Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Is it difficult to change o2 sensor? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/is-it-difficult-to-change-o2-sensor-79712.html)

Holding7RightNow 02-10-2011 04:14 PM

Is it difficult to change o2 sensor?

hey guys i've never done this before, but i think that i need to. i have an error code reading P2096, Downstream fuel system 1/2 lean. really don't know what else could be causing it. i've read that there are a few o2 sensors, how do i know which one?

Hardermods 02-10-2011 04:22 PM

02 sensor arent to hard to change. The downstream one is the sensor after the cat converter.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g3...ensorJeeps.gif

When reading a code like you listed for the 02 sensors, P2096, Downstream fuel system 1/2 lean the 1/2 tells which one it is, 1 being bank 1 the 2 being the 2nd sensor down the line. 4.0 Jeeps only have 1 bank. if you had a v6 or v8 you run into multiple sensors (usually 4) cause you have bank 1 and bank 2

dan188 02-10-2011 04:47 PM

like said above, 02's are not bad at all... Napa, pep boys, etc sell an 02 sensor socket that is really helpful. It has a cut out of the socket so the wire from the 02 sensor doesn't get in the way. I did both of my 02's in about 30 minutes.

jeepjones 02-10-2011 05:40 PM

Before you put the new ones in apply a small amount of High Temp anti seize on the threads, that way they'll come out a lot easier the next time you have to change them.

Holding7RightNow 02-10-2011 07:11 PM

that diagram is great! thanks for the tips, guys. i plan on changing it saturday, so i'll let you know if i'm successful.

jgorm 02-10-2011 07:29 PM

You can cut the wire off the old one so you can put a socket on it without buying the 02socket. sometimes they can be VERY tight! On the real tight ones, that is what i do because the o2 socket starts to bend!

gmaat87 02-11-2011 06:07 AM