Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Spiderwebshade grommet holes don't line up with soundbar screws (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/spiderwebshade-grommet-holes-dont-line-up-with-soundbar-screws-92618.html)

Texasflusher 05-06-2011 09:52 PM

Spiderwebshade grommet holes don't line up with soundbar screws
 
Does anyone else have mis-aligned center grommet holes that will not allow the two large screws that hold the front freedom tops to be inserted through the soundbar? We would like as advertised to keep the webshade on the same time the hardtop is on. There is no way ours can be the only defective top. They are about an inch off. We have an email into the spiderwebshade company about this.
Anyone else have this problem?

tommyb 05-06-2011 10:46 PM

[QUOTE=Texasflusher;1224363]Does anyone else have mis-aligned center grommet holes that will not allow the two large screws that hold the front freedom tops to be inserted through the soundbar? We would like as advertised to keep the webshade on the same time the hardtop is on. There is no way ours can be the only defective top. They are about an inch off. We have an email into the spiderwebshade company about this.
Anyone else have this probl

I bought the SpiderWeb SW1 JK-2D TrailMesh top for my JK. Are you sure you purchased a spiderwebshade for a JK and not another model Jeep? I'm pretty sure that all of the tops for JK's do not have "holes" in the middle of the top. There are plenty of grommet holes on the side of the spiderwebshade to position it anywhere you want on your rollcage. Mine pretty much looks like the picture on the website, and I absolutely love it!

nvkid 05-06-2011 10:50 PM

Same here.

jeffk42 05-07-2011 06:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tommyb (Post 1224481)
I bought the SpiderWeb SW1 JK-2D TrailMesh top for my JK. Are you sure you purchased a spiderwebshade for a JK and not another model Jeep? I'm pretty sure that all of the tops for JK's do not have "holes" in the middle of the top. There are plenty of grommet holes on the side of the spiderwebshade to position it anywhere you want on your rollcage. Mine pretty much looks like the picture on the website, and I absolutely love it!

They have a free option to add grommets in the center for use with the Freedom Top screws if you have a hardtop. It's not shown on the website, but it's an option you can request.


OP -- I'm sure this is a stupid question, but are the grommets both equidistant from the center? If not, did you try flipping it over?

Texasflusher 05-07-2011 09:11 AM

The two grommet holes should have been placed about an inch further back so unfortunatley flipping over the top wont help but thanks for idea.

Texasflusher 05-07-2011 09:46 AM

Here are the two holes
http://i1218.photobucket.com/albums/...g?t=1304779727

Texasflusher 05-07-2011 09:28 PM

I did not mention earlier that this is for an unlimited.

SpiderWebâ„¢ 05-09-2011 08:38 PM

SPIDERWEBSHADE /// with Freedom top
 
Hey Texasflusher,

Have you tried to release a few of the SpiderBalls in the front and rear? If you release some of the tension you can wiggle to top into position for you bolts. Then you can replace the SpiderBalls as they will stretch quite a bit.

If for some reason this does not work we will be happy to replace your top.

Hope this helps! We loved your video!!!

Texasflusher 05-10-2011 09:19 PM

Thanks SpiderWebShade for yesterday's response. My wife and I worked more with the top today to see if we can keep the shade top on the same time as the hardtop. With all the hardtop's latches needing secured above the front seat and being obstructed by the shade top, it's seems easier to just remove the shade top entirely when the hardtop goes on. With that said, there is no longer a need to have the grommet holes match where the soundbar screws go.

Has SpiderWebShade or anyone else made a video on installing the 3-piece unlimited hardtop over the shade top? I would love to see one.

Thanks again SpiderWebShade for your offer to replace our top for another.

jimmyzwheelz 05-11-2011 10:33 AM

Nice response from the vendor...that's great customer service!

I love my top, but never understood how you could leave it in place with the hard top for the very reasons you mention above!

"With all the hardtop's latches needing secured above the front seat and being obstructed by the shade top, it's seems easier to just remove the shade top entirely when the hardtop goes on."

I too would love to see a video on how this is accomplished!

DThor35 05-12-2011 02:48 PM

X 3 here too....

marksr 07-18-2014 07:44 AM

I know this is a dead thread, but in case anyone is searching for this on a new installation or purchase- I just installed mine (JK Unlimited) and the bolts line up perfectly. Just remember to remove the Velcro patch (one side of Velcro adhered to shade, the other velcroed to that part (I stupidly tried pulling the whole thing off until I realized I had to separate it). I then slid the freedom top bolts right through without re-adjusting or resistance.
Don't know if some don't line up or they've made an adjustment to the design over the last 3 years (kudos to them if they did for responding to customers), regardless, it really lines up perfectly. (actually found this thread searching for the purpose of those grommets. Didn't even think about the freedom top, being in soft-top mode right now.

Dwoodworker 07-18-2014 11:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texasflusher (Post 1231867)
Thanks SpiderWebShade for yesterday's response. My wife and I worked more with the top today to see if we can keep the shade top on the same time as the hardtop. With all the hardtop's latches needing secured above the front seat and being obstructed by the shade top, it's seems easier to just remove the shade top entirely when the hardtop goes on. With that said, there is no longer a need to have the grommet holes match where the soundbar screws go.

Has SpiderWebShade or anyone else made a video on installing the 3-piece unlimited hardtop over the shade top? I would love to see one.

Thanks again SpiderWebShade for your offer to replace our top for another.

x4

timtoolman 07-18-2014 11:39 AM

I leave my shade on all the time. Its real easy to put the hard top on over it the shade. I dont even use the two bolts, I leave them out, they not needed. I put the spider balls through the holes where the bolts go.

ck1 07-18-2014 12:17 PM

I also leave my shade on all the time with or with out a top...i dont use the center holes at all. I did put my spidey shade on while the hard top was on..I just loosend all the bolts removed the two sound bar screws and lifted the top a little bit and stuff the shade over the rear roll bar ans strated pulling it tight and putting on the spidey balls...it is nice cuz I like to run around alot with my freedom tops off and the shade is perfect...ps. you only NEED the two center bolts when you have your hard top OFF and using just the freedom panels. I would always have a water leak when I tighten those two down...

Menerdari 07-18-2014 03:45 PM

my spiderweb shade stays on all the time, I do use the bolts on my freedom top but have no problem getting them aligned. I posted interior pics the other day in a similar thread.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.