Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   General Jeep Discussion (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/)
-   -   winch installation (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/winch-installation-9051.html)

nicolas-eric 06-25-2007 07:30 PM

winch installation
 
hi,

this week i want to install my winches and there are still some questions.

do i have to install, a switch in the + cable to the battery?
or a relay in the + cable and a switch inside the jeep?
do i need a fuse in the + cable?

i want to place the winch relay box under the hood on a fender and not outside above the winch. for that i need some more cables. which diameter must the cables have?

thanks in advance.
nicolas-eric :wavey:

orange05tj 06-26-2007 07:08 PM

what brand of winch? It should be marked on the wires what size the wires are. I do believe they make wire extensions for mounting under the hood. The guy tried to sell me them, but I didn't see the need to mount it under hood. I have no fuse or switch on the cable to the battery. It took 20 minutes to hook up, 3 days to break. :D Too bad Warn forget to mention, Do Not Hang Jeep From Tree. :D

Scout 06-26-2007 07:15 PM

He's in Germany. Everything is different over there.

orange05tj 06-26-2007 08:36 PM

Guess I should have seen that. My bad

nicolas-eric 06-26-2007 09:34 PM

what should be different in installing a winch in germany or the US? :chair: :flipoff:

MOz 06-27-2007 06:53 AM

The supply voltages are different, you'll need a converter... (just kidding).

I thought you recently bought a Milemarker 9500C didn't you? If you did, the install takes an hour. There is no in-line fuse or switch on the main power cables. Everything is in the solenoid box and the remote cable does all the work.

I understand you want to relocate the box but IMO, that seems like a lot of work for little benefit. Buy a cover to keep the mud off of it and you should be OK.

jonthedoctobe 06-27-2007 09:53 PM

something about the bathtub water spinning the opposite direction in germany or something?? or wait, that's australia isn't it...

:D

MOz 06-28-2007 06:35 AM

Drains don't spin in Germany. They are too clogged with schweinbraten, spatzel and heffeweissen beer.

(Man, I miss their beer....Germany literally defines the word Beer aka "Bier" ... the rest of the world just makes a bad copy of it).

Prost!

nicolas-eric 06-28-2007 07:42 AM

bought this warn relay to turn the winch on/off.

http://www.4wd.com/catalog/products/large/32959.jpg

whiteyj 06-28-2007 09:43 AM

I guess I don't see the reason or the need to kill the power to the winch with a switch? You still need the remote to operate.

What is the advantage that is worth all the extra wiring?

nicolas-eric 06-28-2007 10:05 AM

if the winch has an error i can turn it of.
a friend had a broken relay in his ramsey winch and he had to cut the + cable to stop the winch.

bluvikng 06-28-2007 10:14 AM

That would not be good, to not be able to turn off your winch. Do they have switches over there to turn off their wench's, too? :D:D Sorry, I could not resist. I just had to order new relays, solenoids, for our winch, burned up three of them. But it did not run, without the controls. Perhaps that is the difference between Ramsey, and Warn. I just don't know.

nicolas-eric 06-28-2007 10:32 AM

another reason for that switch.
i don´t want that another jeeper with the same winch and radio remote controls my winch...

activelydying 06-28-2007 10:41 AM

I like the idea of putting the box under the hood. Would that really be a pain to do?

bluvikng 06-28-2007 10:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nicolas-eric (Post 97242)
another reason for that switch.
i don´t want that another jeeper with the same winch and radio remote controls my winch...

Hopefully, they would use different frequencies, :confused: :eek:
Like garage door openers. Can you imagine if all garage doors worked off of the same frequency?

nicolas-eric 06-28-2007 11:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by activelydying (Post 97247)
I like the idea of putting the box under the hood. Would that really be a pain to do?

you only need some longer cables for that. that´s all.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.