Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   General Jeep Discussion (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/)
-   -   Sanden Greased OBA [PICS] (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/sanden-greased-oba-pics-82579.html)

rday78 03-01-2011 08:07 AM

Sanden Greased OBA [PICS]
 
First is to find a sanden compressor…. Some are already tapped for ¼” NPT. Mine was not.. I pulled the manifold off and cut the suction/discharge pipes flush then drilled and tapped both for ¼” NPT.
http://inlinethumb62.webshots.com/47...600x600Q85.jpg
http://inlinethumb38.webshots.com/46...600x600Q85.jpg
Then take the compressor apart… Flush all the oil out of every part and then grease the hell out of everything. I used Lucas Red and Tacky grease.
http://inlinethumb53.webshots.com/45...600x600Q85.jpg
http://inlinethumb33.webshots.com/46...600x600Q85.jpg
There is a hole that runs from the suction manifold to the crankcase… This is there to equalize crankcase pressure. With that port open grease will migrate to the suction side of the pump and be pushed into the hoses. A small set screw/grub screw will block this hole easy.
http://inlinethumb10.webshots.com/47...600x600Q85.jpg
Before you reassemble everything tap the oil port to ¼” NPT for the bronze filter. If you don’t do this the crankcase will pressurize and push grease out through every gasketed surface. It basically acts as a breather.

Now your ready to throw the compressor back in the jeep.
You will need 1/4" NPT - 3/8" compression fittings to hook the copper line up to act as an intercooler for the air before it reaches the manifold.
http://inlinethumb41.webshots.com/47...600x600Q85.jpg
As you can see the manifold was kept close to the compressor. Pressure switch is mounted in the manifold. Switch calls for air at 110psi and cuts out at 160psi
http://inlinethumb06.webshots.com/46...600x600Q85.jpg
http://inlinethumb63.webshots.com/45...600x600Q85.jpg
Air runs from the bottom of the manifold back to the 2.5 gallon tank which is mounted just behind the drivers seat. Actually the bolt that holds down the rear right side of the seat was used as one of the mounting points for the tank.
http://inlinethumb41.webshots.com/14...600x600Q85.jpg
The tank has the relief valve mounted to it which will blow at 185psi I think. The tank also has the gauge line mounted to it. I used 1/4" flexible tubing that is rated for 185psi. Here is a pick of the gauge and switches.
http://inlinethumb23.webshots.com/44...600x600Q85.jpg
After all that is in you have to get the air line to the back of the jeep. I removed my tail light to get access and ran the line straight down to the tank. There is plenty of room in there so it is easy to route the hose.
http://inlinethumb41.webshots.com/46...600x600Q85.jpg
http://inlinethumb06.webshots.com/46...600x600Q85.jpg
So thats it... I know that a lot of people have been using all kinds of oilers with mixed results so I saw someones post on one of the s-10 dorums and figured id give it a shot. I know those guys that run the air bags put a lot more workload on these things than I would pumping up my tires occasionally. I have about a dozen cycles on it so far and it seems to run well. Some of the grease has come out of the bronze filter mounted on the crankcase but it seems to be slowing down so I think it will be ok.

rday78 03-01-2011 08:17 AM

Here are links to some of the parts I bought for the job.
Bronze filter
Amazon.com: NuLine ASP-2-S9 1/4 Npt Sintered Bronze Muff: Industrial & Scientific
Check Valve
Amazon.com: VIAIR VIAIR-92831 Check Valve Replacement For OnBoard Air Compressors: Automotive
Manifold
Amazon.com: Interstate Pneumatics FPM44S 1/4 Inch FPT Aluminum Rectangle Pencil Manifold - 4 Outlets: Home Improvement
Pressure Switch
Amazon.com: Pressure Switch: Automotive
Tank
Amazon.com: VIAIR 2.5 Gallon Tank: Automotive
Illuminated Gauge
Amazon.com: Viair 90087 2.0" White Face Illuminated Single Needle Gauge: Automotive
Tank Fittings
Amazon.com: Viair 90005 Tank Port Fittings Kit: Automotive

Jerry Bransford 03-01-2011 09:03 AM

Very nice writeup on your very nice Sanden OBA system. I miss the hell out of my York OBA system I had in my last TJ.

rday78 03-01-2011 09:06 AM

Thanks Jerry... I was gunna go with the york but then I came across this idea. Figured I would save some time and expense not having to make brackets. Hopefully its as reliable as I think it will be. Still have to get the intake plumbed in...

rday78 03-07-2011 06:39 AM

Well... prolly got another 25-30 cycles on it and all is well. It does pump a little slow on idle so if there was a provision to hold idle up a little would be nice. Any way to do that with a switch as opposed to using a cable driven system????

Cons_Table 03-07-2011 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rday78 (Post 1101804)
Well... prolly got another 25-30 cycles on it and all is well. It does pump a little slow on idle so if there was a provision to hold idle up a little would be nice. Any way to do that with a switch as opposed to using a cable driven system????

You could run a hand throttle. That way its adjustable speed...plus you can use it offroad rather than just for turning a high idle on for your OBA.

rday78 03-07-2011 02:57 PM

Wasnt my first choice but i should look into it and whats involved

nick50471 03-07-2011 03:07 PM

What years were these compressors available? Does the factory ac bracket work?

Cons_Table 03-07-2011 03:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rday78 (Post 1102534)
Wasnt my first choice but i should look into it and whats involved

Its really simple actually. Mine isn't even sold as a "hand throttle." I went to my local bike shop and picked up a shifter lever. I ran it through the firewall and routed to the throttle. It stays where you need it to until you release it. Here is something similar to what my lever looks like.

http://cf.mp-cdn.net/f6/46/e86b74330...7273468082.jpg

rday78 03-07-2011 04:06 PM

Your gunna be looking for a sanden 709. You can wiki it and see what cars it came in. Im using the compressor the jeep came with therefore the stock bracket is a perfect fit. As for that shifter... im gunna see what i can find

jborushko 06-02-2011 08:51 PM

how how how on earth did you make those perfect tight bends in your copper pipe!?!

also what size copper pipe did you use?

geiman 06-03-2011 12:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cons_Table (Post 1102550)
Its really simple actually. Mine isn't even sold as a "hand throttle." I went to my local bike shop and picked up a shifter lever. I ran it through the firewall and routed to the throttle. It stays where you need it to until you release it. Here is something similar to what my lever looks like.

http://cf.mp-cdn.net/f6/46/e86b74330...7273468082.jpg

Liking this idea....

jborushko 06-04-2011 12:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jborushko (Post 1277296)
how how how on earth did you make those perfect tight bends in your copper pipe!?!

also what size copper pipe did you use?

to answer my own question... one way anyway...

is to fill the tube with fine sand (i used very fine blasting media), cap both ends. the make your bends around something cylindrical (i used a small propane bottle) made prefect bends! i believe i could have gotten tighter bends if i wanted them.

also: i wound up using 3/8th soft copper tube for mine

geiman 06-06-2011 02:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jborushko (Post 1280098)
to answer my own question... one way anyway...

is to fill the tube with fine sand (i used very fine blasting media), cap both ends. the make your bends around something cylindrical (i used a small propane bottle) made prefect bends! i believe i could have gotten tighter bends if i wanted them.

also: i wound up using 3/8th soft copper tube for mine

Nice tip!

obidya 09-22-2013 06:45 PM

are the pics for this writeup available anywhere? I just gave up on finding a cheap York and am going to pull apart my sanden for OBA


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.