Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Head Unit won't turn on anymore?? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/head-unit-wont-turn-on-anymore-93484.html)

BlackMountain 05-12-2011 08:57 PM

Head Unit won't turn on anymore??
 
So I replaced my factory head unit and speakers with some aftermarket products back in Feb.

All has gone well, and in March I added a small 8'' powered subwoofer under the passenger seat to round out the sound.

Well today I park my car, turn off the ignition, and continue to sit in my car without opening any doors. The stereo continues to play for 30 seconds or whatever and then turns off like normal.

When I go to start my car up 5-10 minutes later, the head unit won't come on? I have no idea why. The power light to my subwoofer doesn't come on either.

When I press the eject button on the head unit, it does light up and display "eject" for a second, but that's the extent of it showing life. I tried resetting it and everything to no avail...

I don't know if it's a blown fuse, the power wire to the head unit came loose from the harness, or an issue with the woofer.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot!

the Kolector 05-12-2011 10:07 PM

HHHHmmmm. I would say to check the connections behind the head unit and any inline fuses that might be there as well.

Mr. Sinister 05-13-2011 07:20 AM

Did you use a conversion harness to install your head unit (a little box that wires in between the factory harness and your new head unit)? I've heard of trouble with those boxes. I used one from Crutchfield when I did mine and have been keeping my fingers crossed.

BlackMountain 05-13-2011 07:26 AM

yea i used the PAC harness that came with a little blue box that I had to stuff behind the head unit. you think that could be the problem?

i can't remember if there was some sort of fuse attached to the harness as well? i figured if it was a blown fuse, i wouldn't be getting any kind of power to the head unit so when i press the "eject" button the head unit wouldn't be lighting up for a second. maybe i'm wrong about that..

BlackMountain 05-13-2011 07:39 AM

http://img1.classistatic.com/cps/po/...06751g_20.jpeg
This is the harness I used. Do those little black boxes off the actual harnesses contain fuses?

jrohan07 05-13-2011 07:50 AM

Hey BlackMountain, mine did the same thing when I added a cheap all in one sub.
Try removing the sub remote power wire (blue one from the sub and see if your Head Unit will power on. If not then it probably shorted (the sub) the PAC harness.
I went with a seperate amp and Rockford Fosgate 12' sub and sealed box.
Head Unit and sub have not missed a beat since.

BlackMountain 05-13-2011 07:58 AM

wait, so your sub shorted and your harness was fine?

if I remove the blue wire, do i have to manually turn the sub on and off?

Mr. Sinister 05-13-2011 08:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlackMountain (Post 1236855)
http://img1.classistatic.com/cps/po/...06751g_20.jpeg
This is the harness I used. Do those little black boxes off the actual harnesses contain fuses?

Yup, same one I used. Google will return several reports of them fizzling out. Your sub taking a crap shouldn't affect your head unit, though. Try disconnecting it first, then see if the head unit will power.
Your best bet would probably be what you just said. Run a switch and turn it off and on manually. Chrysler did us NO favors with this CanBus nightmare.

jrohan07 05-13-2011 08:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlackMountain (Post 1236882)
wait, so your sub shorted and your harness was fine?

if I remove the blue wire, do i have to manually turn the sub on and off?

Yes my sub shorted out internally and I just removed the blue wire (remote turn on for the sub) and the Head Unit turned on. The PAC harness was fine.

Here is a quick check to make sure your sub/amp is working.
At the sub/amp connection remove the blue wire.
Take a small piece of speaker wire and strip the ends.
Then touch one end of the wire to the remote turn on terminal and the other to the Positive side and your amp should turn on.

BlackMountain 05-13-2011 08:33 AM

alright thanks. i'm wondering why the sub would short out internally if it is self powered? that shouldn't have anything to do with the head unit should it?

what kind of sub did you hook up when this happened?

i used the Sound Ordnance B8PT from Crutchfield and it sounds awesome so i'd be very dissapointed if it shorted out

jrohan07 05-13-2011 08:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlackMountain (Post 1236971)
alright thanks. i'm wondering why the sub would short out internally if it is self powered? that shouldn't have anything to do with the head unit should it?

what kind of sub did you hook up when this happened?

i used the Sound Ordnance B8PT from Crutchfield and it sounds awesome so i'd be very dissapointed if it shorted out

I at first went cheap, Pyle 10'' slimline 1000w amp/sub combo chopper series from Amazon and it sounded pretty decent but after 30 days the same thing you described happened.
I just tested the amp/sub and all I could get was a red light that said Fault. Called customer service and they said yep sounds like something internal to the amp/sub was fried.
Removed the negative battery cable,removed the sub completely, waited 10 minutes, reconnected the negative battery cable and HU powered back on.
Removing the battery cable probably reset the engines ECU.
Maybe try that.

BlackMountain 05-13-2011 08:48 AM

thanks for your help jrohan, i'll look into it after work today and report back.

my sub is only a small 120 watt sub and i really hope that its a simple fix

jrohan07 05-13-2011 08:58 AM

My buddy wanted to change out his head unit and had the base stock radio so he was cheap and did not want to order the expensive pack harness so he ordered this
Scosche CR04B 2006-Up Select Chrysler/Jeep Vehicles Speaker Connector search Amazon and everthing works like stock.
I think you only need the PAC if you have the Infinity amp upgrade for the Jeep.
You may be able to use this if your PAC is fried.

BlackMountain 05-13-2011 09:00 AM

how will i know if my PAC is fried?

jrohan07 05-13-2011 09:28 AM

If you step through all the suggestions one at a time and your head unit still does not power on then I would assume your Pac is fried or your head unit is defective.
Pull out your HU and put your stock radio back in and see if your stock works.

BlackMountain 05-13-2011 09:33 AM

okay thanks.

i'll disconnect then reconnect the neg cable on the battery first and see if that doesn't reset everything like you said

BlackMountain 05-15-2011 09:24 AM

just an update on this problem. i disconnected the negative cable to the battery, waited 20 seconds and then reconnected the wire and it fixed the problem. don't ask me why or how, but it works now. thanks for your help guys

jrohan07 05-15-2011 05:17 PM

Glad it worked for you. I love my Jeep with some b ass.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.