Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   Alpine 9883 radio - no bass on CD (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/alpine-9883-radio-no-bass-on-cd-9212.html)

ecbuck 07-02-2007 10:21 PM

Alpine 9883 radio - no bass on CD
 
i just installed an Alpine 9883 radio in my Wrangler. The tuner portion - including tuning to XM radio works great. My problems is that the CDs play with absolutely no bass.

Anyone have experience with this radio? Is it a setting, defective or just a lousy CD player?

Tiburon 07-02-2007 10:32 PM

with alpine headunits for each of the different sources I believe you can set your EQ (bass/treble) individually. If you cant figure it out from reading the book (no book download it from alipine-usa.com) just re-set it by using a pen and pushing the re-set button. I'm assuming that by 'bass' you mean not as loud as your other sources or it sounds 'tinny'

Triple88a 07-03-2007 12:07 AM

check if the high pass filter is on. Shut off both low pass filter and high pass filters!!!

hardy1531 07-03-2007 10:47 AM

Alpine radios have individual controls for all the sources. (Tiburon was right) You have to set the bass for the cd. Aftermarket radios usually don't have the "bass" that factoy radio have. They act as a better filter to get rid of all the garbage (noise) in the music. I used to sell stereos and Alpine is the only one for me.

dj_chizzle 07-03-2007 11:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hardy1531 (Post 98868)
Alpine radios have individual controls for all the sources. (Tiburon was right) You have to set the bass for the cd. Aftermarket radios usually don't have the "bass" that factoy radio have. They act as a better filter to get rid of all the garbage (noise) in the music. I used to sell stereos and Alpine is the only one for me.


++

fix your individual settings

erickpl 07-03-2007 12:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dj_chizzle (Post 98881)
++

fix your individual settings

++

Also, check your media expander/bass boost settings. If you've set them for XM and your local stations, you'll still need to do it for the CD.

I set media expander mode 3 for CD, XM, and my iPod.

My bass is set to 3 and treble is set to 3. Subwoofer set to 3 or 5 as needed.

ecbuck 07-03-2007 12:28 PM

Bass on the CD is cranked up to 7 (highest) setting but the CD still sounds very tinny. The radio, however, sounds fine. With the radio I can "feel" the bass coming from the stock subwoofer (no seperate subwoofer output or amp). With the CD a feel/hear nothing.

Even after doing a reset to factory defaults there is solid bass on the radio and nothing on the CD.

ecbuck 07-03-2007 01:08 PM

Played around some more
 
and it seems the subwoofer is doing nothing while in CD mode.

I'm not sure how the subwoofer is connected. I believe it is feeding off the left or right channel as there is no separate subwoofer wiring in the standard harness.


Can't figure out why the subwoofer would work fine in radio mode but go silent in CD mode.

erickpl 07-03-2007 01:22 PM

You using stock wiring for the Alpine or are you using the wiring harness that came with it or are you amped?

I use RCA preouts for my front/rear/sub and it works flawlessly.

It still sounds like your media expander isn't quite set for your CD. My CD's sounded crisper than the radio too, but I expect it.

ecbuck 07-03-2007 01:48 PM

No amp.

Took out the stock radio. Got a wiring harness that connected into the stock harness and soldered to the Alpine harness.

Not quite sure what you mean by "media expander". Thats not a phrase used in the manual.

erickpl 07-03-2007 01:58 PM

Check Page 19 of your manual. MediaXpander.

camarors91 07-03-2007 02:11 PM

I don't know about you but a good amount of bass in my jeep with the top down sounds horriable so i turn it off anyway. I think you might want to get the unit checked out.

ecbuck 07-03-2007 02:16 PM

Not on my (or the on-line manual's) page 19

h:confused:

http://vault.alpine-usa.com/products...-9883%20OM.PDF

erickpl 07-03-2007 02:31 PM

My bad... I was entering 9833 not 9883. :)

Have you tried the loudness? If that doesn't work, then you probably have an issue with the CD portion of the stereo, as camarors91 said.

ecbuck 07-03-2007 02:49 PM

Thanks for everyone's help. Looks like I'll need to take it by a dealer and see what they say.

Triple88a 07-03-2007 06:08 PM

ok ok i think i know it.. is there an amplifier to feed the stock subwoofer? I'm 99% sure there is one since it has subwoofer (that 1% is the dought that i cant check it for my self) !!! I believe the power wire in the harness is wired to the power antena.. when he shuts the radio off and turns on the cd, the power antena signal the cd player sends automatically shuts off and shuts off the sub amp.. Check your wiring and your power antena cable on the alpine should be connected to a cable i believe called "power" on the harness.. If your power antena cable on your radio is connected somewhere.. disconnect it and connect the "remote amp" cable to the wire the "power antena" used to be connected.

hardy1531 07-03-2007 06:48 PM

I belive you are right. I would check the factory harness. There should be a wire that is not connected to a wire on your Alpine harness. Check it with your volt meter. power this with the blue wire on your radio(remote amp wire) and you should be golden. Good luck.

ecbuck 07-03-2007 08:25 PM

I like the concept and will check to see if there is an amp and whether it powers down on CD.

However, from the receiver there is power antenna wire, but since I don't have a power antenna, its not connected to anything.

Triple88a 07-03-2007 08:38 PM

hmm did you connect the remote amp to anything?

Check in your alpine book.. you might manually need to turn on the subwoofer like i did on my pioneer.. i'm still thinking you have the high pass filter turned on though. usually named HPF or just HP. It should be off. If its on and you cant figure out how to turn it off turn it down as low as possible.. mine goes down to 50 Hz

Search your alpine manual for high pass filter (HPF/HP)

Triple88a 07-03-2007 08:48 PM

right there.. high pass filter.. page 17 (out of 39 )http://vault.alpine-usa.com/products...3%20OM.PDF

ecbuck 07-03-2007 08:52 PM

I don't know that I have a remote amp. I will have to dig into the console to check that out.

The manual does discuss turning on the subwoofer but I believe that only effects a subwoofer fed (through an external amp) from the RCA plugs in the back of the receiver rather than one that runs off the four main speakers. In radio mode, were the subwoofer works, its performance is unfazed by any changes in the receiver's subwoofer settings.

HPF is definitely off and I see no way to set LPF though I have seen the receiver advertised as having a LPF. There seems to be nothing coming from the subwoofer on CD so I'm thinking more along the lines of power.

hardy1531 07-03-2007 09:15 PM

I belive you are right about the HPF it only effects the pre amp sub output. Those setting are for an aftermarket amp for your subs. I thought(which means I am probally wrong) that the factory radio had the sub amp built in. but with it working n radio that throws that out the window.

Triple88a 07-03-2007 09:27 PM

nope HPF affects the 4 speakers mainly. It removes the bass from them so the speakers arent distorting everything and letting the sub do its job :)

its the low pass filter that affects the sub settings :) thats wird though.. everything but cd works :confused:

ecbuck 07-03-2007 09:41 PM

Don't know about "everything" but CD. Radio is my only option. I need to get an Ipod cable and a mini to AI cable to test the ipod connection and a direct XM connection.

BTW - Info for all those looking at the Alpine receivers. They may be HD ready, or XM ready or Bluetooth ready, but EACH of those options require an adapter that cost as much if not more than the receiver Plus if you want to connect anything in, its only with Alpines proprietary AI interface.

May be the same with other receivers, but I was disappointed that even a standard 3.5 mm mini jack couldn't be plugged into the 9883.:eek:

ecbuck 07-12-2007 05:34 PM

OK - I talked to a guy in tech support at Alpine and he basically confirmed that there was no power going to the subwoofer amp when in CD mode. However the explaination still makes no sense to me and I can't figure out how to fix it - and he offered no help.

He says I need to connect the "remote out" wire to the power of the woofer/amp. There is no such connection on the factory harness. Connections are:

12 Volt Constant Power - (clock and settings)
12 Volt ignition - (receiver power)
Dash light dimmer
Dash light illumination
RF Speaker-
LF Speaker-
Factory Radio Mute
RR Speaker -
LR Speaker -
LF speaker +
RR speaker +
LR speaker +
LR speaker +
Power antenna (car has no power antenna)

Now which of those am I supposed to connect the remote out wire to and where in the world is the woofer amp getting its power when the radio is on?

ecbuck 07-13-2007 07:59 AM

Eureka -

After some additional fiddling I figured out the answer.

The factory radio powers the sub amp via the power antenna connections (as was suggested earlier here). However, that power stays on when the factory radio is switched to CD mode. Therefore the amp continues to be powered.

In the Alpine, the power to the power antenna connection is turned off when the receiver is turned to any mode other than the radio. Thus the sub Amp stops working in those modes.

The answer is to not connect the Alpine power antenna connection to the antenna connection on the factory harness Instead, connect the "remote on" connection. This is constantly powered no matter what mode the receiver is in.

Now this works for me because I don't have a power antenna. I guess if you have a power antenna you need a Y connector from the remote on and antenna connectors on the Alpine to the antenna connector on the factory harness.

All and all, a pretty simple solution to understand once you know the differences in how Alpine handles the power antenna. Don't know why the Alpine guy couldn't explain it.

Triple88a 07-13-2007 05:09 PM

Something i've noticed mine dont have power antena too but its standard on the harness.. connect the amp rem cable to it and enjoy.

Tiburon 03-09-2008 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triple88a (Post 98977)
ok ok i think i know it.. is there an amplifier to feed the stock subwoofer? I'm 99% sure there is one since it has subwoofer (that 1% is the dought that i cant check it for my self) !!! I believe the power wire in the harness is wired to the power antena.. when he shuts the radio off and turns on the cd, the power antena signal the cd player sends automatically shuts off and shuts off the sub amp.. Check your wiring and your power antena cable on the alpine should be connected to a cable i believe called "power" on the harness.. If your power antena cable on your radio is connected somewhere.. disconnect it and connect the "remote amp" cable to the wire the "power antena" used to be connected.

You are so right... i completely spaced on this issue. I've never seen it in a wrangler only in G. Cherokees with the Infinity Sound system. The amp turn on wire and antenna wire are reversed. I can't imagine how I forgot about this! Some head units have only one output for the accessories, pioneer, some sonys, and the like don't have this problem, I used to use the 'smartcables' from metra and you'd have to switch the wires every time.

Props Trip good catch.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.