Excessive, invasive pop-ups - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > Community Forums > WF Site Help & Support

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By bossboy302
  • 1 Post By Shark_13
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-29-2018, 05:11 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 16
Excessive, invasive pop-ups

This is a great, informative site with one exception: the intrusive ads.
I realize vendor/sponsor importance, monetization, etc.
I participate in more than 7 vehicle and marine forums.
This is by far the most obnoxious. The worst offenders are the ads that prevent you from continuing to read a thread, require you to close and re-enter, or re-position the curser mid-click.
The other sites manage to get funded, present sponsors/vendors material without such annoyances. Unfortunately, in my experience, this site is the worst.
Thanks

__________________
I measured twice, cut three times, and it's still too short!
bossboy302 is offline   Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 03:07 PM   #2
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
That sounds like a broken ad, or possibly a piece of malware. The only ads you should see when signed in are banner ads at the top, and a couple of ads in the side bar.

Can you screenshot the ad you see? Let me know what browser and device you are suing too

Kevin

HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 10:19 AM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 16
Thanks for taking time to reply.
MacBook Pro using current Safari.
Clean malware scan.
Seems to be acting better today.
Sorry for stomping my feet.
HelenaAG likes this.
__________________
I measured twice, cut three times, and it's still too short!
bossboy302 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2018, 02:57 PM   #4
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
No worries bossboy. What you are describing definitely sounds frustrating! Glad to hear that things are acting better today, but if you encounter the issue again, please try to grab a screenshot and sent it our way for further investigation.

Cheers,

Erik
HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 09:26 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 432
Read about using the hosts file for blocking invasive crap.
Wrangaleer is offline   Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 07:56 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 237
I should have mentioned this earlier, but a few weeks ago I started seeing what at least look like hacker pop-ups. A pop-up window will say my windows system is out of date and I'm supposed to click on the link to fix it. The pop-ups have a broken English look and offer no-name solutions, like what you would expect to see from hackers.


The number of threads I can read on any given day before seeing the pop-ups varies quite a bit. To avoid the risk of accessing malicious content I use the windows task manager to close internet explorer and then run system restore.


I thought I should mention just in case this is not intended and your site has got something embedded.
Muffin Top is offline   Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 02:48 PM   #7
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Top View Post
I should have mentioned this earlier, but a few weeks ago I started seeing what at least look like hacker pop-ups. A pop-up window will say my windows system is out of date and I'm supposed to click on the link to fix it. The pop-ups have a broken English look and offer no-name solutions, like what you would expect to see from hackers.


The number of threads I can read on any given day before seeing the pop-ups varies quite a bit. To avoid the risk of accessing malicious content I use the windows task manager to close internet explorer and then run system restore.


I thought I should mention just in case this is not intended and your site has got something embedded.
Hi there,

The next time you see this, can you grab me the URL of that pop-up?
We'll send that up and have it blocked.
Also, what browser/device were you on?

Ed
HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 09:17 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 237
Desktop, Win 7, IE 11


Any suggestions for grabbing the URL without triggering content? Is there a way of seeing the URL in the usual address bar (or otherwise) without clicking on a link?
Muffin Top is offline   Quote
Old 12-11-2018, 11:32 AM   #9
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Top View Post
Desktop, Win 7, IE 11


Any suggestions for grabbing the URL without triggering content? Is there a way of seeing the URL in the usual address bar (or otherwise) without clicking on a link?
Not sure if this is possible but if you go into your history, you should able to copy the link address of that pop-up there.

Keep us posted on this.

Ed
HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 12-11-2018, 08:48 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenaAG View Post
Not sure if this is possible but if you go into your history, you should able to copy the link address of that pop-up there.

I'm not seeing how to navigate to my history. I checked my posts, my quotes, and my statistics, without seeing any real collateral, such as pop-up URLs.
Muffin Top is offline   Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 11:07 AM   #11
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Top View Post
I'm not seeing how to navigate to my history. I checked my posts, my quotes, and my statistics, without seeing any real collateral, such as pop-up URLs.
Hi there,

This link should do the trick: https://support.microsoft.com/en-ca/...owsing-history

Let me know if you're still having this issue.

Ed
HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 03:09 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenaAG View Post

Beautiful, thanks, see my pm for the sketchy URLs
Muffin Top is offline   Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 09:48 AM   #13
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
Thanks I'll take a look.

Lee
HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 08:10 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 237
Hey Lee, I just discovered that I could click on that history to see the full URLs. See my PM.
Muffin Top is offline   Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 12:15 PM   #15
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
Thanks for the PM. Sent those up.

- JB
HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 03:20 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
soberbyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeastern,PA
Posts: 510
soberbyker
__________________


“Life is not a journey to the grave with intentions of arriving safely in a pretty well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming ... WOW! What a ride!”
soberbyker is online now   Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 03:26 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
soberbyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeastern,PA
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenaAG View Post
Thanks I'll take a look.

Lee
Today when I open a thread my name automatically gets put in the quick reply box and posts, see my last post, this was happening when using my laptop this morning, just now it happened again but I'm on a PC now, Both Windows 10, one pro, one home.

Any ideas as to what's going on?


Bill
__________________


“Life is not a journey to the grave with intentions of arriving safely in a pretty well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming ... WOW! What a ride!”
soberbyker is online now   Quote
Old 12-24-2018, 10:55 AM   #18
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
Quote:
Originally Posted by soberbyker View Post
Today when I open a thread my name automatically gets put in the quick reply box and posts, see my last post, this was happening when using my laptop this morning, just now it happened again but I'm on a PC now, Both Windows 10, one pro, one home.

Any ideas as to what's going on?


Bill
Hello there,

For starters, did you clear your caches and cookies to see if this disappeared?
Also, is this happening in every thread?

Ed
HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 12-24-2018, 03:52 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
soberbyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeastern,PA
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenaAG View Post
Hello there,

For starters, did you clear your caches and cookies to see if this disappeared?
Also, is this happening in every thread?

Ed

I actually opened a support thread on this problem after I piggybacked on this thread and forgot I posted here. I have since had the other thread deleted.

Anyway, I've figured out the problem and it's not the fault of the site but rather an autofill app I have that appears to have gone kablooey.

That said, everytime it happened here (and only one other place in cyberspace) I was unable to delete the bad posts. Why is there no way to delete your own posts here?
__________________


“Life is not a journey to the grave with intentions of arriving safely in a pretty well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming ... WOW! What a ride!”
soberbyker is online now   Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 10:16 AM   #20
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
We restrict deletions to moderators and admin to help maintain site integrity. It's a bit of a hassle at times, but in the long run it's better for the site and community as a whole

If you need deletions, or edits after the 24hr edit window is closed, you can reach out to any staff members for assistance

Kevin
HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 01:49 PM   #21
Commercial Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Shark_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,697
Everyone should be using an Ad blocker of some sort, really cleans up the webpages on the forums. I use Adblock plus.
Hedgehog2JKU likes this.
__________________
One-of-a-kind wood shift knobs for sale

https://www.wranglerforum.com/f37/han...s-1175625.html
Shark_13 is offline   Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 08:45 AM   #22
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 665
I never get popups on this forum. Using chrome with adblocker. I also have popups blocked in my browser settings.
allikanbe is offline   Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 01:58 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
soberbyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeastern,PA
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenaAG View Post
We restrict deletions to moderators and admin to help maintain site integrity. It's a bit of a hassle at times, but in the long run it's better for the site and community as a whole

If you need deletions, or edits after the 24hr edit window is closed, you can reach out to any staff members for assistance

Kevin
FWIW .... I was having a problem as noted above, I tried to delete within a minute of the erroneous posts but there was no option to do so. If I had a 24 hour window I would have been able to without clogging up the any threads I opened to view.
__________________


“Life is not a journey to the grave with intentions of arriving safely in a pretty well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming ... WOW! What a ride!”
soberbyker is online now   Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 10:30 AM   #24
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
As Kevin noted, it can be a hassle at times but ensure your post is good to go before submitting and it'll all be good.

As for the popups. If you see one, let us know the URL and a screenshot if possible. The URL is required.

- JB
HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 03:37 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
soberbyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeastern,PA
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenaAG View Post
As Kevin noted, it can be a hassle at times but ensure your post is good to go before submitting and it'll all be good.

As for the popups. If you see one, let us know the URL and a screenshot if possible. The URL is required.

- JB
In my case, the problem was a program autofilling and posting the "quick reply" box on the page whenever I opened a thread to view the comments. I couldn't stop it from happening and it took a while to figure out what was causing it, so ensuring my post was good to go before submitting wasn't possible. I tried to delete it each time as soon as it happened, but there was no (24 hour) delete box, so my only option was to change the text that was auto posted to hopefully something topic related.

Anyway thanks for the replies, the problem was on my end and repaired.


.
__________________


“Life is not a journey to the grave with intentions of arriving safely in a pretty well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming ... WOW! What a ride!”
soberbyker is online now   Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 09:26 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
Jim74656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Stamford, Connecticut
Posts: 721
im using the fruit phone 6 with chrome and getting stupid invasive adds for "you won this scam from apple" ads...

happy.goodluckspace.com was the URL I cold capture hope that helps...if it doesn't well.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	78408311-FA8D-4AB7-BF87-FDD32DFDB3C5_1546375953227.png
Views:	15
Size:	190.1 KB
ID:	4117895   Click image for larger version

Name:	DB61422D-8431-4683-A74E-2FC2D4B0F5D9_1546375965981.png
Views:	18
Size:	136.1 KB
ID:	4117897  

__________________
SARGE'S build thread

Torque PRO/LITE FAQ
Jim74656 is offline   Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 08:52 AM   #27
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
HelenaAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
Thanks for the info,

I have sent it up but the next time you get this, can you copy the full URL of the pop-up?
That'll allow us to further look into these pop-ups.

Sorry for the inconvenience,

Ed
HelenaAG is offline   Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 09:53 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
Jim74656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Stamford, Connecticut
Posts: 721
its not an inconvience, however if you have the ability (not sure of the tech teams abilities) you can use the main address www.websitenamehere.com part to parse or search for all addresses to nail or filter all out by using the www.websitenamehere.com/* as a "catch all" for the ad blocker/malware remover system (just a thought)


it seems to go away when I disconnect my fruit phone 6 from my wifi and use data only if that makes any difference
__________________
SARGE'S build thread

Torque PRO/LITE FAQ
Jim74656 is offline   Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 08:41 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 237
WF has been working for me lately, but dang, Yahoo just became afflicted with these pop-up malware


I'm sure everyone is aware of how crappy Yahoo has become since they were acquired by Verizon
Muffin Top is offline   Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 03:20 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 237
Just happened again on WF yesterday, after a few days' hiatus. I'll pull the url from my history when I'm offline (don't want to go there accidentally) and then PM it asap.

Muffin Top is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC