Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Can I use 18" rims with 32" wheels on stock 11 Wrangler Sport???? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/can-i-use-18-rims-with-32-wheels-on-stock-11-wrangler-sport-97975.html)

midatlanticjeep 06-13-2011 09:46 AM

Can I use 18" rims with 32" wheels on stock 11 Wrangler Sport????
 
I recently purchased a set of barely used 18" factory rims with 32" tires and would like to swap them out for the (ugly) 16" rims with 29" or so tires that came with the 2011 2 door sport model.


I can do the swap myself - will I run into any problems? I bought the AEV Procal tuner to set the speedometer etc...



will I notice any rubbing? Not going to be doing a lot of trails.


Will I lose any MPGs?


I have read about spacers etc... but not thrilled about putting anything on that would mess with the stability etc.


Thanks!!!!!!

daggo66 06-13-2011 09:49 AM

If we can assume that the wheels and tires were from a Sahara and have the TPMS sensors intact, then yes, everything will be fine.

midatlanticjeep 06-13-2011 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by daggo66 (Post 1302313)
If we can assume that the wheels and tires were from a Sahara and have the TPMS sensors intact, then yes, everything will be fine.


The tires came without the tpms sensors. I was going to take the tpsm sensors out of my current tires and add them in, but not immediately. Are they important? Will they affect performance?


Thanks for the response.

daggo66 06-13-2011 09:58 AM

Your dash light will remain on and will "ding" when you start the engine. Other than that there won't be any issues with not having them.

rics1997 06-13-2011 09:58 AM

Should work with no issues at all. Just remember when setting the tire size using Procal that you don't use 32" because of compression of the tire on the road from the vehicle weight. I would start by subtracting 1" and using 31" then verify your speedo using GPS if you got one. But if you have no way to check right away 1" less is usually a pretty good guess.

rics1997 06-13-2011 10:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by midatlanticjeep (Post 1302326)
The tires came without the tpms sensors. I was going to take the tpsm sensors out of my current tires and add them in, but not immediately. Are they important? Will they affect performance?


Thanks for the response.

I am assuming the tpms air pressure sensor can be modified using Procal. I have Superchips and know you can adjust the computer setting to whatever tire pressure you currently have. You can also set the tire pressure to Zero and this will turn off the ding.

MTH 06-13-2011 10:06 AM

You can also use your ProCal to set the minimum measurment that will satisfy the TPMS system to "0." In other words, so long as the TPMS system gets a 0 reading, it won't set off the alarm. The result is that the alarm chime won't go off when it doesn't get a reading from the sensors.

This, as a practical matter, turns off your TPMS system.

Keep in mind of course that you also won't get any alarm when/if your tire pressure is actually low.

Edit: Rick is a faster typist. :)

InfernoGirl 06-13-2011 10:14 AM

If you're going to set the TPMS to "0" then there's no point in swapping them.....

MTH 06-13-2011 10:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by InfernoGirl (Post 1302398)
If you're going to set the TPMS to "0" then there's no point in swapping them.....

That's true, I was just trying to smooth out his desire to not bother with swapping the TPMS sensors immediately but also (presumably) to not hear a *ding* every time he starts the Jeep. If he ever ends up swapping the TPMS sensors sometime down the line, he'd also of course want to reset the number to something useful.

ESP 06-13-2011 10:48 AM

Since we're on the whole TPMS, I took those out of my new wheels before install and having been dealing with the ding and light on my dashboard for about a week now. If I use either the AEV procal or other to set the computer to zero for my tire pressure, then you all are saying the ding will not sound and there will not be a light on my dashboard either?

Yes, I like to hijack threads :)

MTH 06-13-2011 11:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ESP123 (Post 1302465)
Since we're on the whole TPMS, I took those out of my new wheels before install and having been dealing with the ding and light on my dashboard for about a week now. If I use either the AEV procal or other to set the computer to zero for my tire pressure, then you all are saying the ding will not sound and there will not be a light on my dashboard either?

Yes, I like to hijack threads :)

Yep, that's how I understand it. I don't have one yet myself (**disclaimer**), but that's how I've read Jimbo's descriptions in the past. Unless I've just misundertood how it all works, a ProCal is definitely part of my future wheel/tire plans. :thumb:

InfernoGirl 06-13-2011 12:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTH (Post 1302425)
That's true, I was just trying to smooth out his desire to not bother with swapping the TPMS sensors immediately but also (presumably) to not hear a *ding* every time he starts the Jeep. If he ever ends up swapping the TPMS sensors sometime down the line, he'd also of course want to reset the number to something useful.

Not arguing with you at all, just trying to save the OP the expense/aggravation of swapping them needlessly.... :)

midatlanticjeep 06-14-2011 09:18 AM

Thanks for the responses guys.


Should I bother taking my tires to a name brand tire place to do the tpsm switch out or will they charge me a ton for probably not much work?

Not necessarily on a budget but like to get a good deal, of course.

ppzi 06-14-2011 09:52 AM

I just swapped out my 16" rims and tires for 17" ones off a new Rubicon.
He kept the TPMS sensors to put on his new tires.
I tried to have my old ones moved over but the tire place said they were pretty much done and would likely fail before long after being moved plus the stem was broken on one and all they could have done was throw it in loose on the spare.
I just ignore the light and the ding but might use the zero pressure idea as leverage to get a reprogramming tool (after I pay off the towing bill from the weekend.)
The store I used charged $10 per mount and $10 to move a sensor. Goodyear across the road wanted more than $50 per tire.

Hilldweller 06-14-2011 11:14 AM

I moved my sensors from my stock 18" Sahara wheels to my aftermarket 16" wheels and they continued with no problem.

The only issue for the OP is that the stock 18" tires are crappy and replacement rubber for 18s is expensive. 16s have the best choices. 17s are coming down but can't compete.

When I got rid of my 18s, the wheels were basically free, paid for by the money I saved in buying rubber for 16s rather than 18s.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.