Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Can't decide 275/70/17 or 285/70/17 (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/cant-decide-275-70-17-or-285-70-17-a-81669.html)

JWSU08 02-23-2011 01:08 PM

Can't decide 275/70/17 or 285/70/17
 
Need help deciding between a BFG AT 275/70/17 or a Goodyear Duratrac 285/70/17. These will be going on a 08 stock 4 door sahara auto with the 17" moab wheels. Which will be best with the stock set up with no mods. I want to stock as well. Thanks for the help

rics1997 02-23-2011 02:08 PM

Both are great choices. I love my 285's and the very slight rub didn't bother me really but I did end up getting wheel spacers in the end and even though 275's will not rub and won't need wheel spacers in the end a new wheel with better backspacing or wheel spacers gives you more choices and looks great because your tires don't hide as much under the fender

twalton 02-23-2011 02:16 PM

2 Attachment(s)
285/70/17 MT BAJA ATZ on stock 17" wheels

repoman100 02-23-2011 02:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twalton (Post 1076646)
285/70/17 MT BAJA ATZ on stock 17" wheels

do you have spacers ?

JWSU08 02-23-2011 03:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twalton (Post 1076646)
285/70/17 MT BAJA ATZ on stock 17" wheels

Is this a stock setup? Any lift or spacers, any Rub?

So confirming a 275/70/17 will work with no rub or need for mods?

twalton 02-23-2011 04:50 PM

stock setup. no lift, no rub, but i don't do any heavy off roading.

twalton 02-23-2011 04:51 PM

sorry! also no spacers.

repoman100 02-23-2011 06:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twalton
sorry! also no spacers.

And no rub on full turns ?

JKU-Danger 02-23-2011 07:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twalton (Post 1076646)
285/70/17 MT BAJA ATZ on stock 17" wheels

Sorry, this is off topic, what bike rack is that? How do you like it?

roxbury29 02-23-2011 07:54 PM

does look nice!. local tire store told me it would not rub, unless you did some serious off-roading..

DodgeM37 02-23-2011 08:35 PM

i'm going for the 285 duratracs, looking for the best deal, so far Walmart and Sears are the cheapest i have found....$1124 intalled plus tax

repoman100 02-23-2011 09:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DodgeM37 (Post 1077778)
i'm going for the 285 duratracs, looking for the best deal, so far Walmart and Sears are the cheapest i have found....$1124 intalled plus tax


for a set of 4 or 5 ?

twalton 02-24-2011 06:30 AM

stab
 
good choice on the 285 duratracs. thanks for the compliment on the bike rack. it is a yakima "spare time". holds 2 bikes and features an anti-sway cradle for each bike. it is simple, sturdy and easy to use . quadratec has them for $161.99.

JWSU08 02-24-2011 07:25 AM

twalton

How do u like those MT BAJA's? how much were they? they look really good. how do they ride and handle? Would u happen to know how much they weight per tire? Just curious. And you dont have any rub at full turn?

twalton 02-24-2011 04:02 PM

JWS I really like them. They do not rub, but again i don't do any serious off roading. I've had them in the snow in the virginia mountains and they did fine. They are pretty quite on the road. I paid $1,600 OTD for five at my local Jeep dealer. This included recalibration of my computer so the TPMS would function properly.

JWSU08 02-24-2011 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twalton (Post 1079668)
JWS I really like them. They do not rub, but again i don't do any serious off roading. I've had them in the snow in the virginia mountains and they did fine. They are pretty quite on the road. I paid $1,600 OTD for five at my local Jeep dealer. This included recalibration of my computer so the TPMS would function properly.

Oh ok cool thats a pretty good deal I think for 5. Can you elaborate a little more on the recalibration. I've never heard of a recalibartion for the TPMS..

twalton 02-24-2011 05:20 PM

my jeep is a 2011. the 285/70/17s are almost an inch taller in dia than the stock 255/70/17s. the tech that mountd them told me that the 11s have two settings for tire size and he set it at the larger size after mounting the 285s. he used a hand held device and plugged it in under the dash on the left side of the steering wheel. you can see the port there. my TPMS is working fine(no light).

MTH 02-24-2011 05:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twalton (Post 1079826)
my jeep is a 2011. the 285/70/17s are almost an inch taller in dia than the stock 255/70/17s. the tech that mountd them told me that the 11s have two settings for tire size and he set it at the larger size after mounting the 285s. he used a hand held device and plugged it in under the dash on the left side of the steering wheel. you can see the port there. my TPMS is working fine(no light).

I don't think that's quite right.

My understanding is that what the tech did was recalibrate your speedometer, so that it's calculation of speed (distance covered per unit of time) based of the wheel spin will be accurate. A vehicle on 31" tires will travel less distance per rotation than a vehicle on 33" tires.

Your TPMS however will self-calibrate and automatically adjusts to new tire sizes. Pixie dust I think.

DodgeM37 02-24-2011 05:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by repoman100 (Post 1077913)
for a set of 4 or 5 ?

that was for 4....if you have seen a better price let me know, about $260 each is the cheapest i've seen for 285s.

ESP 02-24-2011 06:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTH (Post 1079861)
I don't think that's quite right.

My understanding is that what the tech did was recalibrate your speedometer, so that it's calculation of speed (distance covered per unit of time) based of the wheel spin will be accurate. A vehicle on 31" tires will travel less distance per rotation than a vehicle on 33" tires.

Your TPMS however will self-calibrate and automatically adjusts to new tire sizes. Pixie dust I think.

You are correct sir and for the record... a service department can calibrate your computer to any size tire not just two.

ncossey 02-24-2011 06:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ESP123

You are correct sir and for the record... a service department can calibrate your computer to any size tire not just two.

No they cant calibrate anything past a 33 last time I checked, atleast they will tell you that they cant.

MTH 02-24-2011 08:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ncossey
. . atleast they will tell you that they cant.

I think that's it. Surely they've got the technology--heck a ProCal would do it. I think they've either been told not to do it or their equipment has been "limited" somehow. Whatever drives it, most dealer techs seem compelled to stick with stock sizes. (Were the sizes that started this little tangent stock?? I don't think so . . . .)

ncossey 02-24-2011 08:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTH

I think that's it. Surely they've got the technology--heck a ProCal would do it. I think they've either been told not to do it or their equipment has been "limited" somehow. Whatever drives it, most dealer techs seem compelled to stick with stock sizes. (Were the sizes that started this little tangent stock?? I don't think so . . . .)

Ive found that chrysler says that cant do a lot of things that they really can.

twalton 02-25-2011 03:28 AM

this is what i know: my jeep came with 32s. i had 33s installed and the tpms light came on(correct tire pressure). the tech recalibrated it as i stated above, and now the speedo is accurate(gps) and the tpms functioning properly. i'm satisfied. also, this dealer installs lifts, larger tires(35s) and a lot of offroad stuff under the warranty.

ULAlum93 02-28-2011 10:31 AM

the 285 are still under the fender are do they stick out.?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.