :)

naviathan 12-05-2005 11:17 AM

2" should be fine for a set 31". You shouldn't have to change anything, but you may have to relocate your brake line clips so the lines won't be stressed.

racer-xerols 12-05-2005 11:34 AM

Awesome, thanks for the info. That reminds me - on my 2.2 cars, the speedo drive is an interchangable color-coded gear based on tire size. Is there a gear I should change to if I install 31s, just to keep things accurate? Or is it a different setup on the YJ and I'm SOL as far as accuracy goes?
joe

Jeepcrazy 12-05-2005 11:44 AM

I have a 2 " shackle lift on atm and have had no problems on or off road.

Well, I take that back. They make great plows everytime I have to climb a bank. The 31's will rub as well during flexing. I dropped down to 30's and they fit and flex well.

1BLKJP 12-05-2005 02:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by racer-xerols
Awesome, thanks for the info. That reminds me - on my 2.2 cars, the speedo drive is an interchangable color-coded gear based on tire size. Is there a gear I should change to if I install 31s, just to keep things accurate? Or is it a different setup on the YJ and I'm SOL as far as accuracy goes?
joe

No, the same principle exists in the NP231 transfer case. You can search the web for tooth count charts based on gearing and tire size.

As far as your lift goes I think the brake lines are all you might have to mess with. You might however just think of doing like your shackle lift and adding in a 1" body lift and putting some 32's in there.

racer-xerols 12-07-2005 05:40 PM

Well, had a dealer buddy of mine run the VIN to see what's on the truck from the factory. Funny how they reassign codes to new items as the years go by - AJG Leather Interior Group, LOL! Anyway, looks like I have 3.07 gears in the Danas...I'll probably NEVER use fifth with the 31s! :)

naviathan 12-12-2005 09:16 AM

I just put a 4" lift on mine. Yes went throught the pitman arm, transfer drop kit, and brake line relocation, p.i.t.a. But even with 4" inches the stock sized tires don't look bad. I'm going to just run these until tax season and get a good set of 32 MT's. At two inches though I don't believe the brake line relocation is necessary. The brake line extensions only give you about an inch more play then the stock location which was plenty for four inches. Suggestion before you start changing out shackles. You will have to drop your fuel tank to get the rear shackles off. The bolts go from the inside out and are too long to remove without hitting the tank. Fortunately with the spring lift I only had to swing the outter shackle plate to pull and replace the spring. Good Luck!

racer-xerols 12-12-2005 09:57 AM

Thanks for the tip on the rear bolts...but that's what new bolts and a grinder with a cutoff wheel are for, LOL! I'll just cut the heads off the bolts and pull 'em out by the nut. I don't do gas tanks unless it's time for a pump/sending unit combo :p And, I'll make sure to reinstall them nuts-in for future spending...er, upgrades.

naviathan 12-12-2005 09:59 AM

Awesome, that's a lot easier I'm sure.

daddyjeep 12-13-2005 08:10 PM

I used the sawzall on mine. You can cut right through the bushing, it was probably easier than the grinder.

racer-xerols 12-15-2005 06:45 AM

Well, I confess... I did have to lower and fudge the tank a little bit, but far from dropping it. Just wanted to keep the heads of the bolts from punching through. Once the battery recharges in the digicam I'll post a pic of my lil' ol' beater for all to laugh at...er, see ;) Much like another thread, it doesn't look like 2" to me, but it is definitely higher as evidenced by the higher swing required to get a leg into the door now. Now...for tires. Esp. since we're supposed to get 2" of snow and ice today. Ick. Love snow, can do without icing...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.