Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Installed Viper Throttle Body (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/installed-viper-throttle-body-83868.html)

MTH 03-09-2011 10:57 AM

Installed Viper Throttle Body
 
4 Attachment(s)
This weekend I replaced my stock throttle body with the throttle body from a Dodge Viper. This change has been previously discussed on this forum here and here.

Here are my thoughts and a few pics . . . .

Install. Very, very easy. The connection to the motor reuses the same bolts and the sensor plugs into the throttle body in the exact same way. The fit is perfect. The connection to the intake hose was a little harder. The viper throttle body is about 3" across, compared to about 2" for the stock intake hose and stock throttle body. There are several ways to get this to fit (check out the links above), but I took a different route. I have an aftermarket intake (discussed here) that matches up to the viper throttle body perfectly. All I had to do was stop by Lowes and pick up a 3" flexible coupler in the plumbing section. You can see it in the pic showing the completed install.

Results. I can't say I've gotten much more power. The results with my intake (again, here) were more pronounced in that regard. Gas mileage has also shown no change. However--and this is going to be hard to describe--the engine sounds and feels much, much smoother. The sense of laboring to progress through the sub-3500 RPMs is diminished greatly. The engine is also much quieter when up to speed. Simply put, the engine sounds and feels like it is having a much easier time hauling around this big 4 door JKU. In that sense, perhaps I have gotten some more power. More torque maybe. Hopefullly one of the resident engine buffs can explain. Incidentally, the switch also solved a "whistling" problem that had been driving me crazy. (See here.)

Overall. Including shipping, the viper throttle body was $140 from the Mopar Supercenter (here). So far, I'm satisfied with that deal. The smoothing out of the RPMs and overall sense that the engine isn't working so bloody hard is a big improvement. Of course, because I've also installed an intake and a chip (discussed here), it's hard to specifically attribute any results to the new throttle body alone. I'm inclined to think it is working in conjunction with the air intake, particularly given how well the two match up from a size perspective. On the other hand, I recall at least one of the other installs of a viper throttle body linked above did so with the stock intake, and they claimed significant results.

Attached are pics of (1) the stock TB after I detached the intake hose, (2) a front view of a side-by-side comparison, note how much larger the bore is on the viper throttle body, (3) a rear view of a side-by-side comparison, and (4) a pic of the completed install.

I'm open it to the floor for comments, questions, further analysis, whatever! :thumb:

krutj 03-09-2011 11:21 AM

Nice write up..:thumb:

MTH 03-09-2011 12:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by krutj (Post 1106828)
Nice write up..:thumb:

I try--as you can imagine, I'm handsomely compensated for my efforts. :p

Mr. Sinister 03-09-2011 12:12 PM

I read another Viper TB install thread not too long ago and the guy had developed some idle issues and a check engine light after a couple of days. No issues to report so far?

MTH 03-09-2011 12:22 PM

I saw that as well.

It looked like he had an auto transmission with a Superchip, and it may have been an either/or when it came to the viper throttle body. In other words, he didn't throw any codes with the new TB so long as he removed the superchip's programming. It was one or the other, not both.

I have a manual and don't have a superchip. I was nevertheless concerned due to the Jet Chip I'm using, which actually has improved my mileage (see here). I didn't want to give that up.

However, I have had absolutely no issues. (It's been four days.) The engine sounds better than ever, runs great, and the Jeep hasn't dinged, bleeped, chirped, or illuminated any type of warning light.

Mr. Sinister 03-09-2011 12:55 PM

What concerned me is where he said "couldn't rev past 4000" even after removing the SC.

MTH 03-09-2011 12:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. Sinister (Post 1107019)
What concerned me is where he said "couldn't rev past 4000" even after removing the SC.

Yikes. Missed that . . . . :redface:

I haven't tried to rev past 4k RPMs. I generally shift around 2500 to 3k for gas mileage purposes. I've revved up to about 3700 or so though and it sounds better than it ever has.

I'll give 4k+ a go on the way home.

Edit: Now that I think about it though, I'd probably leave it installed even if it does cause the Jeep to top out at 4k. I've hardly ever broken 4k in the nine months I've had the Jeep. By contrast, I'm in the sub-3500 range everywhere I drive. Thus, the Viper TB's improvements at sub-3500 so far would probably make it worth it to say goodbye to 4k+. (Though I might revisit this the next time I need 4Lo . . . .) In any event, I'll check this evening.

kik 03-09-2011 02:56 PM

Real nice write up and informative. With my 10 Rubi 2dr 6spd I don't have any performance issues and since I'm carrying a bit less weight with the 2dr there isn't a specific benefit to me which would warrant making the switch. But, I appreciate the info. so I could make an informed decision. :thumb:

MTH 03-09-2011 08:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. Sinister
What concerned me is where he said "couldn't rev past 4000" even after removing the SC.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTH
I'll give 4k+ a go on the way home.

Hit 4700 tonight no problem and then shifted. I don't know what was happening with the other guy.

bigbodied 06-04-2011 11:19 AM

i have a k&n intake, throttle body spacer, upgraded ignition coil, wires, and plugs. also have headers, cat back exhaust and a superchip flashpaq.

i know i would have to lose the spacer if i went w/ this throttle body, but 1. would i even see a diff in performance over the stock TB and TB spacer? 2. i know you said the SC flashpaq pretty much works against it, but with all the other mods do you think that everything would be able to work in coheasion?

MTH 06-04-2011 01:48 PM

As I understand it, a throttle body spacer is meaningless on non-carbureted engines, so by all means--get rid of it.

Usually I'd recommend a regear instead of all the air stuff, but since you're already there it's fairly low cost to complete the whole set up by swapping in a viper throttle body. At that point you've done just about everything possible from an air standpoint short of a supercharger.

I have no idea whether it will work with your superchip and overall set up. Seems to cause no problems for some, but does for others.

bigbodied 06-04-2011 04:55 PM

im not worried about gears, my ruby has 4.10 gears.--what was the biggest change that you noticed after about a week of driving the jeep around with the viper TB?-- and would you do it all over again if you had the choice?

really want to throw a supercharger on but thats a down the road mod. still have a lot of things in the drivetrain and suspension area before that...

i think im going to try it out man, but wont be able to do it for about another three mons due to being away from home... but when its complete i will def re-post on let you know on my success or disaster...

MTH 06-04-2011 06:02 PM

Unless you've got a 6 speed and keep the stock 32" size tire forever, you're still undergeared. But anyway . . . :D

Like I mentioned in the initial review, the engine seems to run more smoothly and struggle less to get up to speed. Sounds classically like "butt dyno," but there you have it. I like it and would get it again.

You will likely need to go to a hardware store and get a flexible coupler--3" wide by 3" to 4" long should do it. The intake tube for my AEM intake is wider than the stock throttle body, and, therefore, the rubber coupler that came with it tapered to the size of the stock throttle body. The viper throttle body matches the size of the intake tube, so I needed a coupler that went straight across.

I'd expect your K&N would be similar.

nvkid 06-04-2011 07:20 PM

I`ve had mine on for 5 months now. I can get 20mpg hwy. and 18 around town. Sometimes while coasting down a hill for a couple miles,(in gear-auto)my electronic throttle control light comes on and motor won`t throttle up. I stop,shut her off and restart,all`s fine. Shows code P2173 high air flow/vacuum leak detected (slow accumulation).:popcorn:

SilverSport 06-04-2011 10:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTH (Post 1281119)
Unless you've got a 6 speed and keep the stock 32" size tire forever, you're still undergeared. But anyway . . . :D

Like I mentioned in the initial review, the engine seems to run more smoothly and struggle less to get up to speed. Sounds classically like "butt dyno," but there you have it. I like it and would get it again.

You will likely need to go to a hardware store and get a flexible coupler--3" wide by 3" to 4" long should do it. The intake tube for my AEM intake is wider than the stock throttle body, and, therefore, the rubber coupler that came with it tapered to the size of the stock throttle body. The viper throttle body matches the size of the intake tube, so I needed a coupler that went straight across.

I'd expect your K&N would be similar.

Mike - you have had no problem with the ETC kicking in? I am thinging about pulling the trigger on this, but a few members have mentioned this issue.

trennmaschine 06-04-2011 11:35 PM

MTH - What JET chip do you have? I have a stage 2 JET chip as well as a K&N air filter (stock box), and have also updated my coil, wires, and plugs, and have a Borla stainless twin catback. If the TB swap has helped with what you're describing, I'd like to give it a go myself.

MTH 06-04-2011 11:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SilverRubi

Mike - you have had no problem with the ETC kicking in? I am thinging about pulling the trigger on this, but a few members have mentioned this issue.

None, nor have I had any problems at all for the several thousand miles since installation. I have a 2010 6 speed, with an AEM intake and dry filter, and am not using a superchip.

MTH 06-04-2011 11:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trennmaschine
MTH - What JET chip do you have? I have a stage 2 JET chip as well as a K&N air filter (stock box), and have also updated my coil, wires, and plugs, and have a Borla stainless twin catback. If the TB swap has helped with what you're describing, I'd like to give it a go myself.

Stage 1. I did a write-up on it awhile ago where I mentioned that it produced no noticeable change in engine performance, though it actually did get me better mileage. I've been meaning to take it back out for sometime to see if my mileage drops again. Whatever it does, the viper throttle body doesn't seem to bother it.

bigbodied 06-05-2011 07:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTH (Post 1281119)
Unless you've got a 6 speed and keep the stock 32" size tire forever, you're still undergeared. But anyway . . . :D

Like I mentioned in the initial review, the engine seems to run more smoothly and struggle less to get up to speed. Sounds classically like "butt dyno," but there you have it. I like it and would get it again.

You will likely need to go to a hardware store and get a flexible coupler--3" wide by 3" to 4" long should do it. The intake tube for my AEM intake is wider than the stock throttle body, and, therefore, the rubber coupler that came with it tapered to the size of the stock throttle body. The viper throttle body matches the size of the intake tube, so I needed a coupler that went straight across.

I'd expect your K&N would be similar.

i do have a 6sp and plan on keeping the stock tired size for a lil bit so my 4.10 gears are suffice for now... i will be going to 40" goodyear tires over the next year or two, and at that point in time i will be upgrading to 5.38 gears.

thanks for the feed back dude!

trennmaschine 06-11-2011 01:46 AM

Mike
I found the throttle body at mopar and they recommend a spectre performance coupler. The one I think fits the stock air to stock throttle body is this -
Spectre Performance - Official Site
Can you confirm this is the right size?

MTH 06-11-2011 11:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trennmaschine
Mike
I found the throttle body at mopar and they recommend a spectre performance coupler. The one I think fits the stock air to stock throttle body is this -
Spectre Performance - Official Site
Can you confirm this is the right size?

I can't get your link to work on my iPhone, but I just used this: (http://www.lowes.com/pd_23478-34146-...&stop_mobi=yes).

It fit both my AEM intake tube and the viper throttle body, and cost just a few dollars.

trennmaschine 06-11-2011 11:58 AM

Mike - That sounds right! Spectre is a total flash site (I hate them and I especially hate all the noises that they use).
The Lowe's part clears it up - 3" to 3" coupler, so no reducer is necessary. I'm going to pull the trigger on this since other research I've don seems to align with the better response you experience. I'm not looking for a 1/4 miler, so I think my expectations of the 'butt dyno' should justify the ~ $150 for the setup. Thanks for the reply!

SilverSahara 09-21-2012 12:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTH (Post 1281641)
Stage 1. I did a write-up on it awhile ago where I mentioned that it produced no noticeable change in engine performance, though it actually did get me better mileage. I've been meaning to take it back out for sometime to see if my mileage drops again. Whatever it does, the viper throttle body doesn't seem to bother it.

MTH, still running the V TB and happy with this set-up?

Will be doing this in the near future and wanted some long haul feedback.

Thanks for the great write-up!!

MTH 09-21-2012 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 09-SAHARA (Post 2815901)
MTH, still running the V TB and happy with this set-up?

Will be doing this in the near future and wanted some long haul feedback.

Thanks for the great write-up!!

Happy for the most part.

I have only two complaints, neither of which I'm certain is related to the throttle body.

First, the engine has a squeal/whining/whistle sound at certain spots in the RPM band. It's done it since a little while after I put in the intake, the VTB seemed to cure it, then it came back. It's annoying, but that's about it.

Second, at high altitudes, my throttle control sensor sometimes has a little fit, the light comes on, and I lose power. I've got to pull over, turn the jeep off and then back on, and then it's fine. This happens about once every other day whenever I go to the NC mountains--about 3500 feet above sea level. It never, ever does it in Raleigh--about 350 feet above sea level.

For both of these issues, I've thought about putting all the stock stuff back on just to see if they go away. Honestly though, I truly have no idea whether they're actually caused by the VTB, the intake, neither, or both. Putting back the stock stuff would just be an experiment.

kjeeper10 09-21-2012 01:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTH

Happy for the most part.

I have only two complaints, neither of which I'm certain is related to the throttle body.

First, the engine has a squeal/whining/whistle sound at certain spots in the RPM band. It's done it since a little while after I put in the intake, the VTB seemed to cure it, then it came back. It's annoying, but that's about it.

Second, at high altitudes, my throttle control sensor sometimes has a little fit, the light comes on, and I lose power. I've got to pull over, turn the jeep off and then back on, and then it's fine. This happens about once every other day whenever I go to the NC mountains--about 3500 feet above sea level. It never, ever does it in Raleigh--about 350 feet above sea level.

For both of these issues, I've thought about putting all the stock stuff back on just to see if they go away. Honestly though, I truly have no idea whether they're actually caused by the VTB, the intake, neither, or both. Putting back the stock stuff would just be an experiment.

I have the same whistle stock.

MTH 09-21-2012 01:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kjeeper10 (Post 2816018)
I have the same whistle stock.

Interesting.

Somewhere between 2200 or so and 3000, there's a high-pitched squeal or whistle. It has no apparent effect other than to make the sound. It's been doing it for over a year now. I took it to the dealer awhile back (when I was still under warranty) and all the techs were over 45 and couldn't hear it. Notably, it only happens under load when I'm driving--revving the engine in the driveway won't do it.

I've always assumed it was due to the combination of the wide and smooth flow from the intake pipe and the wider throttle body. Just that these somehow yielded a squeal or whistle. But maybe not. I have no idea.

kjeeper10 09-21-2012 01:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTH

Interesting.

Somewhere between 2200 or so and 3000, there's a high-pitched squeal or whistle. It has no apparent effect other than to make the sound. It's been doing it for over a year now. I took it to the dealer awhile back (when I was still under warranty) and all the techs were over 45 and couldn't hear it. Notably, it only happens under load when I'm driving--revving the engine in the driveway won't do it.

I've always assumed it was due to the combination of the wide and smooth flow from the intake pipe and the wider throttle body. Just that these somehow yielded a squeal or whistle. But maybe not. I have no idea.

Same rpm range during acceleration.

Obviously louder with the CAI. I removed the CAI, that's when I first noticed it still whistled. Thought maybe I had a air leak but no.
You mentioned this in the past so I just chalked it up as being normal.

SilverSahara 09-21-2012 03:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTH (Post 2815930)
Happy for the most part.

I have only two complaints, neither of which I'm certain is related to the throttle body.

First, the engine has a squeal/whining/whistle sound at certain spots in the RPM band. It's done it since a little while after I put in the intake, the VTB seemed to cure it, then it came back. It's annoying, but that's about it.

Second, at high altitudes, my throttle control sensor sometimes has a little fit, the light comes on, and I lose power. I've got to pull over, turn the jeep off and then back on, and then it's fine. This happens about once every other day whenever I go to the NC mountains--about 3500 feet above sea level. It never, ever does it in Raleigh--about 350 feet above sea level.

For both of these issues, I've thought about putting all the stock stuff back on just to see if they go away. Honestly though, I truly have no idea whether they're actually caused by the VTB, the intake, neither, or both. Putting back the stock stuff would just be an experiment.

Thanks for the follow up. I can deal with those small issues as well!

SilverSahara 10-01-2012 08:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kjeeper10 (Post 2816069)
Same rpm range during acceleration.

Obviously louder with the CAI. I removed the CAI, that's when I first noticed it still whistled. Thought maybe I had a air leak but no.
You mentioned this in the past so I just chalked it up as being normal.

Ya same here, my findings copied from another thread...

2009 Auto W/3:73's, Airaid CAI, Hypertech, Magna Flow here. So far no codes and a little better driveabilty. Sounds like it's getting the air it needs now without all the effort. The slight whistle is back at about 2K. Seems to like kicking down into passing gear and back up into overdrive a little better at highway speeds. Hoping for some mileage increase as a nice side effect. Keep my fingers crossed for no bad codes and or limp mode issues stated on the other Viper TB posts.

aussie red jk 01-15-2014 09:44 PM

Hi peps from aussie red from down under, just my 2bobs worth from down under. I am going to put one of these on my 2011 jku as soon as I can get one sent over to aust. I live at sea level and have mountains to climb, I will keep you informed might take about a month from now. Cheers.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.