Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Delaware Jeep Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f95/)
-   -   No power from radio wires (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f95/no-power-from-radio-wires-74196.html)

jolly 01-01-2011 09:59 PM

No power from radio wires
 
Okay, here's the problem. Had an aftermarket radio in jeep. It was stolen:mad:. Bought new radio:) However, I get no power from the wires where radio needs to be. Checked fuses on radio, but can't find why there is no power!:banghead: Any suggestions of why?

bc3_Jeep 01-02-2011 12:14 AM

Simple answers sometimes best.........maybe connected to a power source that is only active with key on?????

jolly 01-02-2011 01:37 AM

tired that. (power source with the key on):deadhorse: Everything else comes on but no power from the wires.

Benjy 01-02-2011 08:03 PM

I'm new to Jeeps, but I've installed many a stereo but I've been fortunate not to have ever had one stolen. When a stereo is yanked out, I'd image quite a bit of damage could be done to the wire.

If the existing wires are damaged, you should be able to rewire it all yourself with instructions from the new stereo. Not my favorite way to install a stereo. Most stereos need one low amperage constant power feed (could be direct to battery or any always-on wire) to keep the memory. A switched power feed would need a few more amps to drive the stereo. Next would be the ground and then the speaker wires which could be the most difficult to figure out. I'd try and track down a wiring diagram to figure out the speaker wires online or from a dealer.

Good luck!

jolly 01-04-2011 12:12 AM

Thanks for the advice. Yeah it sucks having a radio stolen. I should be able to install teh new one with your advice.:punk:

Se7endust1 01-04-2011 11:37 AM

Did you try testing the wires with a multimeter? And which wires are you testing anyway....on the aftermarket wire harness or the stock wiring harness?

jolly 01-08-2011 08:42 PM

Well. I got the radio working. it was a fuse. how slow am i?

Benjy 01-09-2011 02:27 PM

Hey, it's working right? That's great to hear. I did the same thing with an amplifier once, I even shipped it back to the factory who charged $50 to replace the fuse & ship it back. Chalk it up to a good learning experience and enjoy having tunes again to cut out the road noise.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.