Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Subwoofer locations? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/subwoofer-locations-87684.html)

UTSW V12 04-03-2011 11:10 AM

Subwoofer locations?
 
I'm in the process of building a sub box to fit just behind the driver's seat. Has anyone managed to successfully stuff a sub UNDER the seat? The goal here is to add reasonable bass, nothing crazy, and not at the expense of storage space. I rarely have people sitting in the back seats, but I often fold them down and take up the whole trunk with gear.

Pics of any custom subwoofer locations would be great!

jrohan07 04-03-2011 11:31 AM

I just installed a new DVD hu and a all in one 1000 watt amp slimline and sub to the back of my rear pasenger seat.
The all in one amp sub was made by Pyle from amazon for 100 bucks and really hits hard with base that can be adjusted

UTSW V12 04-03-2011 11:32 AM

Do you mean you physically attached it to your rear seat? I'd love to see pictures of that!

M_ 04-03-2011 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jrohan07
I just installed a new DVD hu and a all in one 1000 watt amp slimline and sub to the back of my rear pasenger seat.
The all in one amp sub was made by Pyle from amazon for 100 bucks and really hits hard with base that can be adjusted

I had that amp/sub... Pyle hydra? It blew completely on me really fast be careful

2010WranglerMountain 04-03-2011 12:51 PM

Here's what I did...

jkjeeper06 04-03-2011 09:33 PM

I like it! Very nice job! Do you think you could keep it in if you had a passenger? How easy is it to remove? Is it hooked up to the stock head unit?

2010WranglerMountain 04-03-2011 11:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjeeper06 (Post 1156197)
I like it! Very nice job! Do you think you could keep it in if you had a passenger? How easy is it to remove? Is it hooked up to the stock head unit?

If by "passenger" you mean back seat, the I believe "yes". I haven't tried yet but I'm pretty sure it will fit with the back seat in as well, they'll have a little reduced leg room and no more cup holders, but oh well....
It is hooked to the factory head unit with what I believe are called the "high input" wires.?.? Basically since the factory head unit has no RCA connections in the back I stole the audio input by splicing into the factory wires for the sound bar...Overall it sounds awesome.:punk:
....the only issue is since I didn't run RCA's I didn't get that nifty little power wire for the "ACC" connection on the amp so I've wired in a simple switch that I have to flip to turn the amp off/on until I decide to run a separate wire(which probably won't be until I drain my battery a couple times):doh:

UTSW V12 04-04-2011 12:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2010WranglerMountain (Post 1156427)
....the only issue is since I didn't run RCA's I didn't get that nifty little power wire for the "ACC" connection on the amp so I've wired in a simple switch that I have to flip to turn the amp off/on until I decide to run a separate wire(which probably won't be until I drain my battery a couple times):doh:

Can you elaborate on that a little? Do you mean to say you ran speaker level inputs directly to the amp and therefore had no place to put the remote turn on wire from the amp to the head unit? Is this a wire that you gain when you use a Line Out Converter? I'm going to be doing my install in the coming week and I want to make sure I get all these little kinks worked out before I start tearing stuff out.

jeff-jeep 04-04-2011 02:40 AM

You can use the line out converter.Line out converters basically convert high output signals from your speaker wires to low signals for RCA. Plus with the line out converter, most come with a signal gain screw or knob to compensate for the amp and radio output. The acc/remote (on/off) wire on the amp can be wired a couple of ways: to the radio (If not sure which wire to hook -up to use a test light or better yet, get the wiring schematics especially on factory head units), wire it to the fuse box. I've done this by wrapping my wire to a fuse that would shut off when the car was off (like the radio fuse) or you can wire it to a toggle switch and manually shut it off.

kyakobi 04-04-2011 06:52 AM

2 Attachment(s)
I have installed 12'' Kicker Subwoofer with two kicker amplifiers...

2010WranglerMountain 04-04-2011 09:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UTSW V12 (Post 1156470)
Can you elaborate on that a little? Do you mean to say you ran speaker level inputs directly to the amp and therefore had no place to put the remote turn on wire from the amp to the head unit? Is this a wire that you gain when you use a Line Out Converter? I'm going to be doing my install in the coming week and I want to make sure I get all these little kinks worked out before I start tearing stuff out.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeff-jeep (Post 1156550)
You can use the line out converter.Line out converters basically convert high output signals from your speaker wires to low signals for RCA. Plus with the line out converter, most come with a signal gain screw or knob to compensate for the amp and radio output. The acc/remote (on/off) wire on the amp can be wired a couple of ways: to the radio (If not sure which wire to hook -up to use a test light or better yet, get the wiring schematics especially on factory head units), wire it to the fuse box. I've done this by wrapping my wire to a fuse that would shut off when the car was off (like the radio fuse) or you can wire it to a toggle switch and manually shut it off.

Jeff is right...

The pics I threw up shows how it's hooked up for now.

the connections to the left are the high input left and right. They are simply spliced into the left and right sound bar speakers.

The second shows how the switch is wired....It's simply jumped from the positive connection on the amp to the middle ACC connection so that the switch controls whether the amp is powered on or off...The proper method that Jeff described would be to run a power wire from some source that is controlled with the key (cigarette lighter, stereo power....or whatever else) so that the amp powers on when the key is on and off when you turn off the key (keeps you from killing your battery). The nifty power wire I talked about is just part of the wiring kit (it's part of the RCA wire)

UTSW V12 04-04-2011 10:16 AM

What is the best way to splice into your factory speaker wires? I've seen these "quick splice connectors" that seem really easy, but I'm worried about how good of a connection they will make and how safe they will be. Your thoughts?

Also, at what specific points do people find it the easiest to splice into the speaker wires? At the head unit? Somewhere along the length of the wire? At the speaker?

Thanks!

jeff-jeep 04-04-2011 12:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kyakobi (Post 1156617)
I have installed 12'' Kicker Subwoofer with two kicker amplifiers...

That's a cool set-up. My question is do the amps get hot from being in the plexiglass? Or do you have a fan blowing inside the enclosure?

2010WranglerMountain 04-04-2011 03:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UTSW V12 (Post 1156858)
What is the best way to splice into your factory speaker wires? I've seen these "quick splice connectors" that seem really easy, but I'm worried about how good of a connection they will make and how safe they will be. Your thoughts?

Also, at what specific points do people find it the easiest to splice into the speaker wires? At the head unit? Somewhere along the length of the wire? At the speaker?

Thanks!

Here's where I spliced in.

It's simple to figure out....two colored pairs (one for each speaker) and then some power wires that are for the dome light.

I just cut the pairs and used a crimp connector to re-connect them with an additional set of wires that I ran down the roll bar underneath the padding then brought it out behind the passenger seat....pretty simple. Didn't really have to take much apart.:thumb:

UTSW V12 04-04-2011 03:42 PM

That's exactly what I needed to see, thanks!

kyakobi 04-04-2011 11:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeff-jeep (Post 1157047)
That's a cool set-up. My question is do the amps get hot from being in the plexiglass? Or do you have a fan blowing inside the enclosure?

thanks, yes there is a fan inside the enclosure...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.