Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   gas tank skid (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/gas-tank-skid-99496.html)

TJe0454 06-23-2011 01:08 PM

gas tank skid
 
1 Attachment(s)
so i am talking to a guy that has a gas tank skid available near me for 75. its used and has some signs of wear (couple small dents and has been painted)
question is: is it worth it for 75, who makes this skid, and do i really need a gas tank skid?

UnlimitedLJ04 06-23-2011 01:12 PM

don't bother with that.

get a Savvy gas tank skid instead. that is worth the money.

www.savvyoffroad.com

99TJCrawler 06-23-2011 01:26 PM

How thick is the skid? You want one that is at least 3/16" steel. If it is, that's a good deal. I would recommend getting one if your are doing any off road ventures.

TJe0454 06-23-2011 01:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UnlimitedLJ04 (Post 1326276)
don't bother with that.

get a Savvy gas tank skid instead. that is worth the money.

www.savvyoffroad.com

do you know what brand this is? and there's quite a bit of difference price-wise between a $75 skid and a $329+ship one.

TJe0454 06-23-2011 01:29 PM

looks like a tomken
Tomken Machine TMS-1340-G - Tomken Gas Tank Skid Plate for 97-02 Jeep® Wrangler TJ - Quadratec

IslandTJ 06-23-2011 01:31 PM

Your existing 2001 skid really isn't much of a skid, compared to the 2003+ models. I needed a skid as I banged my tank often and even manged to put a dent in it.

I wonder if that skid is the Tomken skid that mounts over the OEM skid.

IslandTJ 06-23-2011 01:31 PM

LOL TJe0454 beat me to it.

TJe0454 06-23-2011 02:01 PM

and the guy said its 3/16" steel.

DevilDogDoc 06-23-2011 02:10 PM

Well for the price it's better than what you have now. I run a Savvy myself but from stock to something it ain't bad for the price. Run it a while, save your beans then sell it to someone else for what you paid for it.

Ibuildembig 06-23-2011 02:15 PM

Id run it and wouldn't look back :)

Mikekaz1 06-23-2011 02:23 PM

Sorry to hijack. But I've herd alot about the improvements in the 03 and newer tj's factory ones. Can someone post a pic of them. I'd like to see the difference

UnlimitedLJ04 06-23-2011 03:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TJe0454 (Post 1326385)
and the guy said its 3/16" steel.

Make sure to read the fine print...its 1/8" steel and won't fit with a suspension lift and a D44 rear axle. Probably because the clearance between the gas tank and diff is already pretty tight.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Quadratec
Constructed of 1/8" steel. These durable skids install easily over the factory skid plate for great protection. No Drilling Required for installation. Powder Coated black finish. If your Jeep has a DANA 44 rear axle with a suspension lift with adjustable control arms and it is adjusted all the way to the rear, than this skid plate will not fit. Will not be fit with hitches that mount underneath rear frame crossmember.


Wesboy 06-23-2011 07:15 PM

Another thing to consider is clearance. With a BL, some skids can be tucked up higher. I've gained 1.75" clearance with the Savvy GTS and it's tough as nails.
Any 'overlay' skid will result in a slight loss of clearance.

TJe0454 06-24-2011 08:39 AM

1 Attachment(s)
got it. and added a personal touch.

Black Magic Brakes 06-24-2011 10:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UnlimitedLJ04 (Post 1326501)
Make sure to read the fine print...its 1/8" steel and won't fit with a suspension lift and a D44 rear axle. Probably because the clearance between the gas tank and diff is already pretty tight.

That is the Tomken skid, but they must have made a change somewhere because I've removed several including the one on Bransford's rig that were 3/16's thick.

UnlimitedLJ04 06-24-2011 12:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Black Magic Brakes (Post 1328519)
That is the Tomken skid, but they must have made a change somewhere because I've removed several including the one on Bransford's rig that were 3/16's thick.

also possible that Quadratec is wrong. but thats never happened before :rofl:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.