Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Update - My Hardtop Damage (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/update-my-hardtop-damage-746914.html)

vertical horizons 06-11-2014 06:33 PM

These 2 pictures show the damage to my hardtop. (We dropped it this weekend, trying to put it back onto my jeep. I am not familiar with fiberglass. Is this repairable? Will the damage begin to spread as I drive, or is this the extent of the damage? So far, no leaks when it rains.

Indy49 06-12-2014 06:08 PM

I'm no expert on fiberglass, but from my experience, even broken fiberglass is pretty strong. It doesn't tear very easily. You should be ok unless both window hinges are broken, then I would worry about the back window falling off., (your picture shows the same hinge in both)

vertical horizons 06-12-2014 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indy49 (Post 11284114)
... your picture shows the same hinge in both)

I know. On one of them, I showed a close-up. The other hinge has no damage at all.

Kota7x 06-12-2014 09:10 PM

I think you will be fine. I backed my Dads Jeep into the back of the garage with the HT window open and did some damage like that. Put some bondo over it, and it hasnt given trouble for 3 years.

vertical horizons 06-12-2014 09:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kota7x (Post 11288466)
... Put some bondo over it, and it hasnt given trouble for 3 years.

The same sort of bondo that they use on cars?

krisbman 06-12-2014 10:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vertical horizons (Post 11288810)
The same sort of bondo that they use on cars?