Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Hella 500 Install HELP!!!! (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/hella-500-install-help-91597.html)

BlueHoseJeep75 04-29-2011 09:10 PM

Hella 500 Install HELP!!!!

alright everyone, I just recently recieved some Hella 500 lights as a gift. I have never done anything like this before and do not even know where to start. Im even having a hard time reading the page of random lines. Can anyone "shed some light" on this topic. (bad joke i know) any type of help would be much appeciated.

s3nt3nc3d 04-29-2011 10:08 PM

Find a diagram and use it to help with the wiring...the directions are a joke...I understand basic electronics and schematics and their directions had me scratching my head.

Basically what you want to do... run a wire from the battery to the coil on the relay. On the other side of the coil, run a wire from it to the switch, then from the opposite side of the switch to a good ground point.

From there...run a wire from the hot lead of the lights to one side of the "switch" on the relay. Then from the other side of the switch, run a wire from there to the battery. Then ground each light separately to a nearby bolt (grind off any rust and get a good bare metal ground).

Instead of using the switch provided with my kit to power my lights, I tapped off my high beam wire...so whenever my high beams turn on, it kicks my Hella 500's on. The only drawback to this is that I can't run them with my low beams, but if there's any oncoming traffic, you can't run them anyway so I really don't miss out much.

I did keep my switch in there so I can turn the lights off separately...I just can ONLY turn them on with my highbeams.

I'm sure I didn't make that much easier for you to understand, but when you see a basic schematic, it's really quite simple.

Richd1963 05-01-2011 10:45 AM