Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   How do I insert more than 1 cd in my stock radio? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/how-do-i-insert-more-than-1-cd-in-my-stock-radio-8818.html)

lap49X 06-17-2007 09:51 AM

How do I insert more than 1 cd in my stock radio?
 
I bought the jeep a few months ago and just tried to figure out how to insert more than 1 cd in the stock radio. The original owner told me that it is a stock 6-cd changer in the dash. I can't figure out for the life of me how to insert more cd's. Please HELP! I'm pretty sure it's a multi-cd stereo, but maybe the original owner lied?

camarors91 06-17-2007 09:59 AM

If you do have a multi Cd Changer, you would have to first put in the one cd then change to the diffrent cd selection then put in a cd. But iam really not sure if Jeep made factory 6 Cd changers in dash. You will have to consult someone else. But I know thats how Factory units work for dodge chrystler and jeep.

TJ_Babe 06-17-2007 10:35 AM

I'll be honest, I checked out Jeep.com and compared X to Sahara to Rubicon, and none of the new models even come with that as an optional feature. If you have a 6CD changer, chances are it didn't come stock.

lap49X 06-17-2007 10:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TJ_Babe (Post 92996)
I'll be honest, I checked out Jeep.com and compared X to Sahara to Rubicon, and none of the new models even come with that as an optional feature. If you have a 6CD changer, chances are it didn't come stock.

I have an 04 with the subwoofer. On the #1 preset button, it also says "Disc" with a down arrow and on the #5 preset button, it also says "Disc ^" :confused:

JCS05Rubi 06-17-2007 10:45 AM

TJs did have an option for a 6 cd changer. In my owners manual, there is a diagram on how to use it.

I belive it was a button below the volume control, that would allow you to insert more than one. Ill have to look at the manual when I go back out to the Jeep.

tiny terror 06-17-2007 10:51 AM

(hammer) should say in the owner's manual I believe, mine's an o5 and there was that option (hammer) I remember reading it somewhere (hammer).....

Dragon158 06-17-2007 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lap49X (Post 92999)
I have an 04 with the subwoofer. On the #1 preset button, it also says "Disc" with a down arrow and on the #5 preset button, it also says "Disc ^" :confused:

I have an 04 with the same thing, but it also has navigation. Those buttons work my external 6 disc cd changer, I do not have an in dash changer.

Vector6 06-17-2007 02:15 PM

my 06 Rubi has the 6 disc in dash option...

but it also has sirrus...

so i havent put any cd's in yet..

TJ_Babe 06-17-2007 09:14 PM

ok so like JCS's siggy says...

"Dang it. Now I look like an idiot." lol

MoA 06-17-2007 09:53 PM

one of our vehicles has a cd player that has the disc ^ and down buttons.. also has the 1-6 for the cd select.. but it isnt a 6-cd changer.. its just cheaper for them to design the same cd player face for all their cd players

lap49X 06-18-2007 12:30 AM

Unfortunately, my TJ did not have the manual when I bought it. Please let me know what the manual says about inserting cd's?

I was afraid that the cd stereos would all look the same on the outside...I hope that's not the case.

skeeter 06-18-2007 06:44 AM

When I bought my Dodge Ram there was an option for a 6 cd changer, the head unit controlled it but the changer itself was mounted under one of the seats.
I believe the Dodges and Jeeps use the same radios.

Tiburon 06-18-2007 10:34 AM

yeah its an external 6 disc changer. it went in the center console if it was installed. sometimes it will have the radio that is ready for a changer but no changer installed.

lap49X 06-18-2007 03:58 PM

So I guess I don't have an internal 6-disc changer?

Time to get an aftermarket stereo. Do any companies make a fairly plain looking, in-dash stereo with a multi-disc cd changer that is the same din as the TJ? What size din is the TJ?

Vector6 06-18-2007 04:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by camarors91 (Post 92979)
If you do have a multi Cd Changer, you would have to first put in the one cd then change to the diffrent cd selection then put in a cd. .

I just loaded 6 cd's in my 06 with this method... :wavey:

lap49X 06-19-2007 12:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vector6 (Post 93576)
I just loaded 6 cd's in my 06 with this method... :wavey:

I guess mine isn't a 6 disc cd changer. I tried this, but it won't switch to insert another cd.

ROBDOG1 01-08-2012 10:10 AM

I have a 2008 and my 6 disc changer has locked up...........is there anyway to manually take the disc.........without a hammer:banghead:

bulletsforbreakfast 01-08-2012 04:53 PM

If you remove the radio and dissassemble the case to the radio, you can manually remove them. I have never done this on a chrysler stock radio but I have done it on aftermarket models (sony, blaupunk, etc.)

jefferyfghezzi 01-08-2012 06:15 PM

I have an 05 and replaced my single with a 6CD player. Got it off CREIGS LIST for 60.00. Noone makes a 6 cd indash unit except OEM.

Pukeolicious 01-23-2012 08:06 AM

Why use multi-CD changers now? Just rip the CD's and use an MP3 player. No skipping, no changing CD's, it is just easier.

TheTJRod 01-26-2012 01:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pukeolicious (Post 1951285)
Why use multi-CD changers now? Just rip the CD's and use an MP3 player. No skipping, no changing CD's, it is just easier.

^ x2

Did we just travel back to 1999? Heck my phone has 16gb's of storage, I don't own a mp3 player or a single CD.

Kevbz 01-27-2012 02:37 PM

LOL, I had a 2003 Cadillac CTS, had an in dash 6 CD changer...and a tape player! I guess caddy's are for old folks and old folks still have tapes

I-Want-A-Jeep 01-28-2012 02:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lap49X (Post 93570)
So I guess I don't have an internal 6-disc changer?

Time to get an aftermarket stereo. Do any companies make a fairly plain looking, in-dash stereo with a multi-disc cd changer that is the same din as the TJ? What size din is the TJ?


The TJ's have a 1.5DIN unit. I don't know of any in dash aftermarket changers off hand. But like others said, use an MP3/iPod with an aftermarket deck.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.