Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   99 Wrangler Sport (non AC) Air flow vent not working. (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/99-wrangler-sport-non-ac-air-flow-vent-not-working-884.html)

bchamberlin 01-06-2006 11:37 AM

99 Wrangler Sport (non AC) Air flow vent not working.

Need a little help here... and yes, I'm a newbie. I have a 99 Wrangler Sport and the air control knob no longer seems to be working. I have air coming out, but I can no longer change between heating the floor, heating the drivers, or changing it to defrost. I'm talking about the knob on the far right of the pannel. Seems easy enough to reach through the glove box compartment but I don't know what I'm looking at.

Please help me stop my baby from fogging up!!!

JeepCrawler98 01-06-2006 12:11 PM

Most of the time when the TJ HVAC plenum box stops routing air it's because of a vacuum leak. Open the hood and look on the intake manifold - you will see a small hose coming off of it that goes across the firewall to the passenger side. There it Tees into two routes - one going to a vacuum reservoir located below the battery, and one going through the firewall and to the selector knob you see. Inspect the hose - and experiment with blocking off the vacuum reservoir to see if the problem is before the knob, or the knob itself. You may also want to stick a vacuum gauge on there and see where it's registering. It should be around -15psi or so (normal engine vacuum), and when you rev or stop the engine (eliminating vacuum) it should stay there as there is a check valve that should keep the vacuum in (or the pressure out depending on how you look at it) and the vacuum reservoir should last a good while unless there is a leak.

bchamberlin 01-06-2006 03:05 PM