Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Soft top frame help (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/soft-top-frame-help-98622.html)

BTA88 06-17-2011 07:58 PM

Soft top frame help
 
I recently bought a used soft top frame. I went to remove the broken top that was left attached by the PO and I noticed some of the screws in the header bar are rusted beyond the point of unscrewing. Is there anything I can do aside from drilling out the old screws? I have a Bestop no drill header, is there any way to use that with the stock soft top frame?

By the way, I love having a soft top. It only goes up for the rain, sometimes :dance:

kjeeper10 06-17-2011 08:03 PM

Pics? Do you have the classic supertop?

BTA88 06-17-2011 08:05 PM

It's a factory top and a factory frame. The no drill header that I have, I bought because I was planning to go with a frameless.

No pics readily available, can't get any in the dark either.

kjeeper10 06-17-2011 08:24 PM

Not really understanding what you are trying to do. You mentioned frameless but bought a new header. You still intent to use the old top?

BTA88 06-17-2011 08:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kjeeper10 (Post 1313991)
Not really understanding what you are trying to do. You mentioned frameless but bought a new header. You still intent to use the old top?

Sorry, I'll try again..

I bought a complete soft top frame, it has a fixed header bar on it. This header bar requires the canvas to be screwed into it. The previous owner allowed the screws to rot, and some are rusted beyond the point of being extractable.

In an unrelated purchase, I bought a Bestop no-drill header, because prior to purchasing the factory soft top and frame, my intentions were to run a frameless.

Is it possible or feasable to use the Bestop no-drill header with the factory soft top hardware? Or, if that is not in the cards, is there any way for me to remove or repair the header bar that is attached to the factory soft top frame?

No sarcasm intended, I hope that clarifies my questions.

kjeeper10 06-17-2011 08:52 PM

I don't think so. Because the no drill header should have a slot for the top to attach or press into. The factory header, the front of the top wraps around and then gets screwed into it. If the used header still fits and the clamps work, I don't see why u can't drill them out. Can you return it and get the correct header?

BTA88 06-17-2011 08:54 PM

I can't return it, I bought the header months ago.

Thanks, I think I'll just drill them out.

kjeeper10 06-17-2011 09:11 PM

Np


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.