Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   06 Wrangler TJ Subwoofer wiring (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/06-wrangler-tj-subwoofer-wiring-87206.html)

Seanomck 03-30-2011 09:26 PM

06 Wrangler TJ Subwoofer wiring
 
Alright so heres the story: im putting a shallow mount woofer and amp inside my jeep and i know how to do all of the wiring except for from the head unit to the amp. I have a stock 06 radio with 6 disk changer(because i dont want to get a new headunit and have it stolen) and i need to know if there is a special line out convertor or an audio harness that is required to get a remote 12v switch and the two audio outputs that go to the amp and then the woofer. Any help from anyone who has previously done this or any links would be greatly appreciated

KP Texan 03-31-2011 01:13 PM

The first question should be: does your amp already have line level inputs?

-Wes

Seanomck 03-31-2011 04:39 PM

I didnt se anything line in only high level input

Kyle_vdk 03-31-2011 08:13 PM

I guess I should provide some more info. Cuz hes useless.

The amp we are using is: JL Audio JX250/1 Amplifiers - Car Audio Amps & Amplifiers

We have the wiring kit and all, the amp has RCA low level in, and High level in.

What I was more curious about before installing this, or taking apart the dash, does the stock stereo have any RCA Preouts? Or should we pick up a LOC to do it, I just want'ed to save the hassle of having to wire some more. Also, does anybody know where we can find a 2006 jeep wrangler TJ wiring diagram for the stereo if going to install a LOC, I have googled, but some sites seem to have different things, with different colour coating.

Thanks
(btw I'm not thread jacking, i'm working on the car with him)

Iceman 05-15-2011 10:08 PM

Radio shack used to make a device that wouldtake th regular speaker level outputs and lower them to RCA type amp level outputs. I'm sure someone of a higher quality still makes them. Try a car stereo shop as for the remote turn on wire it basicly opperates a relay so you can toggle switch or tie it into any account powered wire. The amp would cut off with the car but if the car was on and radio off the amp would sill be powered. Though that shouldn't cause any problems


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.